Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1514 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

Top 10 all time

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "performace,reliability and economical."

Cons: "zip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owner satisfaction ratings will be very biased when rating this truck. At worst it makes my top ten list of all time... Rating it #1, well of small to midsize(if there could be?)pickups seems over the top. This pick up will always be there and preform better than expectations.A good looking xtra-cab thats functional..out of the box."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Dependable vehicle

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, dependable, economical"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nice truck capable of pulling much more than I thought for a 4 cylinder. Everything is quality made and convenient to use. Handles good for a 4x4 and easy to park."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

dependability is beyond measure!

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sturdy construction and dependable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"does everything I need to do, run about town shopping, hauls all I need, pulls my boat or camper true and stable. with minor upkeep, it hasn't given me any cause to worry."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

awesome truck. smooth ride.

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "doesn't get the best gas mileage I've seen."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck. I have owned my 99 Tacoma Sr5 since 2002. I have not had any problems with it, only regular maintenance type service. It has only 105,000 miles on it. It is my baby. I get a lot of people tell me how nice it is. They ask if it's my nd or husbands truck. Omg...as if. I smile and say it's mine...I just know how to take care of a vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good little truck

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Keeps it's value, Very reliable, light"

Cons: "road noise, plastic interior, bench seat... meh!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great value. 10 years later the KBB trade in value is still half of what I bought it for. Good ride for a small truck. A little road noise. So... I rolled this truck on it's side onto a snow bank. No seriously... I put this thing perfectly on it's side. When the wrecker pulled it back on it's wheels after sitting there for 3 hours the truck started right up and drove off. Yes there was body damage, but the mechanics were solid. after only 112000 miles, besides regular maintenance, the only thing I ever replaced was the water pump."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have owned many trucks, this is by far the best

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives great in all conditions"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this truck for many years now, and outside of regular maintenance, has been absolutely flawless. I can't think of one thing that I would complain about with this truck."

Awesome Truck!!

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems out of my Tacoma and it just hit 183,000 miles. It has always cranked up and ran like it should. You just cant beat a toyota for reliability. The offroading is awesome also! I have the 4 wheel drive and I'm usually the one pulling people out!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the automatic is a great plus, so far the mileage isn't what I expected, but the trliability is fantastic"

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 308,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 1998 Toyota Tacoma, have owned it since 2004. It was a little beat up when I bought it, had some issues to correct, but once those were taken care of, this vehicle has been great, the best vehicle I've ever owned. I hoped for 250,000 miles (85K when I bought it), but it's still doing well at 308K. Very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've owned

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, 4x4 is great"

Cons: "comfort if you are over 6 foot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this 2004 Tacoma Xtra Cab SR5 4x4 for a little over two years now and it is by far the best car I have owned. I've had a Mazda B3000, Nissan Titan, and Jeep Cherokee. This guy rides like a car but still has the 6ft bed to do truck things. Gas mileage is great compared to my Titan. Over 20mpg for sure. I've used the four wheel drive to get out of some muddy trails and primarily haul my motorcycle in the bed. I am 6ft 2in. and it is a little cramped on long trips but driving it is fun. I have been tempted to trade in for an Xterra or 4 door version of the Tacoma so I can have more room for my dog but I never pull the trigger. Great truck, you will not be disappointed."

This little truck is the best

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "long lasting"

Cons: "no towing capacity"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has lasted forever with no problems what so ever it will last till 300,000 miles easy and it gets great gas mileage 29 on the highway and 26 in town."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Used but not abused pickup. .

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Minor blemishes in paint. This truck has not been babied, but has always provided dependable starting and ease of handling on the open highways, California Freeways and City Streets."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This truck is the best vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Tuesday, December 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and fun to drive"

Cons: "should have got the 6 cylinder..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome truck . Always reliable and never a worry in the world with it. Wouldn't trade it for anything and plan on driving it until the wheels fall off!"

Let me down 1 time. SO Exlnt, I'll buy another

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very dependable, reliable truck"

Cons: "Too few seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle to help my business. When I closed the business, I decided to buy it outright. That was the best business/personal decision ever. Thank you to Toyota for putting together the best pickup In the 90's... I'm going to buy another. I guess you could say YOU HAVE TRUELY CONVERTED A CHEVY GUY. THANKS TOYOTA Darno"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, December 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great value is very powerful and dependable."

Have this truck for 10 years. Dependable

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Anybody who sees the truck sitting around always wants to know if it is for sale and if they can have first shot when I sell it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Wolf in sheeps clothing

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "tough, dependable, worry free driving"

Cons: "rides rough, not many options available"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 2004 Tacoma quad cab v6 with the TRD package, of course its very reliable, but it's amazing how capable it is for a small truck. I am boarder line abusive to this truck and it just doesn't seem to matter. Regular maintenance, tires, batteries, ect. No out of the norm repairs."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned, without a doubt.

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability and holds its value"

Cons: "Rubber molding outside comes loose"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned all the others, then a Toyota. I put gas in it, change the oil as required; drive it. I've never had any problems with it. Had a Toyota car before this and it had 100K+. Local third owner bought it and drove it 200K, still going. Don't know what their secret is, keep it up."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing truck

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Designed as a play truck; cramped cab alloy wheels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2002 Toyota Tacoma has over 256,000 miles and is still going strong. I've no intention of selling; just checking it's value for my insurance renewal. My truck is used to plow, pull, and haul; it has seen everything from highway to rough back country roads. Aside from basic maintenance, only beginning last year did it need any service; the exhaust had to be replaced, and this year a new A/C, and Clutch."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great overall truck

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Upgrade to family friendly

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun to drive, good sound"

Cons: "no iphone jack, moderate gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this truck for 10 years and loved every minute of it. The truck is durable and reliable. If you take of it, it will last a VERY long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck , dependable, tough

By on Thursday, October 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck new in 2003, never had any trouble of any kind, I live in South Carolina, been all over the East coast. I would go get in my Tacoma right now ,and drive to Mobile Al. and not worry about it making the trip. 220,000+ mile and has never leaked oil. I love my truck I would recommend this truck"

It's an awesome truck!

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid reliable truck"

Cons: "Toyota service departments, bunch of crooks/liars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my tacoma brand new in 2003, Other than having to replace just about every light bulb, it's been awesome! Very reliable and just a really good truck, holds it's value well!!!"

Keeps on trucking on

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Keeps on going and going and going."

Cons: "Does not give me the opportunity to get a new car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this 1996 Tacoma new. I can account for every mile. Great truck. I have used it to haul, pull and just to get there. My major repair (as opposed to routine maintenance) was to replace the solenoid in the starter motor. Other than that, it just keeps going. I keep eyeing the new vehicles, but cannot see a reason to sell this truck. I don’t care what the blue book says the value of the truck is. My recommendation is if you have one, keep it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

180,000 miles most reliable truck or vehicle I've

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "it's a Toyota can you say anymore"

Cons: "maybe the paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ever own. 15 years very little few problems. I'm going to buy a 2014 just hope it's as reliable as the 1999."

if only men were as reliable as tacomas

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "my dogs look awesome in it"

Cons: "tacoma is a bit small for my hog dogs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

pups love to ride in the bed

"2 toyota trucks in 25+ years. what more can you say? no complaints...ever. even at 200+K/miles, runs like new, doesn't burn a drop of oil, EVERYTHING is still original. oh wait, it did have a brand new frame a few years ago, THANK YOU TOYOTA! best believe the 'big 3' would not have replaced a frame on an 8yr old vehicle. for my money, there is no better truck, no better value. i would never drive anything else."

pups love to ride in the bed

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals