Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 528 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

Best vehicle ever, 250,000 miles & going

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, lasts a lifetime, cargo passenger"

Cons: "Purchase price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 53 years I have never had a better vehicle. After 250,000 miles I passed this amazing vehicle to my son and bought a Highlander which is a disappointment. The Sequoia is expensive. But, it works flawlessly still. Other than oil changes, tires and breaks, very few things have need repairs. The tailgate latch broke twice, no big deal. The vehicle is huge, comfortable, smooth riding, excellent cargo space. Back 2 rows are removable and have more space that a pickup truck."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great choice for an SUV

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive for it's size, decent gas mileage"

Cons: "back door latch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this vehicle for the last 83000 of 188000 miles. It has been ultra reliable, perfect for long trips and a big family. It drives smaller than it looks, not hard to park or drive. And it gets an average of 17mpg, higher on the highway. We have been very happy. The only criticism I have is the plastic handle mechanism on the back door breaks - I have replaced with an aftermarket metal part, but it is now hard to open again. I wish Toyota had a permanent fix for this."

12 people out of 23 found this review helpful

very good family car.

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very likely."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Just oil change and regular maintenace.

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great for big families, dependable"

Cons: "Not a money saver in gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Must add though that we had to replace the switch of the trunk door a couple of times. But other than that is a problem free vehicle! I Would buy it again. Totally reliable."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my car !!! always wanted one..

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth and safe ride"

Cons: "Gas guzzler,hatch leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Sequoia was my dream car and now I own it. Unfortunately for me, I am no longer employed and the cost to fill the tank is beyond my limits. Safest vehicle I've ever owned. The only negative thing I can say about it is, the hatch leaks if the front of the vehicle is parked facing down hill. I'm not sure why or even how to correct the problem other then facing the back end down hill."

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Love it.....But I have had some maintenance issues

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the space,power and ride"

Cons: "Some Maintenance issues and not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my Sequoia used with about 175,000 miles. I love the space, power and how the vehicle drives and looks however the gas mileage is not great. It is comfortable and great on trips with kids. I have had to make a number of major repairs to the vehicle including replacing the transmission, water pump and belts, radiator and other items. So if you are going to purchase one with high mileage I would strongly recommend you get it checked over well and or obtain (if possible)an extended warranty"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Never had a better quality car in my life!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, great smooth, guiet drive and top quality."

Cons: "If drive 100 miles a day Mon-Fri it gets expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So trouble free, quiet, smooth, excellent in snowy and icy conditions. Leather seats wear so well that after 9 yrs not one tear,like new and so comfy. Roomy enough and seats in back go down to carry big items from home improvement stores, but drives like a car. It is an awesome SUV and haven't been in any other big brand SUV's that compare unless you go to Lexus which I have no idea on reliability, comfort etc. And for an SUV it gets better gas mileage than other brands in it's class."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Almost 200k miles. Never been on a tow truck

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Sequoia. Beside maintenance only repair was lift gate handle, yaw rate sensor and radio antennas"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle.

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV. Great performance. Reliable."

Cons: "Gas thirsty!! Low mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good performance. Confortable. 300,000 miles and motor still like new. Low miles per galon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I've never driven anything better.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very roomy, spacious, comfortable, reliable,"

Cons: "It's a gas guzzler."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Other than the mpg, it's an awesome vehicle to own. With regular maintenance runs like new every time. It's ashamed that because of raising ridiculous gas prices, it's very expensive to drive around in it. It's a great family car. I hate to let it go but feel the need to because of the miles per gallon."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals