Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1384 Ratings for the 2005 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Love this truck

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun to drive, tows well, great truck"

Cons: "Not alot of leg room in back if you are tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. My husband and I have property in the mountains and have occasion to use the 4wd. It climbs the mountains like a pro, uses no oil, and has given us no problems."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck, New owner will love it!

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,224

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely Reliable!!!"

Cons: "ummmmmm, can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this truck since I took it off the lot in 2005. Yes it is up for sale however at 137224 miles I wouldn't hesitate to take it across the country. Everything on it is solid....I'll be back for another, hands down"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Superior quality

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Could use more hp"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even after 120k miles and 100 of camping and off-road driving adventures this truck feels and looks like new!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one of the most dependable and pleasant to drive vehicles I have owned in my fifty plus years of driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I enjoy my truck and have kept up with maintenance

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Got a fairly good deal ( new ) when I bought it"

Cons: "O/A Compss died early on . Alloy wheels peel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've been very happy with this vehicle"

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

excellent truck. would buy it again

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "love Toyota reliability and value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great overall value. 2 drawbacks. 1 The traction control doesn't seem very effective. 2 When running the a/c the recirculate air switches off on it's own after about 8 minutes."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,919

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid build, high re-sale value, ATRAC and locker"

Cons: "None. MPG if high yearly mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this truck just over 3 years now. Living in a small town, I don't put many miles on it per year, but it does see a good amount of off-road use in the mountains for hunting and camping. Solid truck, even after 23k miles of bumps and jumps it is still as rattle free as when I drove it off the lot with only 5 miles on it."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

great truck

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"you get both a sports car, and a truck what else can you ask for"

very good

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun truck"

Cons: "yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ok"

I'm a lifer

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Will keep this truck forever. Does everything I need it to and more."

Love this truck!

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABILITY, comfortable TRD/Sport seats"

Cons: "Vent fan squeeks and fan resister overheats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 Toyota Tacoma DC TRD 4x4 brand new in August 2006 and now have 140,000 miles and have had no major repairs. These trucks hold their value well. I have considered trading up for a new one but always decide against it because my truck still drives like it did when it was new. My wife and I liked the truck so well that we ended up buying another used tacoma for her and have had the same great experience with it as well."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very pleased

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Said it all allready"

Cons: "Said it all allready"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Starts and runs the same today as the day I drove it off the lot. Mine is a single cab 4x4. Goes enough places being stock with slightly over sized BFG's AT tires. Great small wheel base for Mojave desert canyons and Los Angeles city streets & parking lots, with all points between. Good on gas, slightly underpowered. A little tight on leg room. Great value truck. I am in construction and I carry stuff. I use the truck for more than carrying girly girl "I am a cowboy" and "monster drink stickers" on the back windows shinning up a truck that never seen a dirt driveway. I am happy with the truck."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good looking truck! 4 dr prerunner TRD

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,775

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good looking truck."

Cons: "Gas mileage sucks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Speedway blue color. Westin bull bar and nerf bars. Good tires. It has some scratches., nothing major."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great small truck

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good n gas"

Cons: "The bench seat is poor and uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The bench seat is poor and uncomfortable other than that its a great truck."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This truck is awesome. Nice ride, good power

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best ever"

Best mid-size truck and four wheel drive vehicle!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security in knowing the Tacoma will get you there."

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing breaks, can't get it stuck, quality outstanding, it just doesn't get better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good truck. 200,000 miles and very few issues.

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value."

Cons: "Access cab not usable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This has been a good truck overall. Good value considering the cost of most full size trucks now days. Have had some issues with the electrical though; heat went out, speedometer has gone out, etc. But it was and still is a very reliable vehicle with no major issues to report. The access cab is small and cannot really hold extra passengers."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREATEST TRUCK EVER!!!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE IT, SUPER AWESOME AND HOLDS IT'S VALUE AS A TRADE IN!"

Best small truck on the market.

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Looks, reliability"

Cons: "Ride, ergonomics, stereo, price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This was a good purchase. Toyota leads the small truck market. Quality of material is good. Drivetrain is adequate. Truck lacks options that many other vehicles have. For this day and age when electronics are cheap and plentiful the tacoma stereo is about 15 years behind. Adjusting the seat and steering wheel for tall people is impossible. Space between the pedals and under the steering wheel is small so big boots and long legs were not intended for this vehicle. Looks good and is dependable."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I will forever continue buying Tacomas.

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very nice truck swicthed to Toyota"

Cons: "no issues yet. Had for over 2 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very happy with my Toyota. I never thought I would leave my Dodge but my friend brought one and I enjoyed driving it so much that now I own one. This is a very nice truck. Very pleased.."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent value for the money

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs great, handles well, high quality materials"

Cons: "Wish it has more internal cubbyholes for storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in November 2013, my Tacoma Double Cab Short Bed (DCSB), PreRunner style, is more than I expected. With about 12,500 miles driven in 15-or-so months, it has given me zero problems. The 4 cyl. engine provides adequate power in hilly country and for towing less than 1500 lbs.; should mention that with the 4 cyl. engine I average 22 MPG in the summer and 20 MPG in the winter. Handles well in the snow despite being only rear wheel drive (am carrying a fiberglass shell year-round, so the added weight helps). Rear seating is comfortable. Being picky about my vehicles and a stickler on maintenance, I expect this truck to last a good long time. Definitely believe I am getting my money's worth and would recommend the Tacoma PreRunner if you want a solid-performing truck without the expense of a 6 cyl. engine or 4WD."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Access Cab near Honolulu. See local deals