Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1549 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 155 | Next

My last one and next one was and will be a Tacoma.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "keeps chuging along and sips gas."

Cons: "no power, but who needs it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My last one and my next one was and will be a Tacoma."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck, great gass mileage, very reliable

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas, realiability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is reliable as heck, work horse, drives smooth and looks great! I'm getting the latest model."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best money I've ever spent, same gas mileage.

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to handle, 20 mpg on a 4wd, 300,000+ miles!"

Cons: "Hard to get into xtra-cab, poor turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When it was time to buy a new vehicle, and buying a truck was the practical choice for my needs, I did my research and talked to several Tacoma owners. ALL said they loved their trucks, and turned over 200,000 miles before needing major repairs. I am happy to say that 15 years and >300,000 miles later, this truck only now needs its first major repairs. Yet it looks great, still gets 20 mph hwy mileage, starts right up, accelerates fast and easy,and rides comfortably. It's the best money I've ever spent. I'm in the market for a new vehicle, and there's no question about it- Toyota again, and I'm looking at the Tacoma's alter ego... the 4Runner!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Dependable little truck

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a 2001 Toyota Tacoma, no body damage, no rust, dependable truck."

THIS LITTLE TRUCK IS AWESOME , GOOD ON GAS 25-29

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "TRUCK IS WORTH WHAT I PAID NEARLY THREE YEARS AGO"

Cons: "BASIC MODEL NO CRUISE, NO TILT, NO 4WHEEL DR"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BOUGHT THIS TRUCK FROM ORG OWNER IT HAD 15,480 MILES ON IT& IT WAS ALMOST 10 YR OLD .FOR BASICLLY SITING FOR ALL THOSE YEARS TIRES WERE DRY ROTTED ,WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE CHANGED BECAUSE LACK OF USE , I STARTED TO DRIVE DAILY SEALS WERE DRIED OUT ,AND STARTED TO LEAK COOLANT.DRAINDED AND FLUSHED ALL LIQUIDS.OIL ,COOLANT ,DIFF. OIL. BRAKE , STEERING.PUT ON NEW MICHILINS,NEW PLUGS ,ALL FILTERS,AND STARTED TO DRIVE THE HECK OUT OF HER,CHICAGO TWICE FLORIDA 3 TIMES CALIFORNIA ONCE, SHE"S GOT 67,000MILES HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN ONCE NEVER EVEN STUDDER ,SKIPPED ABEAT,I HAVE TOYOTA DO ALL WORK AND ANY MAINTENECE,THEY TOLD ME, KEEP UP MAINTENECE SHE WILL GO 300,000 PLUS. VERY HAPPY. ITS LIKE GETTING AROUND FOR FREE (VERY INEXPENSIVE TO OWN &OPERATE )"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

toyota is the best

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,120

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is a toyota"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second one I have owned, both over 10 years. Never a problem..they just keep running."

Typical Toyota - just runs and runs and runs!

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Close to perfect all around vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable,decent gas mileage,solid construction."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it from my friend in 1997-best truck I have driven and still drive.Very reliable and safe.No major issues through the years.Replaced radiator,water pump and rotors.Just have routine oil changes and maintenance done."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Met all expectations

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Perfect for my needs at the time and still meets"

Cons: "Not recommended for heavy cargo hauling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still meets most expectations, but needs have changed. Need more room and not all family members can drive a manual transmission. Otherwise still meets all needs. Excellent gas mileage and better than anything new we have looked at. Cost to own has been the best of any vehicle. We live in the mountains and the only downside ever experienced is the inability to carry much weight uphill. One safety caution with the big, oversize tires is the winter snows. While it is four wheel drive and handles snow well, the need to brake in the snow is a potential problem. It slides easily and further than you would normally expect."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Is It Good Enough to Keep?

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. $20,000 was affordable."

Cons: "Likes to be towed. No room for carpoolers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought my 2000 Certified Pre-owned PreRunner in 2001 with 17K miles on it. Although certified, the driver side visor was broken--something not noticed for several weeks. The back end squeals sometimes. Never know when that will kick in. It goes through batteries. None last for 3 years. First memorable breakdown/tow-in was when spark plugs deteriorated--dealer failed to tighten them. The catalytic converter went bad (bolt fell out?) The Prerunner has dual cats--more expensive to replace. Replaced starter in 2009. Valve work done in 2012 followed by cracked radiator replacement. Water pump relaced along with timing belt. Replaced master cylinder 2014. Lots of brake jobs. I do highway driving mostly, get it serviced on time, expected fewer breakdowns I guess. So far it is better than my two Celicas were. Four strangers have asked to buy it from me. I'd sell it if I knew what to buy instead."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 155 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals