Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Toyota Solara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 453 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next

325,000 miles and still going strong

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good quality and reliabilty for the money"

Cons: "Leaking cam cover gaskets are common"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2000 Solara used with 113,000 miles on it. I have replaced the shocks, front tie rods, water pump and thermostat (preventative), and the cam cover gaskets. I can't think of anything else beyond plugs, oil, filters, brake pads, battery, and timing belt maintenance. Original parts include the starter, AC, automatic transmission, exhaust system, and the engine itself. The interior is leather and has also worn very well. I change my own oil and estimate it may burn 1/2 quart between 6,000 mile oil changes. I'm shooting for 400,000 miles."

18 people out of 18 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I've ever spent money for!!!

By on Sunday, August 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, almost all inclusive option list on SLE model"

Cons: "back seat entrance and exiting for taller people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most amazing vehicle I've ever owned. It's been with us for 6 years (second owner) and not one time has it left us in a bind or wondering how quickly we should get rid of it. Terrific gas mileage, more than adequate amenities and power, and my favorite thing... Not one dollar spent on anything other than normal maintenance since the day it was brought home!!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great Car!!

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 356,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, smooth driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 99 Solara in 04, with 96K miles. It is now over 355K miles. I have had to replace the motor for the power window on the driver's side, the starter once and other than the regular wear and tear on any vehicle it has been great having it. I just keep the regular oil changes, and it hasn't broken down on me (knock on wood). Everyone that drives it, loves it even though it's 15 years old. Drives smooth and for the price, I have definitely spent my money well. :)"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Reliable, clean, safe, very low matienence

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, sporty, reliable, clean vehicle."

Cons: "Floor mats on all Toyotas come up over brake & gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owened my Solora for 10 years, it is 14 years old and you wouldn't know it. It's sporty, air tight, and extremely reliable! Love all Toyotas ! A+"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love Love Love

By on Monday, August 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economic, comfort, reliable"

Cons: "shape of the trunk opening."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love Love Love this car. Only service beyond normal maintenance happened 1.5 years ago, had to replace the engine, cost about 1700.00 for a used one. Been running like a top otherwise before and since. Lots of get up and go, quick pick up - surprising for a 4 cyl. Gas milage is amazing - I averaged about 32 mpg - on those long trips to PA to visit family I even got 35 mpg! Tight handling, simple lines, comfortable interior, easy controls, cooled or heated up quickly."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Solara near Honolulu. See local deals