Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1514 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

You'd have to own one to know

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliabilty and versatilty"

Cons: "A 4.7 V8 and it's the greatest vehicle on earth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hands down the absolute greatest vehicle I have ever owned, I bought it at 70,000 miles and have put another 100,000 miles since that time. 1 unscheduled battery change is my only surprise expense. Its as solid and trustworthy as the day it was manufactured...Bullet proof. It just fits all my needs. If your looking to get one, my only tidbits would be that the back seat is tight for fullsize adults...OK for short trips, but not the long haul. Also, if you plan on pulling a trailer of more than 3000lbs (though the receiver is rated at 5000lbs), the 3.4 V6 is working hard on other than straight roads. Lastly, more good news...the advertised combined MPG is 18. I drive almost a perfect combination of City and Highway and average 19.7 MPG, 22 MPG on Highway only...with 169,000 miles on it I might add. Shop smart and you'll be as pleased as me."

Dyrable and Reliable,

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and Economical"

Cons: "Not a sports car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this little truck for over 13 years and it has never let me down. It's a little boring but it may be the best engineered vehicle in history."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1999 Tacoma 2WD Auto SR5...What a truck! I

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new. Now 15 years. Serviced every 5K.. No problems. On 3rd battery. Replaced starter at 80K That's it. Nothing else. Even All bulbs/Headlamps still working fine. Only 85K. I will keep forever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding reliable 4 wheel drive pickup.

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It does it all!!!"

Cons: "odometer hard to read, floor heating not great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck does everything but climb trees. I love this truck! I am not towing much, but doing considerable camping and 4 wheeling and could not ask for a more dependable and capable vehicle. This truck has covered mountains, streams, rocks, mud, etc. in almost all of the western states. And for day to day commute and weekend projects, it is of course excellent. Not too big, can easily find parking (full bed size, extended cab, two door.) Of course, I have taken excellent care of this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This truck has been wonderful to me!

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "The driver's seat belt doesn't retract very well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with this truck and will keep it until it will not budge anymore. I recommend the Tacoma to everyone. You will not be disappointed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This truck has been wonderful to me!

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 266,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "The driver's seat belt doesn't retract very well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had any problems with this truck and will keep it until it will not budge anymore. I recommend the Tacoma to everyone. You will not be disappointed."

Great truck!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Rugged. Reliable"

Cons: "Cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The worst thing I can say is that my TRD is overbuilt making the ride rough at times."

Great vehicle; single owner; well-maintained;

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "1/2 ton vehicle; decent gas mileage; excellent wor"

Cons: "pass door handle not working; front glass replacem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the single owner of this truck; It has been well-maintained over the years; I was an auto repair shop owner for 5 of those years. Small dent in right rear, otherwise just minor scratches from normal use. 4X4 with no real off-road experiences. All equipment noted is in working order; comes with extra pass door. v-6, runs well. towing pkg. in cluded."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Could not find a better truck

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plows thru the snow"

Cons: "clock in bad place"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all models and sizes of trucks, the TRD Off Road Toyota beats them all by far. Just change the fluids when called for and drive."

Best all around truck on the planet.

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome truck."

Cons: "Clock is poorly placed....THATS IT."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 8 years and I have only replaced the brakes and oil. I must say, this truck has exceeded my expectations and continues to. I have 125,000 miles on it and it runs like new. Do not hesitate to buy one if you have the opportunity. To bad they don't make them like this anymore."

the best truck ever!

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My tacoma has nearly 250,000 miles on it now and runs consistently with no problems! It is reliable and has been for the last 7 years. After several front end collisions the only thing it needed was anew bumper.a solid, awesome truck that'll make it through any weather!"

High mileage but still dependable

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 539,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "still an excellent truck to drive around"

Cons: "needs repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Two owner truck! Used as a courier vehicle! Original engine and transmission! New timing belt! New battery and alternator! New front brakes have 5k miles. Body has scrapes on it! It has a color coded camper shell! (with body color,green) Transmission is fine but needs fluid changed! Needs back brakes,front bumper needs changing,front inner tie rods need changing,rack and pinion leaks,main seal leaks.Right rear cab window is out. Still runs all day at 60-65mph."

This Truck is carport kept, 2 wax jobs a year

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is an above average for its age"

Cons: "Just want a new one to travel in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Toyota is an SR5, with new Michelin Tires & a new Battery, has had 2 wax jobs a year on it since 2004 and has a truck bed lid painted same as truck + tinted windows, a/c & cruise control + automatic transmission."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "long lasting"

Cons: "thin seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent truck! They are good on milage, I avg 23 MPG city. The large windshield and small post make for great visibility. While the seats are, as usual, thin, they are not uncomfortable. Mechanically I have over 230,000 miles with no engine repairs at all, did have to replace the ball joins at about 200,000 mile. Transmission has had no problems, except when my ex-wife ripped out the clutch, but that is not the trucks fault. Overall, it has been a wonderful vehicle to have."

Great Reliable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and versital"

Cons: "Limited seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this Truck. It is a Man's vehicle."

Great Truck!

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on and off road. V6 power is great."

Cons: "Gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great Moab cruiser.

"I've really enjoyed driving this truck. This is the third Toyota pickup I've owned. It's been very reliable over the 10 years that I've owned it. Handles snow and off road very well. Not a bad highway vehicle either. Very versatile, I've used this truck for work and play. Tows small trailers reasonably well, especially with the V6 3.4L. Gas milage on average overall is about 20 mpg. Interior has been reasonably durable as has the exterior. I've never had any major repairs, but I meticulously maintain all of my vehicles. This vehicle has been very reasonable to maintain. Insurance on my truck has been reasonable too. If you're looking for a great small truck, I'd highly recommend it."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Moab cruiser.

My second Toyota truck great dependable vehicle

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable holds its value"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Toyota truck and i can always depend on it. you keep regular maintenance on it it will serve you well. worth the value and trade in value too. one downside is the mpg. you would think its time for a truck to have the same gas mileage they are making cars these days. why do mfg hold back when we know its possible? other than that i love my Toyota and would buy another if i didnt care about gas mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid truck

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a reliable vehicle. It is comfortable and easy to drive."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great second hand car

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great little truck, fun to drive"

Cons: "Won't seat 5 large adults comfortably, kids' OK"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hardly used 4x4, engine & transmission strong, power steering, windows and brakes, utility tool box included, new tires and regular oil and filter changes, AM/FM/CD player, A/C and heater works good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

bougth this truck used and loving it

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"minor cosmetic everything work all highway miles need upgrade to four wheel drive v8"

Very dependable utility pickup

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical to own"

Cons: "Lousy turning radius!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only one significant repair during twelve years I have owned it. Right rear wheel seal break and leaking axle oil (grease) necessitated seal replacement and brake repair . . Approx $800. Two items of minor concern. I see no need for locking door over gas filler cap AND it takes about 40 acres to turn. Will not turn sharply enough for some tight parking lots"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been reliable, useful, enjoyable to drive

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very useful for hauling and dealing with snow"

Cons: "Originally needed alignment (uneven tire wear)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"4x4 gets you through tough snow conditions with ease. Extra cab handy for things or people you wish to carry inside. V-6 engine gives plenty of power when needed but pretty decent mpg: 18 to 22 usually. Manual transmission gives full control. Being a half ton pickup it is very handy at hauling moderate amounts of a variety of things that can be held securely using the tie down fasteners. Controls in the cab are easy to understand and use: radio, cd player, heater, air conditioner, fan , cruise control, power windows buttons, windshield wipers with variable speed. The red paint has stayed in excellent shape."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability, Great Value!"

Cons: "body trim gaskets come loose on occasion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent Toyota model Tacoma 4x4 2002! With regular oil changes, tire rotations and general fluid checks my Tacoma is the most dependable vehicle. Super vehicle for utility and snow travels. Just the best."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals