Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 508 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

Love this truck

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "a bit low on the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is so roomy and rides wonderfully. I have had it 7 years, and it was three years old when I bought it. It has been a dream to maintain, nothing major-just the regular scheduled maintenance. I would definitely buy another if I still needed the room."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, power, RELIABILITY!"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Nice!

"This is my 50th vehicle in 22 years. I have owned for 4 years. Zero issues, yes the rear window failed 2 times, but I can live without that. I have taken this to Canada, Mexico, perfect in all conditions. Comfort is amazing. No fatigue with seating positions for hours of driving. Great towing ability. Yes interior is dated, however still think exterior looks much better than new body style. For a 3 ton vehicle with power, I hope no one expects "good gas mileage" I do mostly city now and get 14.8 mpg. On long hwy drives 19 mpg all day. Pretty good for me."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice!

couldn't ask for more

By on Saturday, August 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great pickup, can do anything you can throw at it"

Cons: "none at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i just want to tell everybody i have owned this car for nine years and have seen nothing but good from it all i have to do is routine maintenance and it just keeps going. if you need a good affordable family hauler this is the best by far"

Awesome car!

By on Thursday, July 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has a kicking iForce (HEMI) V8 engine"

Cons: "Low MPG,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has amazing driving dynamics. So far this thing has gone through 3 severe crashes, and I didn't even have to take it to the repair shop"

Wonderful Family vehicle

By on Thursday, May 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, safe, classy, sound system"

Cons: "Just the fuel efficiency"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had No trouble whatsoever with my Sequoia, I bought it when I got pregnant in 2004 for the comfort and ease, as well as safety.It is super classy and I love it. I have nearly 100K miles and still runs wonderful. Only replaced tires and battery as expected. The back door latch is broken but has had much use :)an easy fix. Now my mom is driving it because I needed a truck..For hauling Horses and feed etc...Awesome vehicle"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair

By on Sunday, May 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "over rated"

Cons: "brakes dont last long. roters wear out every year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My 2002 sequoia limited just turned over to 227000 miles.had to replace battery/water pump/serpintine belt.Backdoor latch broke 2 times in 2 years.Timeing belt replaced also.Brake rotors dont last long either! Replaced just 2 years ago.Paid $43000 for suv.Toyota hides the problems as you all know !"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The most reliable and wonderful car I ever had!!!

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,250

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks great, very reliable, holds value well"

Cons: "At times hard to get kids in and out do car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car brand new in 2003 and have not had one problem with it. The only thing I have had done was 2 sets of new tires and two batteries. I cannot say enought about mya sequoia and I will miss it dearly! Was perfect for raising our 2 kids also. Never wanted a mini van and this worked great for us!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Greatest SUV!

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "So reliable and well made"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second Sequoia that I have owned. They are the best large SUV on the market! I just wish they had not changed the body style or I would buy another one. The only thing that needs to be improved is the gas mileage. It gets terrible gas mileage. On another note, though, it is such a reliable, well made vehicle that it is worth paying extra in gas charges."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Like new after 10 years!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Space, visbility, quiet, smooth, comfy, reliable"

Cons: "Squeeky moonroof, mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The $37K we paid in Dec '02 was a stretch for us, but it's been such a great vehicle for our family of 5. We tow a Toyota Epic wake boat (6500lbs) to Havasu four or more times per year. 360 mi round trip, Indio grade, long stretches of desert two-lane, heat of summer...and never once had a problem. Engine power could be better, but we just drop to 2nd and wind her up the hill. It's a Toy, she likes to rev. Installed Firestone Ride-Rites for sag. Also installed DVD for the head rests. Mileage is poor around town, but with its manners, driver visibility and comfort, she's still a joy to drive. Toyota made good with the traction control system which had failed once prior to the recall but they refunded our prior copay. Only persistant dissapointment is the Moonroof which is wonderful, but has squeeked nearly the whole time - dealer couldn't fix. Last thing is that inspection of the engine bay reveales ZERO fluid leaks. The engine, tranny, bellhousing, etc. looks new after 127K and almost 10 years. Am gearing up to change the timing belts (late) and it will be a pleasure to work in a pristine engine bay. Just overhauled my 1995 Toyota pickup with 243K which we bought new. Still a great truck, and the engine was like new inside. We're complete believers in Toyota!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very Good

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,004

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle is in Excellence condition only one driver backseat not use often. clean, paint good"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love My Sequoia

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Safe, Hauls my whole family!"

Cons: "Gas Mileage - which isn't that bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Regardless of gas mileage, I find it hard to consider new cars when my 2003 is still in perfect condition. I couldn't be happier with the reliability, ride, maintenance and roominess this vehicle offers - Totally recommend"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would recomend Sequoia to anyone

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2002 Sequoia SR5

"Would recomend Sequoia to anyone in the market for an SUV"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2002 Sequoia SR5

The Swiss Army Knife of Vehicles

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A True UTILITY vehicle! Love this vehicle"

Cons: "not fitting into a compact car parking spot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned the 2003 4x4 Limited Toyota Sequoia since new. Reliability has be great. I call this the Swiss Army Knife of vehicles because anything short of a drag race, this vehicle can do. Kids, Dogs, Hiking, Camping, Tow a Boat, Moving Furniture, Soccer Practice, off road trails, haul mulch... I think you get the picture."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent family car

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, safe, comfortable, convenient-great ride"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wanted a Sequoia Limited for many years before we bought this one pre-owned a couple of years ago. I have not been disappointed! This vehicle has performed wonderfully in all kinds of weather conditions, including towing a good-sized RV. Obviously I wish it had better gas mileage, but the comfort, safety, and reliability far outweigh any concerns about gas mileage. The only time I had it in the shop was because I did not know how to operate the 4WD. It was working fine! This is a great car, I plan to drive a Sequoia forever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Sequoia!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,250

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great quality for the price- lots of space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Sequoia!"

Great vehicle overall

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great overall. The drive shaft U joints were completely rusted at 65k and had to be replace. Toyota will not sell the U joints separately; therefore, the entire drive shaft had to be changed big $. Also, the transmission slips and you feel a jerk at times upon stopping. There are times when turning, that the accelerator does not work (feels like reving the engine). Overall this is a great vehicle. My friends have many many many more issues with other makes of vehicles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love my Sequoia

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this vehichle is awesome... quality through out... still like brand new... well worth the price..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and quiet, great acceleration"

Cons: "Dated interior ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The main dislike of the vehicle is the fuel mileage. Very comfortable for long hiway trips, very quiet.The seats take longer than expected to warm up in the winter. The four wheel drive engagement, very erratic, had it replaced by the dealer. It was in the auxilary unit, dealer replaced no charge. But still is very erratic after the replacement . The initial removal of a tire for a flat, "IMPOSSIBLE" the rim sticks to the backing plate, needs to be hammered off."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle. Plows through the snow!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High quality,"

Cons: "Had to replace the electronic brain ($800)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall a very good vehicle. We've owned this one for 4 yrs and love it. Lots of room with the 3rd row of seats. Toyotas are just excellent quality. We plan on keeping it at least another 4 yrs!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very good large size suv, had a Yukon and Suburan

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well worth the money"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it. Looking for another one now.

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "read below"

Cons: "14.5 mpg and price (resale is high for you too)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun, capable, safe, good lookin'and reliable. What more could you want. (Convertible maybe??)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Big Hunka' Machine

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable, good on the fly 4WD,"

Cons: "Gas Milage, up front cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We got our 2001 Sequoia with about 30K miles on it and have driven the wheels off of it several times. The ride is smooth and quiet on the highway and even the back seats are comfortable for full sized adults. When we first got it we could sometimes squeek out 20mpg on the freeway, but has the years have gone by we average around 14mpg. We did have to replace the coil packs at around 175K, but other than that and routine maintenence we've not had any problems with it. We will be downsizing soon for gas milage but havn't decided what we are going to get yet. It won't be another Sequoia simply because we don't have that kind of money this time around."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid SUV

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Built to last"

Cons: "Bad tailgate handle, if you haven't replaced will"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car is solid, that is the only description I can think of. 120,000 miles no rattles, drives solid, no major defects, tons of room, reliable. I have no question that it will be reliable right through the 200K mark. Great car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

top quality, no problems

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this SUV!

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Capable, reliable, roomy, nicely equipped."

Cons: "The rear wiper won't "seat" itself properly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 5th Toyota. I am very pleased with every single one I've owned. But the Sequoia...fabulous! I know I will get it to 250,000 miles before I sell it. That's the way they are! Of course, there's the usual Toyota things, like brakes and water pump that needed to be replaced, but that's really just maintenance! If you're considering a Sequoia, I say go for it. My daughter just bought one a year older than mine and hers is excellent too!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals