Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2008 Toyota Sienna

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 659 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Did not make a mistake buying it!

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very dependable mechanically."

Cons: "Tires wear out faster than expected."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has been a great vehicle to own and for traveling. Minor problems such as an air noise from the front door and, it seemed to go through tires, found this to be so by talking to other Sienna owners. Did not get what I expected in mileage. Otherwise, dependable with great features such as sliding doors, both CD and cassette player (wish I could find this combo now), good power on the road, durable leather seats. I will miss the ability to carry a lot of 'stuff'. Used an independent the past few years and they were able to maintain the vehicle for me. Spent about $2500 when the vehicle had almost 100,000 miles. (Plugs, shocks, hoses, belts timing belt,etc.) It was worth it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

it is a wonderful reliable car

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: moving

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best family car ever and reliable"

Cons: "need some repairs now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Toyota Sienna XLE AWD lim.Version 2005

"we are since Spring 2011 owner of that van, now we are moving out of country and we need to sell the car. I love that car, its running very well. About the age, they need now some repairs. Thats a wonderful reliable car for families the whole year over, I had no accidents, regular inspections and its save in the winter time. Questions and to see the car, please use my email adress for appointments, thank you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Toyota Sienna XLE AWD lim.Version 2005

Worked well for a few years...Then went Downhill

By on Wednesday, April 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Ride and handleing"

Cons: "Gas mileage sucked and OverallDeteriorated quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Got this car is Feb 2006 as I have a Multiply Disabled Adult Child and needed the room for a turn-out rear seat and room for adapted wheelchair. It was great for that. Transmission had a slip, service said it was inherent to that vehicle. Although I never had to have it serviced it got progressively worse. After 4 yrs Right wheel well liner fell out after 6 yrs the radio and navigation system stopped working...which would have cost $2400 to replace. Also the rear seat interlock system failed. other than that the car made 115000+ miles"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, I have had it for 9 years. It has 199k

By on Sunday, April 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With no major repairs, just did the standard recommend service."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Became a Huge Disappointment Over Time

By on Friday, March 20, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: large repairs

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious for passengers, roomy trunk, nice 2 drive"

Cons: "Transmission blew out at only 84,500 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought my 2006 Toyota Sienna with much excitement. I was 8 months pregnant at the time with my first child and had always expected the Toyota brand to be the best of the best. It also was the only van at the time which offered an 8-seater model for my large family. My first bad experience with the car was less than a month after purchasing it and we got caught in a huge rainstorm. A relative seated in the very back row of my van noticed right away that water was quickly dripping into the trunk area and rear seats. Apparently the hatchback window seal did not come well installed from the factory. Needless to say, the car stunk like humidity afterwards from the moisture that had accumulated on the cloth areas following the storm. However, the dealer was in fact quick to fix that at no charge to me, which I appreciated. Throughout my ownership of the van I always maintained a strict schedule of maintenance for it and always changed the oil on time, tires, alignment, tune-up etc. Additionally, I'm a gentle driver and certainly not a "lead foot". That said, I had the van for 8 1/2 years when completely unexpectedly, the transmission inexplicably blew out with only 84,500 miles. When I took it to the dealer they said not only the transmission needed full replacement but all the surrounding gaskets were leaking as well. My husband and I were flabbergasted when we were told the entire job the van needed would be close to $6,000 to repair. At that point, we decided that it just didn't make financial sense to invest that kind of money into a car that was approaching its ninth year, despite its low mileage. Therefore, we decided to trade it in and purchased a different brand of minivan."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Reliability has been poor

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great at doing all the things a van does"

Cons: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Does what a van does very well. Have had more than it's share of service issues including a transmission failure. Would buy another brand next time."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It has been very reliable for the past 11 years

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "a bit noisy on the highway after 11 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have owned the Sienna for 11 years. We have had a few minor recalls. Other than the recalls we have put the basic upkeep into it for repairs - tires, timing belt, oil changes, brakes."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Been great to me for 10 years!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe,amazing in the snow,so reliable,great pickup"

Cons: "none..im ready for my next toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new when my daughter was born. Never had an accident, never left me stranded! It needs to be cleaned up a bit, needs windshield wipers, and a door handle (left slider). Right slider power cable needs repair (motor works, just cable needs replacing). Other than that the car has been my old reliable for every one of the 155k miles, and is ready for another 100k+ My kids are older and I am ready to downsize."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

wonderful, one owner family car in great condition

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "wonderful car. No problems!"

Cons: "I have no complaints regarding this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ordered the car new for my wife in 2004. It has all the options available on the 2004 model. It has been almost perfect in all aspects. Has had all belts replaced and new water pump installed as well as all rotors and break pads replaced recently. Runs and handles like new. No problems with car, just getting ready to buy a new one."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Driven 125,000 miles & only repairs brakes

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability amazing and driving experience fun"

Cons: "price of extras too high"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The convenience of space to put riding mowers in the back, by flipping seats forward giving you 7 feet, haul lumber and paving stones, carry lumber, and much more, or pull up rear seats and carry 6 comfortably. Steering very true and easy to drive and so versatile to do anything. Could use a bit more sound insulation and you can sense some bumps but the pleasure of its handling and most of all its reliability thus far makes the driving experience amazing"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle. Includes Toyoya certified platinum

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New battery, bumper to bumper coverage to 100000"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This Van!

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Room, lots of room, great gas mileage, quiet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Toyota Sienna is large inside. 8 comfortable seats, 3 in the back fold down to make room to haul our bikes, camping gear, anything it is like the back of a truck. When the back seats are up, the trunk part is deep and very roomy for groceries, bike, etc. Plenty of cup holders and compartments to put things."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I have owned multiple Toyotas .

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a Toyota since 1998. My experience with these cars have been phenomenal. I would recommend a Toyota to anyone that is looking for a dependable vehicle. I plan on owning another if my trade and price are negotiable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

never a problem except for floor mats

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of room to take kids to college"

Cons: "floor mats not contained even though toyota has se"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this limited model has a trailer hitch which i have never used - it has all trailer hitch accessories. paint is white. Roof rack has cross bars. roof rack has paint coming off."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Seats could be better quaility, comfort, frt power

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,200

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Has been a reliable vehicle with two (2) exceptions. 1. Spare tire recall, IE: tire may fall from the under side of car due to poor mounting system. NO FIX YET FROM TOYOTA EXCEPT TO REMOVE TIRE AND SECURE IT INSIDE OF VEHICLE WHICH IS AN INCONVIENCE. 2. Air conditioning lines running to rear thru the outside wheel well have a short life span, less than 75K and cost of replacement not covered by Toyota. $1200.00 + to replace. BETTER MATERIAL COULD BE USED TO MAKE THESE LINES TO PREVENT CORROSION."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Will buy a new sienna shortly

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Fun to drive .great on long trips"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great reliable. Van no problems in over ten years ."

very good family veh. lots of manf. recalls

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we are original owners of this Toyota and it served us very well. Every problem which this vehicle had has been faithfully taken care by abundant manufacturers recalls. the only thing I wish it had is 3.5 engine because 3.3 is not so good especially during the hot summer days it works in over burden capacity constantly because of dual A/C units and high temps. well...since 2004 till 2015 a lot of usage had prove to us the idea of buying Toyota is not so bad after all."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever owned.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drive, cargo space, reliability, everything."

Cons: "No cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a suburban and Explorer, but neither have compared to the drive, cargo room, or reliability of the Sienna. It has great pick up. I even put a towing package on it and towed our boat with ease."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Expensive to buy, uses lots of gas, comfortable!

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"If you want a boxy limo on wheels, buy the Sienna. You can play "can you top this" in the carpool line. Have your credit card available for gasoline and new brakes. It's comfy, though. Especially with leather heated seats and a console larger than most people's pantry. It has its trade offs!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a great vehicle!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 338,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, very comfortable"

Cons: "blind spots at back corners"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car, very dependable, very few mechanical problems, comfortable for traveling and around town, handles well. Only complaint I had was the blind spots at the back corners. We put over 315,000 miles on this car ourselves. I would recommend highly. At 280,000 miles we drove to Colorado and up in the mountains. Never had a problem."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best mini van I owned

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Very good car drives nice very dependable"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this van will buy another great fuel miles

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive kids love it."

Cons: "replace A/T @ 165k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will buy another 520 miles per tank it drives like a car ."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

unreliable van, rides ok but worthless after 30k

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"van has major problems known to toyota, but toyota refuses to fix under warranty. as good as a chrysler K car. seems ok then, after 30k warranty is over, needs $5000 of work, no warranty or guarantee problem will be fixed. totally unreliable car, no wonder they lose their satisfaction and reliability ratings with consumer reports. buyers beware."

2 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Everything I expected, and more.

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the perfect vehicle for transporting my 4 grandchildren at one time. I have also been able to use it for hauling all kinds of stuff around town. The minivan has, so far, been flawless mechanically. MY only issue is with the way the transmission shifts gears, something I'm more than willing to live with."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Most reliable ever! 246,000 miles and still going

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent reliability and longevity"

Cons: "Minor hardware issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van new in 2004 and still drive it...drives great, no mechanical issues EVER. The AC compressor just went out..this vehicle was in the south for 6 years with AC use daily. A few minor hardware issues on doors but that is it. The interior and exterior look new and it doesnt look like i should have driven 246,000 miles in it. Excellent for cargo, family trips, etc. 22 mpg on highway and 20 mpg around town. I highly recommend this vehicle."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sienna near Honolulu. See local deals