Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 534 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

Safe vehicle

By on Wednesday, June 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"When my wife and I bought our 2006 Sequoia, our main concern was the safety of our family. I was in a terrible accident his week in our Seqouia, unfortunately I totalled the vehicle. But I am proud to say that I was able to walk away from the accident with out a scratch on my body. Not a single laceration or bruise. The accident casued my SUV to flip on its side and skid about 70 feet. The police, the firefighters and the paramedics were extremly surprised I was even walking. We love our Seqouia, I will miss it very much. In my case, it saved my life. I am now in the market for another one and I highly recommeded. God bless...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2001 Sequoia a Faithful Servant

By on Wednesday, November 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We finally said goodbye to our 2001 Sequoia Limited today after 8+ years and 219,000 miles. It has been a true workhorse of a family car, used and abused by a growing family of three boys, various animals and a couple of parents that asked more of it than we should. We purchased it new, one of the first on the market, and drove it all over the country in all kinds of conditions. It never failed to get us where we needed to go, despite the weather or the road conditions. We had some issues with the VSC system when we first bought it, and the dealer had to learn about it with us as we went through a few tries to get the lights to go off on the dashboard. We replaced the transmission somewhere around 150,000 miles and have gone through a few sets of brake pads and tires. Other than the scheduled maintenance, which we were not very good at maintaining, there have been no issues with the mechanics. Various interior trim pieces have disappeared along the way, and a seam on the front passenger seat spilt about a year ago, but nothing major. We loved this car. We replaced it today with a beautifully maintained 2006 Sequoia Limited with 74717 miles on the odometer. There is no doubt in our minds that we will enjoy the new car for another 150,000 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever Owned

By on Tuesday, August 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This SR5 was heaven sent, I bought it new and now has 106K miles. We take it all over eastern U.S. for vacations regularly. Wife had it as a daily car for a little while until we got smart an obtained a 3rd vehicle to keep the miles of this beast. It can do everything!! Hiking, camping, commuting, cross-country travel. I've removed the seats and slept 8 hrs in it. Zero problems up to now, except a minor recall on the transaxle (I think, but no $$$ out of my pocket). Tires and brakes will cost you, but it doesn't wear through them fast. Now that it is decked out with dockable GPS, I can't wait to see where the next 5-10 years take us. Mobile 1 all the way, never driving, sounding better. I make sure I take photos of it with family next to palm trees, snow, etc. just to look back someday. No doubt part of the family, right below the dog in stature."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best full size SUV of its generation

By on Sunday, August 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this vehicle since brand new 2004. It has travelled almost coast to coast and from the southwest to Eastern Canada a couple times. Very comfortable long hauler for family with lots of stuff. Used throughout winters driving into Colorado mountains for skiing and 4 wheel drive has never let me down. Almost 90k miles with only the gas gauge occasionally malfunctioning for a single day but mileage computer was still accurate. I added K&N FIPK a couple years ago and though louder when accelerating, it did add power and 1-1.5 MPG better highway driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Sunday, June 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this new in 2002. It's been great. Only minor issues since I've owned it and now at 100,000 miles. Only one mnfg defect -- a pinched electrical wire -- which was repaired early. As for build quality the only issues that we've seen are seats that wear out more easily than others we've had and some issues with the tail gate latch."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good-bye ole friend

By on Saturday, March 21, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought it new in '02 and put 107,000 miles on it and now trading it off for a Tundra. Kids have grown up and I haven't had anyone in the 3rd row for the last year. In the 7 yrs I drove 'er the only major issue was the AC pump shelled out...and cost almost $3K to repair. I'd trust it to run another 100,000 with little to no problems easy if I wasn't craving a pickup so bad. On a sidenote, those people who had an issue with the back window motor...make sure you check the window lock button....I thought mine had quit too but when the window lock button is pushed in, it disables the back window too."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Rock Solid

By on Friday, February 06, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"2002 Ltd, now with 87,000. Rock solid and quiet as the day we bought it. Tons of room, quiet, comfortable. Holds 8 adults with no problem. Very little trouble except the ABS computer died at 70K, cost $2100. I think I got stiffed by the dealer on that... Check the actual mileage - computer reads 2-3 mpg better than actual."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Multi purpose vehicle

By on Saturday, October 25, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"2002 bought in Oct.01, now has 107K with only one issue the rear hatch door handle replaced twice and window mechanism itself just replaced due to rust inside the door. Only G,O,&F's done got 40K out of the 1st and 2nd set of Bridgestone tires. Still original rotors and only second set of pads front and rear. 15-17 town mileage and as much as 22 highway the 4.7 runs flawlessly pulls strong and burns no oil and at 6'8" have found it very comfortable. Kids gone now so will probably switch to their new Tundra in the future."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have really enjoyed our 2001 Toyota Sequoia. We just sold our 2000 Toyota Sienna which had 137,000 miles on it to purchase the Sequoia. Our Sequoia 4x4 Limited has 69,100 miles on it. It rides great and fits plenty of people. We got a great deal on it. The gas mileage is not too bad since my wife drives to places pretty close to home. We love it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice But...

By on Monday, September 01, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Not as comfortable as my Expedition was. Great gas mileage for a v8 suv and can fit alot of stuff. Would recommend to anyone who wants a suv that gets good gas mileage, and looks good. I have big tires and 22 inch rims so it looks tight. JBL Sound system is nice.. Cloth interior way better than leather.. I go 70k on my 01..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV on the market!

By on Friday, December 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I made the best decision in 2005 when I purchased my 2003 Sequoia! This is a very comfortable vehicle! It has all the add-ons a person can want and it drives like a 'cadillac'. Passengers are very comfortable (even in the 3rd row seat!) and enjoy adapting their own back air conditioning. I would recommend this vehicle to pretty much anyone. My vehicle gets 16.5 mpg on average so its pretty good for an SUV. Knock on wood... I have not had any problems with anything mechanical inside or out. It has a great sound system and I plan to keep it for many years to come!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It keeps running

By on Friday, November 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2001 Sequoia 104K miles and still running. Rear hatch lock was replaced within 3 years. That was the only major issue with my 2001 Sequoia. I travel to Canada, Florida, and Atlanta, and this Sequoia is a solid and reliable SUV to haul the family. Regular maintenance is all you really need. Oil, brakes, tires, alignment, battery, belts, transmission fluid, radiator fluid."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The Best Vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that needs and loves room and a dependable and sharp vehicle. Rides nice and has more room than you could imagine. I owned a tahoe for 3 years and it did nothing but cause problems...go with a yota"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Safe and Comfortable

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I was recently rear ended while at a complete stop during freeway construction. The other car was totaled and we walked away sore but fine. They were able to do a temp repair and I drove it 200 miles home. The jury is still out on whether they will total it or not but it drove home like a dream."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, July 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great SUV. I have been driving an 03 for four years and just traded it in for a 07. I love it SO much!!! Second to none"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV Ever OWNED 02 Sequoia Limited 4WD

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 263,210

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy, comfy, and most of all reliable,powerful V8"

Cons: "NON-NON"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its the best SUV I ever owned had it for a little over 6mos. now we bought it used from a private owner he was the very first owner who took very good care of this 2002 Limited 4WD had over 263K miles on the odometer had seen Toyota Services ever since new... looked great, start ups great and runs great couldn't believe the room of this SUV had it was so comfy that my 2 kids loves it, especially when we went from a small little 2009 Honda Fit Sport to this Sequoia it was a big change plus every other weekend trips you don't have to worry about borrowing other peoples mini-van or SUV... now we have this Sequoia & this year is going to be are very first long trip from Cali to Denver Colorado to visit my sister and the grand canyon off-road adventure with my families... Honestly this is the best and for most reliable ever SUV Toyota ever built to every families who owned one.. last but least I also have a cousin of mine had owned one since 2004 new Limited 4WD with over 300K and still hasn't slow a bit still running strong and very clean and love it..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable SUV ever drove

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,520

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior, reliability, comfortable, ride, engine"

Cons: "uses a lot of gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought my Sequoia SR5 new in 2004 now has over 147K miles with nothing but well maintained oil changes and fluids. Love it because its larger enough on having lots of room the V8 engine is powerful. Its a 10 year old SUV but looks luxurious in style it has interior nice too. Gas mileage isn't bad but use a whole of gas being a larger SUV need something to haul my boat when going fishing otherwise love the Sequoia gets over 25 mpg still has excellent performance and very reliable than ever. I won't trade this SUV anytime soon know can trust it being the best in reliability."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Second owner of SUV and very happy

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable travel for teens and adults - 8 total"

Cons: "MPG in town is low but worth travel!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle for an active person or growthing active family. Many vacations/ sport activities long and short haul. Comfortable for 8 adults with plenty of leg room and sleeping when traveling when chairs are lifted. Would buy Toyota again and recommend limited - top of line. Holds value and the quality is not comparable. Our top family pick and teens love."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this Car

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives awesome. runs great. very reliable"

Cons: "can't use navigation while driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Toyota so much. Gets great traction in the snow. 4WD works flawlessly. No problems with this car. I love the way it drives. Fits my large family perfectly. Leather Holds up great. My favorite feature: Back Window Rolls Down. My Least Favorite Feature: Back Up Alarm is annoying when pulling a trailer"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It holds a lot of grandkids and is very reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great family vehicle

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth transmission and safety items"

Cons: "tailgate handle or locking mechanism"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Our family of 5 and 2 smaller dogs love this vehicle. We always say to friends when describing our Sequoia that NOBODY EVER COMPLAINS while traveling in this vehicle. I love how it pulls our 20 foot hybrid camping trailer with weight distribution hitch. Everything is so smooth. The shifting, the ride, the seats and on and on... I say that this is no fun to drive jokingly because it has advanced safety features that take the fun out of sliding in snow and ice. I am worried because I have to look for another vehicle as ours approaches 141000 miles and would like to stay on top of trailer towing capacity, safety and power here in the mountain elevation. Heard and know firsthand about toyota quality but there are other towing options. Wish I could just get another Sequoia but a pickup may be made more for towing in the mountains. I had one issue with Seqoia in the tailgate lock acting up, rumor is they should recall but who knows... its a hassle to access only through rear window instead of gate until either pay to fix or do it yourself ( tailgate handle breaks and or issue around lock mechanism. great vehicle and safe. shawn"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome family car----

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable, kids loved DVD"

Cons: "Expensive to upgrade navigation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has taken me to so many places and moved me around the Palm Desert area in CA. It was a great family car and a great car for a divorced woman who is on the move. Now that I am settling down its time to let go of the past and start a new future and that means a new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, low maint. 15 mpg

By on Friday, March 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "spacious, reliable, good value"

Cons: "15mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I'm glad I bought this car great family car like a tank and reliable looks good."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this SUV

By on Sunday, February 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So comfortable"

Cons: "Mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had the for 9+ years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Good

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,004

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle is in Excellence condition only one driver backseat not use often. clean, paint good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals