Go

2002 Toyota Solara

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 462 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next

325,000 miles and still going strong

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good quality and reliabilty for the money"

Cons: "Leaking cam cover gaskets are common"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2000 Solara used with 113,000 miles on it. I have replaced the shocks, front tie rods, water pump and thermostat (preventative), and the cam cover gaskets. I can't think of anything else beyond plugs, oil, filters, brake pads, battery, and timing belt maintenance. Original parts include the starter, AC, automatic transmission, exhaust system, and the engine itself. The interior is leather and has also worn very well. I change my own oil and estimate it may burn 1/2 quart between 6,000 mile oil changes. I'm shooting for 400,000 miles."

25 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Reliable, clean, safe, very low matienence

By on Wednesday, August 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, sporty, reliable, clean vehicle."

Cons: "Floor mats on all Toyotas come up over brake & gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owened my Solora for 10 years, it is 14 years old and you wouldn't know it. It's sporty, air tight, and extremely reliable! Love all Toyotas ! A+"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Unbeatable

By on Wednesday, February 3, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is the 2nd Solara we've had. First one was a 2000 hardtop we bought new. 4 cyl auto. Trouble free car the whole 60,000 miles we leased it. Never would believe it was a 4 under the hood. Didn't replace it, got a sport ute until recently. Bought a used 2001 SLE rag top from a Toyota dealer with 97,000 miles on it. Am I nuts?? Not at all. Had timing belt replaced as one should with the v-6 and drove her home. This car is fantastic. Have you read the reviews on this? My wife likes this better than the 2006 loaded Maxima she just turned in on a lease. That was an awesome car but there's just something about the Solara. Do yourself a favor. Get one!! I like the pre 04 body style personally but these cars are unreal. This drives and looks new. Can't say anything negative about it."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love Love Love

By on Monday, August 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economic, comfort, reliable"

Cons: "shape of the trunk opening."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love Love Love this car. Only service beyond normal maintenance happened 1.5 years ago, had to replace the engine, cost about 1700.00 for a used one. Been running like a top otherwise before and since. Lots of get up and go, quick pick up - surprising for a 4 cyl. Gas milage is amazing - I averaged about 32 mpg - on those long trips to PA to visit family I even got 35 mpg! Tight handling, simple lines, comfortable interior, easy controls, cooled or heated up quickly."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Over 400,000 miles with no major repairs

By on Friday, June 10, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,560

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The reliability is just fantastic!"

Cons: "The O2 sensors are notorious for failing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I did a review at 325,000 miles. This one is just an update to note it's still doing well and nothing major has needed repair. I recently had the alternator rebuilt. The engine uses or leaks about a quart of oil every 5,000 miles. I plan to change the crankshaft seal during the next timing belt change and expect that will significantly reduce oil loss. The automatic transmission still works fine. I'm pushing onward, maybe to 500,000 miles!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 93 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Solara near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement