Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Toyota Sequoia

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 515 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

Just oil change and regular maintenace.

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, great for big families, dependable"

Cons: "Not a money saver in gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Must add though that we had to replace the switch of the trunk door a couple of times. But other than that is a problem free vehicle! I Would buy it again. Totally reliable."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my car !!! always wanted one..

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth and safe ride"

Cons: "Gas guzzler,hatch leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Sequoia was my dream car and now I own it. Unfortunately for me, I am no longer employed and the cost to fill the tank is beyond my limits. Safest vehicle I've ever owned. The only negative thing I can say about it is, the hatch leaks if the front of the vehicle is parked facing down hill. I'm not sure why or even how to correct the problem other then facing the back end down hill."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it.....But I have had some maintenance issues

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the space,power and ride"

Cons: "Some Maintenance issues and not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my Sequoia used with about 175,000 miles. I love the space, power and how the vehicle drives and looks however the gas mileage is not great. It is comfortable and great on trips with kids. I have had to make a number of major repairs to the vehicle including replacing the transmission, water pump and belts, radiator and other items. So if you are going to purchase one with high mileage I would strongly recommend you get it checked over well and or obtain (if possible)an extended warranty"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Never had a better quality car in my life!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, great smooth, guiet drive and top quality."

Cons: "If drive 100 miles a day Mon-Fri it gets expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So trouble free, quiet, smooth, excellent in snowy and icy conditions. Leather seats wear so well that after 9 yrs not one tear,like new and so comfy. Roomy enough and seats in back go down to carry big items from home improvement stores, but drives like a car. It is an awesome SUV and haven't been in any other big brand SUV's that compare unless you go to Lexus which I have no idea on reliability, comfort etc. And for an SUV it gets better gas mileage than other brands in it's class."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Almost 200k miles. Never been on a tow truck

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Sequoia. Beside maintenance only repair was lift gate handle, yaw rate sensor and radio antennas"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle.

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV. Great performance. Reliable."

Cons: "Gas thirsty!! Low mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good performance. Confortable. 300,000 miles and motor still like new. Low miles per galon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I've never driven anything better.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very roomy, spacious, comfortable, reliable,"

Cons: "It's a gas guzzler."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Other than the mpg, it's an awesome vehicle to own. With regular maintenance runs like new every time. It's ashamed that because of raising ridiculous gas prices, it's very expensive to drive around in it. It's a great family car. I hate to let it go but feel the need to because of the miles per gallon."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well made and comfortable"

Cons: "Sound system speakers not up to par."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought used in 2014 and have put 2000 miles on it already. Great in all ways with exception of the jbl speakers in front making a rattling noise. Found this to be a common problem and the repair cost is not bad. It has the best front and rear air conditioning that I have ever had on a car yet (helpful since traveling in Fl and SC)."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love vehiclhe. two of us-need smaller car

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "We have enjoyed driving this vehicle."

Cons: "Just too big for two people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The kids do not go with us often all at once so we do not need such a large vehicle. Great vehicle for family with children. Lots of room. Rides nice. Just too big for the two of us."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, no mech probs, pretty thirsty

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, zero mechanical problems"

Cons: "Not great mileage but OK for this size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've really enjoyed owning this big SUV. Totally reliable. Lots of power and towing ability. Great on and off the road. Very comfortable interior. Even with 108K miles it's going strong as ever and probably will last another 100K if I were to keep it. Toyota may have had some bad PR, but they know how to build big truck-based SUVs. The Michelin tires that it came with lasted 70K and still had plenty of tread -- in fact, the tire dealer tried to talk me out of replacing them with new Michelins. Only negatives: MPG. I probably average about 16 MPG overall, and it costs $75 to fill up the tank. It also is a bit tough to park in some conditions. But you have to expect that with a vehicle this size. My dilemma is whether to keep it another couple of years or trade it now while I'll get something for the trade-in. The new Sequoias are $60K+, and even the much smaller 6-cylinder Highlander on the Camry platform are around $40K."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Sequoia near Honolulu. See local deals