Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1409 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

Second Tacoma purchase

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Whatever the weather, The Taco will get you there"

Cons: "Not as smooth driving as larger trucks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable truck we have ever owned. Just traded in our 2009 Taco for a 2015 Taco. (I know, we could have driven another 100,000 miles) It has been so reliable in the winter here in Des Moines. From blizzard conditions to severe thunderstorms. I generally don't discuss finances but I received a $21,000 trade in allowance with 80,000 miles in our 2009. WOW! This truck is the best investment out there. Taco fan for life. ( or atleast until we grow out of it.)"

Great Gas milage for a 4 wheel drive Average 22MP

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas milage for a truck"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good power and drives well for a truck. Very comfortable on trips. Back seats have very good room."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best pickup I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2005 Toyota Tacoma has been an extremely reliable vehicle. Low maintenance. Have only replaced the battery once and had routine servicing done in the 7 years I have owned the truck. Must be why Tacomas hold their value so well. Paid just under $25,000 for it in 2007 as a certified used vehicle. KBB shows current "good" private seller value at $23,200. Won't sell anytime soon!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great, nice lookingpickup

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehicle. Am 75 and feel I no longer have need of a pickup. looking to purchase something smaller. For even up. Such as a soreento ,Equinox, or dodge mini van.. Purchased with 20m miles . Lived in my garage most of the time. Drove trips to the city, and 30 miles 3 days a week to work. Branson several times a year. Tires new, 6 months old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck...the best for the money.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value"

Cons: "Kind of expensive to buy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all sorts of trucks...Ford F150, Dodge Ram, Dodge Dakota, etc. and this is the best overall. I am only getting rid of it because I want to upgrade to a 4X4."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

An Important Oversight by Toyota

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, nice interior, smooth riding"

Cons: "Instrument cluster poorly engineered."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've only had the truck for 1000 miles so can't rate reliability. Ask me again at 50,000 miles. One glaring problem area. The instrument cluster is big, but very difficult to see because it is recessed into the dash and very poorly lighted. If you are wearing sunglasses you have to take them off to read the gauges. Even with them off, the gauges are still very hard to see. Odometer is next to impossible to see. That makes using the trip meters A & B impossible to use. Only other complaint is that the roof line is low, so getting in means you will bump your head once in a while. I'm 6'0" tall, so not a big guy. Other then those two issues, I love the truck. Tons of storage areas. Nice interior. Comfortable to drive. I don't care for the gated shift channels for the automatic shift lever. But, all manufactures do this nowadays to protect themselves from liability when some simpleton bumps into the shift lever and knocks it into drive and crashes into a tree. Based on my experience to date, I'd give the truck high marks."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I bought this last 2005 and still going!

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 352,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "durable,reliable"

Cons: "base tacoma, ofcoure you could not tilt the sit."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am proud and happy to say that I don't have regrets of buying my Tacoma last 2005. Year 2005 was the first released of 2nd generation tacomas. I got base 2Wd 2 door and next year will be the 10th year. This truck is reliable,mileage friendly, and durable. It has original cluth, original brake pads on the rear. Minor repairs like replacing u-joint,aircon, alternator, ofcourse batteries which I replaced just twice only. If you are in snowy state, I suggest to get 4x4 Tacoma."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great mid-size pickup

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the 2014 Toyota Tacoma Sport with long bed 6 months ago. Really like the pickup. Glad we got the long bed, it rides better than the short bed plus more room for hauling. The sport suspension is a little stiff but it corners great. If your looking for a mid-size pickup that you get in start it up and drive, this is the one. Toyota doesn't put a lot of digital touchy stuff on the computer screen like some other auto makers. You just drive and enjoy the Tacoma."

10 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Great Truck!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value, mileage, reliability"

Cons: "Uncomfortable bench seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck!! I went looking for one because they are famous for their reliability and now that the rust issue is fixed, it looked like it was the time to buy. I wasn't disappointed. I wanted a 4 cyl 4WD 5 speed. This truck fit the bill, and then some. It came standard with the touchscreen display, blue tooth, and all weather floor mats. It's not a luxury truck by any stretch of the imagination but it is what I wanted. It warms up quickly, gets AWESOME mileage (I average around 30-31MPG Hwy) and hauls what I need it too. The only complaint I have is the seat. The padding on the bench seat leaves some to be desired and the back of the bench seat is FLAT. To the point where I have to take a break every two hours. However, if the comfort of the bench seat is my biggest complaint, that tells you how great this truck is!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Well taken care of. Regular oil changes and maint

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything is excellent"

Cons: "No cons, bought it new two years ago."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Must sell due to financial problems. Excellent condition. New tires. Custom Stereo system. GPS built into dash. V6 great mileage. New batter two weeks ago. Roll top bed cover. Bed liner."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not enough power for weight of truck.

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Drives great,decent fuel milage."

