Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 532 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Very good relaible vehicle

By on Sunday, April 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very conftable relaible and price is good"

Cons: "Overdrive transmission problem at 90K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Will keep this car for as long as I can."

Unbreakable

By on Thursday, April 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,988

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability ...comfort...looks"

Cons: "I would say gas but it's not horrible for its size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this used a year ago . I put 10k on the SUV .It rides like it is brand new .Starts up right away and never any problems .I looked at Expeditions...did not compare .This is one reliable SUV for its age . It feels like you are in your bedroom when you drive on long trips"

Best of the many cars I have ever owned.

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, great ride"

Cons: "None!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the greatest car I have ever owned and my owning cars goes back to 1966! I have owned over a dozen cars including two Toyota Land Cruisers and this Sequoia is better than any of them. Reliable. Comfortable. Versatile. Attractive. Well equipped and appointed. GREAT off road! I was at a Toyota dealership where my friend worked. In fact, I was there with a friend buying a car. I had no interest in a new car. When I asked my friend (the dealer)if I could test drive the green Sequoia he said, "Gleeman, if you drive it you will buy it." And so it went. I traded my Land Cruiser for it and have owned it for 14 wonderful years. It's an amazing vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One Reliable Vehicle

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, really reliable, powerful 4x4 and classy."

Cons: "Gas guzzler and requires large expensive tires."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is an absolute solid machine. It has towed, been taken off road, taken on road trips, and used in every day errands. All of the regular maintenance has been done, but not any outside repairs needed. The engine, transmission, and all other systems are incredible. The 2005 Toyota Sequoia will probably outlast the sedans that we bought brand new in 2007 and 2009. Wonderfully reliable, easy to drive, and has the power and acceleration that excelled our expectations in a large SUV."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,412

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable to drive"

Cons: "no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the vehicle very comfortable for me and my family."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Sequoia has been a pleasure to own. I have Multiple Sclerosis so mobility is an issue for me. I needed running boards but it gives me ease of getting in and out of the car. All options with the exception of 4 wheel drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,231

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"we are downsizing and smaller family and want to sell this car"

grreat vehicle

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of room, nice interior, reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new in 2002 and never regretted my decision. Plenty of room for a large family. Great ride. It has never broken down on me ever. 4 wheel drive works fine and has gotten me out of a few muddy situations."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Far and away the best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "family car, very reliable, minimal maintenance"

Cons: "plastics dont live well in AZ heat, speakers died"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have now owned this vehicle for 12 years and it has been the most reliable car ever. We have of course had to replace things like hoses, and timing, but I would guess we have put no more than 5K into the vehicle in all that time outside of tires and oil. Simply a great family car with all the ability to stay in the city or to hit the road for the family vacation. During this time I also owned a GMC Suburban - fun, but a repair hog - and a Chevy 2500 which has been good as well, but almost 3x the repairs as the Toyota."

16 people out of 23 found this review helpful

I'll live through an accident in this car!

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Flakey electrical, bad mileage, expensive parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! Bought it used in 2006 for half the KBB price, but refurbished. Downfall is the electrical system stinks. Lost the use of my outside mirrors two years ago and now the door-locks are unreliable despite changing fob batteries. This worries me. But the vehicle is an amazing drive, true class, very comfortable, and it has never let me down. Mileage also stinks at 14 MPG on highway. This thing is a tank and I know no matter what happens, if I were in an accident, even a head-on, I would live through it. Same with my grandchildren. It's loaded with air bags everywhere. The stereo system is awesome with 14 speakers throughout the car, even in the back. It came loaded with all the perks--leather heated seats, leather steering wheel, tinted windows, back AC as well as front with a separate control panel in the back, sliding sun roof, tons of glass/cup holders, and it's simply a beautiful vehicle. Turns on a dime despite its size, can flip the third row of back seats up to accommodate our huge chocolate lab...we've even hauled hay in it. This is Toyota's classiest SUV, and I have no regrets beyond the electrical. I've had it for 9 years and put on 100k miles, taken it down dirt roads and it's smooth as butter. Just plain a sweet and classy ride. AC is spectacular, and living in AZ makes that a must. Never had it serviced. Just change the oil every 3,000 and the air filter. Great family car and it always garnishes second looks. Paint is equally tough and durable. Other downfall is the cost for Toyota replacement parts. Hubby has a Tundra and it cost him a whopping $250 for a timing belt and new water pump. Ouch! He also paid $90 for an ozone sensor gone bad. Big ouch! Other than that, his truck has nearly 200k on it, still runs like a champ with only oil changes and replaced air filters. We have yet to find a Ford, Chevy, or GM vehicle that beats that, and trust me, we've had them all over the years."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

one of the best vehicles I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Enjoyed driving my Sequoia."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Safety was paramount,easy to handle, roomy, lots of cargo room, smooth ride, comfortable. Lots of cup holders and storage spaces. Regular maintenance was all that was required. Good gas mileage for a vehicle of this size. Good looking and dependable. I can't say enough good things about this vehicle."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

all services history of car complete

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "$1,500 as is"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Vehicle needs rear brakes front stabilizer bar, power steering flush, sterol heat sun roof do not work properly. New tires only 10k miles, starts reliably. Overall very good running. Not worth current owner investing money"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Top Rated Truck !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality"

Cons: "none......how can you con anything at 250,000?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I laughed at sales person when I bought it new off the floor when she told me it would go 250,000+ with no major repairs !!................now I'm the one laughing !!! because she was right on !! Could not ask for a better quality truck,Have never owned a vehicle this long with this mileage on engine.My 2 daughters each have Corollas that I bought new for them and they are each over 170,000 with no issues also. I'm a real believer in the Toyota products !!!!!"

22 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Best handling vehicle I ever owned.

By on Monday, November 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,404

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great driving experience and comfort."

Cons: "Not for those who like great gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I bought the Sequoia I really enjoyed driving it as it was the best handling vehicle I ever owned. The comfort and reliability can not be detailed enough. Never have had an issue with it other than the general maintenance which is required of every vehicle. The family loves to get in it for trips because of the roominess inside. No one anywhere is cramped when we travel. I am completely satisfied with my purchase."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, 250,000 miles & going

By on Friday, November 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, lasts a lifetime, cargo passenger"

Cons: "Purchase price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 53 years I have never had a better vehicle. After 250,000 miles I passed this amazing vehicle to my son and bought a Highlander which is a disappointment. The Sequoia is expensive. But, it works flawlessly still. Other than oil changes, tires and breaks, very few things have need repairs. The tailgate latch broke twice, no big deal. The vehicle is huge, comfortable, smooth riding, excellent cargo space. Back 2 rows are removable and have more space that a pickup truck."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great choice for an SUV

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive for it's size, decent gas mileage"

Cons: "back door latch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this vehicle for the last 83000 of 188000 miles. It has been ultra reliable, perfect for long trips and a big family. It drives smaller than it looks, not hard to park or drive. And it gets an average of 17mpg, higher on the highway. We have been very happy. The only criticism I have is the plastic handle mechanism on the back door breaks - I have replaced with an aftermarket metal part, but it is now hard to open again. I wish Toyota had a permanent fix for this."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

very good family car.

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very likely."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just oil change and regular maintenace.

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great for big families, dependable"

Cons: "Not a money saver in gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Must add though that we had to replace the switch of the trunk door a couple of times. But other than that is a problem free vehicle! I Would buy it again. Totally reliable."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love my car !!! always wanted one..

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth and safe ride"

Cons: "Gas guzzler,hatch leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Sequoia was my dream car and now I own it. Unfortunately for me, I am no longer employed and the cost to fill the tank is beyond my limits. Safest vehicle I've ever owned. The only negative thing I can say about it is, the hatch leaks if the front of the vehicle is parked facing down hill. I'm not sure why or even how to correct the problem other then facing the back end down hill."

12 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Love it.....But I have had some maintenance issues

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the space,power and ride"

Cons: "Some Maintenance issues and not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my Sequoia used with about 175,000 miles. I love the space, power and how the vehicle drives and looks however the gas mileage is not great. It is comfortable and great on trips with kids. I have had to make a number of major repairs to the vehicle including replacing the transmission, water pump and belts, radiator and other items. So if you are going to purchase one with high mileage I would strongly recommend you get it checked over well and or obtain (if possible)an extended warranty"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Never had a better quality car in my life!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, great smooth, guiet drive and top quality."

Cons: "If drive 100 miles a day Mon-Fri it gets expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So trouble free, quiet, smooth, excellent in snowy and icy conditions. Leather seats wear so well that after 9 yrs not one tear,like new and so comfy. Roomy enough and seats in back go down to carry big items from home improvement stores, but drives like a car. It is an awesome SUV and haven't been in any other big brand SUV's that compare unless you go to Lexus which I have no idea on reliability, comfort etc. And for an SUV it gets better gas mileage than other brands in it's class."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Almost 200k miles. Never been on a tow truck

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Sequoia. Beside maintenance only repair was lift gate handle, yaw rate sensor and radio antennas"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle.

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV. Great performance. Reliable."

Cons: "Gas thirsty!! Low mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good performance. Confortable. 300,000 miles and motor still like new. Low miles per galon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I've never driven anything better.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very roomy, spacious, comfortable, reliable,"

Cons: "It's a gas guzzler."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Other than the mpg, it's an awesome vehicle to own. With regular maintenance runs like new every time. It's ashamed that because of raising ridiculous gas prices, it's very expensive to drive around in it. It's a great family car. I hate to let it go but feel the need to because of the miles per gallon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well made and comfortable"

Cons: "Sound system speakers not up to par."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought used in 2014 and have put 2000 miles on it already. Great in all ways with exception of the jbl speakers in front making a rattling noise. Found this to be a common problem and the repair cost is not bad. It has the best front and rear air conditioning that I have ever had on a car yet (helpful since traveling in Fl and SC)."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals