Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Toyota Sienna

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 607 Ratings for the 2004 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
 

BEST CAR I HAVE PURCHASED

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,090

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and reliable."

Cons: "It's hard to get seats back in when removed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the car new and it only had one major breakdown when the alternator went out. The wheel bearing were replaced and radiator after 8 years. But it has been very reliable. I have no complaints."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

outstanding multi purpose vehicle

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good multi-purpose everyday vehicle"

Cons: "replaced rear hatch struts twice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After eight years of ownership, no problems other than normal maintenance. Everyday vehicle , hauls passengers and stuff with ease, decent gas milage and comfortable, turns on a dime, a little floaty but under control."

Loved at first, then slowly started hating it!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "AC, turning radius, lots of cup holders"

Cons: "sliding doors, wind noise, rattling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I wanted the convenience of a minivan for my 3 small kids, so we bought a 2005 Sienna. It's very comfortable, turns on a dime, and is easy to drive and park. However, less than 2 years later, we are done with it. In fact, going to buy a different car tomorrow. Within 12 months of buying it, the tracking for the driver side window broke, the ONE automatic sliding door NEVER closes on its own...you have to help it shut or it will pop back open, which is VERY annoying for us. Also, the other sliding door, which is manual, is very hard to open and close. When driving on the freeway, there is a lot of wind noise and rattling. It really could be an amazing van, but I highly suggest buying as new as possible as there are now two automatic sliding doors that work better on the new ones. Still, I would probably never buy again, not even new."

Great mini van!

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this van had it from day1."

My best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My best vehicle ever - very reliable and comfortable and maintenance free almost"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

comfortable, quiet, smooth ride. good handling.

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see review summary; very comfortable, responsive."

Cons: "view to rear backing not good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"see summary. only wish it had real bumpers, but no cars do. wish it had better viewing to rear when backing. rear-view TV would be great."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle.

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an excellent vehicle. Smooth ride and reliability."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A great vehicle!

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "space and reliability"

Cons: "Middle seats- not as comfortable as previous model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband and I decided to trade our second Sienna in when the new model came out in 2003 because of the increased space in the interior. We had three kids and did many road trips with them, so we opted for extra comfort. I am the primary driver and fully intended to get to 10 years of ownership when we purchased the car. I was thrilled when we made it to 10 years with no major issues. This week we put new tires on the vehicle and took a road trip with our youngest child, who recently graduated high school. It was the trip that pushed the odometer over 200,000 miles-another thrill! We have decided to keep the car to use as the kayak carrier, family hauler (we've added a son-in-law), and overall stuff mover. We will be in the market for a new one within the next year to use as my primary vehicle and to use as the family road trip limo! By the way, two extra pieces of information: the new tires we bought were warranted for 65,000 miles (we believe it will happen) and the reason we got rid of the first Sienna was because it was totaled when it was at a complete stop and someone ran into it going 55 mph. The three family members inside were able to walk away from the scene. We definitely recommend the Toyota Sienna!"

A good van

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"But noisy inside"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best vehicle i ever owned. Absolutely love it

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would drive it until it drops but had to move and leave it behind. Wish I could take it with me."

The Family work horse

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 239,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, plenty of room, solid!"

Cons: "We've had brake/ rotor issues the last 30k miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've had this van since 2005; it has served us well! With 239,000 miles on it, and counting, it just keeps on running. There have been some small issues with it, e.g., the cable broke on the power door, and the latch on the driver's side door, but the engine is running strong. It has plenty of power and drives well considering it's a van. We are looking to replace it, but only because we put on a lot of miles and don't want to risk a breakdown when we are out of town or on vacation."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Workhorse vehicle

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Needs cleaning and has a couple of scratches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Our fourth Sienna and one of the best. Has been steady and no mechanical issues."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very Comfortable and reliable

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, reliable and very responsive"

Cons: "The throttle can be a little sensitive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very comfortable vehicle with plenty of power. We use it for transporting Boy Scouts and other large groups. There is plenty of room for gear and luggage. My only desire would be to have the option for a middle bench seat instead of two buckets."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent, Extremely Reliable and Dependable

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "AWD, Adaptive Cruise Control, armrests & Leather"

Cons: "poor quality upper dash surface with many cracks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent, Extremely Reliable and Dependable. The AWD and the Laser Adaptive Cruise Control are great features that are no longer available from Toyota together. you can get one or the other but not both on a new Sienna. we have driven 66,000 miles in 9 years without any mechanical problems. the Model we have is the 2005 Toyota Sienna XLE, AWD, LIMITED. the leather is of superior quality. there are wood panel trim but it is plastic. the top of the dash is now cracking in the 9th year from the sun despite using a sunshade most of the time. we have used it everyday. we have made many 2000 to 3000 mile round trips."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, suspension system terrific

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Good after heavy usage on bad roads"

Cons: "nothing negative at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used this vehicle almost as I would a pickup...hauling antiques and household goods. Also used it for long trips. It has proven to be almost perfect."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best van i've ever owned, low cost of ownership

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pay more but costs less to own and drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable and comfortable. very responsive when u step on the gas pedal. had to replace steering box but other than that just routine maintanence. still gets 25 mpg on highway. would definately buy another one but that may be 5 or 6 years from now. I live in rust belt and there is no visible rust."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle. Would definitely recommend.

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super easy to handle and drive."

Cons: "Window noise; get the backup camera."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The main issue that I have with the vehicle is that there is quite a bit of road noise when driving on highways. I traveled between Houston and New Orleans on a regular basis and would have enjoyed the trips a bit more if there wasn't so much road noise from the windows. Second, I would purchase a vehicle with a back-up camera. It really would make parking the vehicle and backing up so much easier."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love this van!

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this car 7 years ago and have put a LOT of miles on it since. It has been extremely reliable. Only normal servicing, no big surprise repairs. Every seat in it is comfortable to ride in for long distances. We have averaged about 25 miles per gallon. The engine is powerful enough to pass anyone anywhere I need to (my son calls it using "the boost"). The only real complaint I can think of is that some part in the automatic sliding side door broke two years ago, and it was like $1000 for the part. No thanks, we'll just open the door ourselves! I also feel like the brakes have never been quite as good as they should be. If I don't drive too closely behind people and try to brake super hard, it isn't a problem. I would definitely buy another Toyota van."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I will recommed this van to all my friends

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "worth its price gret to drive"

Cons: "has 4 cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great mini van. I drove it thorugh out california . Never had a problem, very confortable especially for family long driving. I have 230000 miles on it but it is still sound less when driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable comfortable and great for families

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very easy to drive in summer and great in winter"

Cons: "Run flat tires are costly at $1,000 for 4."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 8 years with very few issues. Maintenance costs have been low with no major failures other than general service requirements at defined intervals. It drives well on the highway and it very comfortable for 7 passengers plus bags for all."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best ever !

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable,comfortable,safe,reasonable gas milage."

Cons: "Center seats don't fold into floor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have never had a better all-round vehicle. It did everything well,handling and performance(for a van),comfort, economy,space for hauling people and things. It does quite well in winter driving, with good tires of course. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned and it looks good too. It's the Best !!! I only wish I could afford a new one !"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The interior lights need to shutoff automatically

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Battery runs down if interior lights are left on overnight."

The best vehicle we've ever owned

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, quality of interior, comfort"

Cons: "cannot add an 8th seat to the 7 seat model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We are so sad that we've grown out of our 7 seater Toyota Sienna. This van has been so great. We've never had any engine trouble, never been stranded, never had an electrical problem that they "just can't figure out" (why is that so common? It seems like every other car we've had has suffered from that ailment.). We purchased it new in California and then drove it all the way across the country to Michigan and have been driving it here for almost 4 years. It handles surprisingly well on ice and snow even though it doesn't have 4wd. Is it the weight of the van or the fwd? I don't know. I just can't really think of anything to complain about. Maybe that we can't retrofit it with an 8th seat so we can keep driving it? Yep, that would be my first and only complaint. Otherwise, this has been a stellar van for us and I wish we could keep driving it for another 100K"

Excellent family car

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spacious, family friendly"

Cons: "Wish it could have a built-in navigation system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable car for a long drive. I've not had any major issue so far. Maintained the scheduled service as mentioned in the manual, used mid grade gas and in return it gave me immense pleasure while driving with kids. For a long drive, I folded back the rear seat to make room for my two daughters who used to sleep comfortably. It has a sliding door at the passenger side which is a fun for the kids. Lot of space to play with; changed the belt, pump recently at 90K and the car runs like new."

A lot to love, but problems too...

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,100

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort"

Cons: "Expensive repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This is a very comfortable van with a very nice, smooth ride. I did not have problems driving in the snow. It was wonderful on trips with children. Spacious with cup holders everywhere, many places to store things. Gas mileage wasn't bad either. I was disappointed in problems with the power sliding doors - the cables snapped at just over 72,000 miles. Transmission needed rebuilt at 125,000 miles, Hydraulics in rear door gave out at 150,000. At 165,000, power steering rack and engine mounts needed replaced. Also, sliding doors will not open if temperature goes below freezing. I expected more from Toyota. While a van with high mileage will need things like transmission repairs, I expected doors to be designed for long-term family use - 72,500 miles is not long-term family use... but it is just over the warranty period, and the doors are extremely expensive to repair at dealership - over $1,000 per door. Looking online, I noticed that there are many people complaining about the same problems. This is my third Toyota vehicle in the past 20 years. This Sienna will probably be my last Toyota."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sienna near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details