Cons: "Very weak at highway speeds on hills."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very weak at highway speeds when going up long grades"

outstanding 4x4 tacoma extended cab

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "will run forever"

Cons: "bad fuel milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned since new 310000 trouble free miles no parts bought except for poor taillight wiring that corrodes easily am on 4th set of brakes and tires still runs as new I am amazed at the durability after my family saw this Toyota is all we buy now this is a honest review the taillights are a sore spot though after paying dealer first time they woudnt repair a second time free of charge so wirenuts and tape fixed it in my backyard a third time"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, reliable, good gas mileage

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great quality, reliable, good mpg"

Cons: "paint tends to chip a bit easily (too thin)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got rid of my noisy and rust-prone '97 Ford Ranger a year and a half ago, and upgraded to a 2005 Tacoma 4 cyl 2wd manual trans access cab pickup w/shell. Best decision I've made in a while. MPG about 25 mpg overall after switching all oils to Amsoil synthetics. Good power and acceleration for a 4 cyl engine. Toyota even did a free recall-type rust inspection of the underside of the pickup last month, found a few minor rust areas (to be expected on a 9 yr old vehicle in Ohio), and applied a non-hardening oil-based undercoating, valued at $1000 (or so they say) for free. Next pickup, probably 5 or 6 yrs away (as I hold my vehicles pretty long) will likely be another Tacoma, except this time with automatic transmission, as they now get as good gas mileage as the manuals do."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Luv what my 87 Toyota p.up did for me, 489K miles.

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"> My previous Toy p.up 1987 had 489K miles, and never stranded me once in 22 years. Changed the dynamic balance, water pump, and timing chain at 325K. No other engine work was done, just brakes, tuneups, exhaust components, batteries, and windshield wipers. Best vehicle ever owned. The thing I really like about Toyota i was the confidence it gave me that no matter where I went and no matter how remote I was, I knew It would get me home. What I would I like to see changed?. When it rains, you can't hear yourself think, or the radio. It is loud and annoying. Deaden the sound. First wk.I had the vehicle we had a major thunderstorm. When the rain came, it just poured, and it was so loud, I thought maybe Ithe truck was coming apart or some other major malfunction. It really unnerved me. Now, I'm used to it. On the highway truck drifts alot from the wind gusting. Not like the 87 p.up. Another thing I would like to mention is the idling of my truck. It is set to I believe 6700 rpm, and the truck vibrates and is not comfortable. Toyota dealership I go to says it's set right, but is a vibrating pickup right? I have the 4 cylinder engine., same as I had in my 87 pick up."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

2nd time around!

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck to own!"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2013 Tacoma. This is the second Tacoma I have owned. The first one was a 2004 and I loved it. In the nine years that I owned it my out of pocket costs were ZERO! I highly recommend this truck!!!!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good vehicle to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"love the fact that it drives very well have some minor issues with recalls-- seat belt-speedometer cable- FRAME RUST but were all taken care of by the dealership will keep this vehicle till the wheels fall off. love the color-comfort and drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best truck i ever owned

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price for the value of this truck"

Cons: "has cup holders and easy to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great truck for everything. love it"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Value, reliability.

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Put simply, the best vehicle I have ever owned. Absolutely no issues in the 3+ years I have owned the vehicle. Outstanding in snow with 4wd, smooth in dry conditions in 2wd. I would absolutely recommend this vehicle to anyone in the market for a midsize truck."

15 people out of 30 found this review helpful

great handling, no problems

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'd buy this truck again in a heartbeat."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Gets the job done

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,750

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "no lights on window controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good truck for day to day driving. Plenty of power for normal duties. Gas milage could be better coming from a V6. Average around 18 mpg. Lets face it Toyota Tacomas have an excellent reputation for reliability and resale value. I guess the old saying is true, You get what you pay for."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I love this truck

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I plan on driving 250,000+ miles with this truck. It is the best vehicle I have owned."

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, power,"

Cons: "low MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2011 Tacoma TRD Sport w/5' bed bought used last year and so far it's been good to me. Had a couple of issues with it that the dealer fixed after I bought it. It's got the 4.0 V6 so I've got the power but the MPG isn't the best. I would recommend anybody looking for a midsize truck to take a look."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best little truck in the world!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive,easy access,excellent reliability"

Cons: "fuel mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"as dependable as my other Toyota vehicles I have owned"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little workhorse.

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable little vehicle."

Cons: "Uncomfortable seating."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased the truck in 2008 with 13000 miles on it. It is a daily driver and runs great. I change the oil every 3000 miles with conventional oil and did a transmission flush at 50,000 miles. We use this truck for everything and on the weekends we use it as our beach cruiser hauling surfboards and kids to the beach. I do take good care of it inside and out and it still looks new. Love this little workhorse."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent truck..Solid - quiet - plenty of power -

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new. A very solid, quiet riding truck. quality radio system, plus bluetooth. Gas mileage around town so far is 15+"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Access Cab near Honolulu. See local deals