Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2011 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 143 Ratings for the 2008 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, March 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything but mileage"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a towing machine! I pull a 34 foot travel trailer and often forget it is behind me."

7 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Reliable - Better Tow Rating than shown!

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"In the KBB review they state the tow rating is lower on the Sequoia than the Ford or Chevy and on the surface that appears true. But Toyota has a tow rating based on the SAE rating standard, where Ford and Chevy have "marketing" tow ratings - not based on any factual data. Prior to Toyota adopting the SAE rating the tow rating was 10,000 lbs - then when the applied a real world test rating it dropped to current 7,100. If Ford and Chevy were rated based on SAE model, they would have similar ratings to the Sequoia. Only real disadvantage of Sequoia is fuel mileage. Otherwise you can't go wrong with the Sequoia."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great urban assault attach machine

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Gas Mileage less than acceptable..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I like the vehicle. The ride is comfortable and it feels solid except when you shut the doors. They sound a little like tin cans(I own Mercedes too). The only real complaint is the gas mileage...About 11 to 13 max around town if you drive with a very light toe... I had gotten 20 MPG once on the highway, Overall this is a kickass vehicle with a lot of style and comfort. I feel happy with the fact that I bought the truck in 2010 for $55k and it is still dealer valued at $45k 5 years later,,, That in itself is amazing even if I would never get this from the dealer... Overall I would buy one again. Life is short and safety is everything on the roads in california..."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle, perfect for MN winters.

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Powerful engine, smooth transmission, great ride"

Cons: "Expensive to operate. 14.5mpg avg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this vehicle! Everything about it is great - except for the mileage. I average about 14.5mpg, about what you would expect from a large SUV with a powerful engine. I can tow anything, load it up with passengers and cruise for miles in comfort. Excellent sound system and very comfortable seating for every person including people in the third row seats."

29 people out of 58 found this review helpful

Excellent, no repairs ever

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Vehicle for busy families"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 2 Sequoia's and they are excellent vehicles, never any trouble with either one. Appreciate the safety built into this model. Entry, exit is very easy, and back doors are large compared to Us built competing models."

30 people out of 53 found this review helpful

Built like a tank

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty of power & comfort"

Cons: "Over priced new-ugly body style"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Rides great.interior very nice/exterior ugly.very quiet inside."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Not a mark on it - always garaged - best Sequoia.

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price is high - but you get what you pay for."

Cons: "Does everything - no cons - room for everything."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car brand new with everything on it and extra floor mats and real floor covering. One owner, one driver. Makes you feel safe! Thinking of selling it since we have two other Toyotas also. Hard to part with her."

24 people out of 49 found this review helpful

Excellent condition, new brakes and expensive tire

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for money. Oh and color white"

Cons: "None I know of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I revised"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

If you need a large SUV, look no further

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We test drove everything from Suburban to Tahoes to Lexus and always came back to Sequoia. We had two purchasing criterion. Room for 6 and reliablity. No other car offers the same combination of features. It is not overpriced like Lexus or Landcruiser. I drives like a car ( if truck can drive like one). Engine is very responsive. Lots of nice little features like power outlets, etc. Excellent towing car. Build on a truck frame. The only minor negative is the cheap look of interior plastic components. Toyota could have gotten a bit more creative with material selection. Also, platinum level suspension adds a bit more comfort. Else, $45K you will get a truck that takes care of you for decades."

16 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Best car for family and hauling friends

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, lots of space, very comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be a bit better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2010 Limited 5.7 L. We are a family of four plus a large dog so we haul a lot of stuff around (bikes, dog cage, etc.) and there is plenty of space for that. We also regularly go on ski trips with the kids + grandparents or with our friends and six adults (we have the captain chairs in the second row) travel comfortably for 10-12 hours straight. We bought the largest Thule rooftop box for such occasions as the trunk space is small once the third row is in use. I really like the default rear wheel drive with the option to switch to 4WD as opposed to full time 4WD."

26 people out of 45 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals