Go

2005 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1497 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next

2007 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab-TRD Sport

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this truck. It is bigger than the 03 Tacoma Double Cab that I traded in. Plenty of power from the 6 Cylinder. I am getting 21 mpg in combined city/highway driving, which is even better than the 03 that I owned. I bought it in March and have driven for 5 months now. Bigger back seat more room up front plenty of cupholders and nooks for stowing stuff. The only thing I have been concerned with is the spongy brakes but the dealer said they aren't broke in yet. They squeal a bit when you come to a stop. The audio system leaves something to be desired. I changed out the speakers with some good aftermarket ones. Other than that I think I am a lifelong Toyota fan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

bang for buck

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my eighth Toyota truck. You just can't beat the quality and reliability. Good power, and off road capability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

06 taco

By on Thursday, August 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned an 05 trd and traded for 06 trd sport w/ automatic transmission - I love the styling and off road capabilities. My wok requires that I drive miles off road on fire roads.... pretty gnarly stuff... ground clearance is great and after a good wash there are no battle wounds from the moderate daily thrashing. These trucks are tuff and manageable!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice solid truck.

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"At 6'3" tall, I don't seem to fit into many mid to smaller sized pickups. This vehicle is "right sized" for my stature. As with all Toyota's, they're solid and reliable. Great ride and a handy work vehicle. My only complaint is that the mileage isn't what I would have hoped for even with the 4-cylinder and 5-speed manual transmission."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Truck

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"V6 engine has plenty of power. 6 speed transmission shifts smooth. TRD sport pkg. rides nice. 21 mpg highway 4WD switch needs to be backlit. Hard to find in the dark. Transmission gear ratios not the best. 1st and 5th gears only needed when towing ."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The perfect combination of reliable off roading and passenger comfort. This is the smoothest ride, you would never know you were in a 4X4 truck"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

VERY GOOD DEAL..

By on Tuesday, March 3, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "EXCELLENT BUY.."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"MY TRUCK HAS BEEN WELL TAKEN CARE OF..ONLY 40,000 MILES.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great value, mileage, reliability"

Cons: "Uncomfortable bench seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic truck!! I went looking for one because they are famous for their reliability and now that the rust issue is fixed, it looked like it was the time to buy. I wasn't disappointed. I wanted a 4 cyl 4WD 5 speed. This truck fit the bill, and then some. It came standard with the touchscreen display, blue tooth, and all weather floor mats. It's not a luxury truck by any stretch of the imagination but it is what I wanted. It warms up quickly, gets AWESOME mileage (I average around 30-31MPG Hwy) and hauls what I need it too. The only complaint I have is the seat. The padding on the bench seat leaves some to be desired and the back of the bench seat is FLAT. To the point where I have to take a break every two hours. However, if the comfort of the bench seat is my biggest complaint, that tells you how great this truck is!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best mid-size truck and four wheel drive vehicle!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security in knowing the Tacoma will get you there."

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing breaks, can't get it stuck, quality outstanding, it just doesn't get better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best truck I have owned

By on Thursday, January 2, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy riding, good looking truck"

Cons: "1 recall. 1 minor factory defect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 55,000 miles I have had only 1 minor problem in which the dealer incorrectly diagnosed but which I figured out. It cost me nothing to repair it. All routine maintenance has been followed but nothing beyond that. I have owned 2 Nissan trucks prior to this. This Toyota has them beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, size, power, interior comfort, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best truck I've ever owned. I've had other Toyotas and have never had a bad experience"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Its a really good truck specially if you custom

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Alot of ugrades you can do to it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At first it looks bad with that ugly 15" wheels i upgrade mine with a 3" lift and bigger tires plus a sony tomtom navigation system towing packing fog lights and i add an outlet on the bed it looks so good oh plus new hid headlights it looks amaizing and its stilll really goood in gas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "relaible, sturdy, dependable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, sturdy, handles great, great acceleration and enough power for towing a large boat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Saturday, November 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "work horse, reliable, powerful"

Cons: "interior room, faded headlamps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome truck. Bought it new in 2005 and havent had any problems with it at all. I'm concerned that my next vehicle will not meet the expectations that my '05 Tacoma has given me. I'm a big Toyota fan. Looking at the Tundra now because I need the interior room."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can'tbeat the quality!

By on Friday, August 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "high quality"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although this truck had over 250K miles when we purchased-it was very tight and ran very smooth :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

greatest truck ever

By on Tuesday, August 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reiable and confortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2005 toyota 4 door prerunner sr5 270000 miles runs and drives like new I have enjoyed driving this truck like no other it does everything I need done always ready too go reliable and low normal maintance I will buy same truck in 2015 I use in my job traveling state of new mexico have driven more than 1 million miles in toyotas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck. Never once let me down

By on Sunday, July 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "OH, what a feeling."

Cons: "I have base truck so no intermittent wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very very dependable. 21 highway mpg and 17 around town with the six cylinder and 6 speed manual. They could have had the 5th speed as an overdrive and the 6th speed as an extra overdrive. This truck has super torque. Can drive at 30 in 6th gear. I often go from 1st to third to 6th with no problem. Is great in the snow. Can't say enough aout this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Overall Vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle. Good for family trasnport and for typical hauling to dump, towing boats..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a great small truck!

By on Saturday, May 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintainence, great design"

Cons: "Sensor indicators, lack of molding, no ashtray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never having a truck before I decided to buy the 2006 Tacoma regular cab. I wanted something that I could fit into (6'4" and 260lbs) but not spend alot on gas with the bigger models. I've had it for 7 years now and keep up on the routine oil changes and suggested lifetime maintainence. I've only had a few inconvienences. Those being *Floor matt* and sprial cable recalls. Two things that are minor that I don't care for or wish was different would be 1)molding on the sides of the door to stop knick/dents from others doors 2) not have the tire sensors. It's aggravating to have the light come on without a real indication of what the problem is. It could mean that you need air in the spare (a pain), oil change reminder to something more serious. Plus you have to turn off the light manually. I've gone in for an oil change and the techs either forget or don't know how to turn it off. I live in the desert where the sun is a killer on most cars interior. My dash and other plastics look almost as good as the day I got it. Smokers beware...there is NO ashtray! The gas milage is around 15/23 mpg. If you're looking for a great smaller truck I'd recommend this one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Unmatched in reliability,

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,012

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable reliable reliable"

Cons: "Trans downshifting at slow speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Probs with trans downshifting at slow speeds! Very annoying to shift into first gear unnecessarily and be thrown forward. Thats the only con! And that says a lot. This truck is going to last 300k easily. I can tell already since my 4runner has and my 1st Tacoma did. Toyota is all I've ever owned and they all destroy the comp in reliability."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love This Truck

By on Monday, February 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Baja addition and threw a supercharger in it. If you use it for what its ment for you can't go wrong. However, if you are looking to tow heavy weight or for a road trip vehicle, then this is not the truck for you."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, functional, retains value

By on Sunday, May 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "functionality, looks, resale value, reliability"

Cons: "mpg, initial price, frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"have a 2007 double cab 4x4. very practical/functional for off-road, camping, snowy/icy roads, etc. no mechanical issues after 5yrs; however there is significant surface rust on the frame down below, something tacomas are notorious for. just recently sold my 2007 for about $1800 less than i bought it for 5yrs ago--didn't realize it when i bought it, but resale value is actually the best feature of this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love my Tacoma it is such a reliable truck!

By on Saturday, May 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the best!!! This is my 4th and I've had this one for 6 years and I am still loving it... Need I say more???"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love to drive this truck! My favorite vehicle.

By on Sunday, April 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Solid, good looking, comfortable, positive driving truck. Well built."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Access Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement