Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2008 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 646 Ratings for the 2006 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Oil Burner

By on Sunday, April 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Big trunk"

Cons: "Oil burner"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car burns a tremendous amount of oil. I get the oil changed every 3,000 miles and have had to have it topped off twice between changes. I only drive 16 miles round trip to work."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle I've ever owned

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Utilitarian, economical, practical for family life"

Cons: "Seats could be more plush."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle new because I had three small grandkids who wanted to hang out with me on the weekends and my small car was a little tight for that. I researched small SUVs and found that the Toyota Rav 4 seemed perfect for me. I have found that not only the interior capacity is perfect but also my Rav 4 is exceptionally reliabile. The only thing I've done is go for regular milestone maintenance. It drives like a dream. Very comfortable and drives like a car which is what I am used to. Another bonus from having a car like drive is the ability to see what's ahead of me more easily since I am sitting higher up. I would highly recommend this vehicle due to it's reliability."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, stereo system, fun to drive"

Cons: "no Sirius radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been one of the most dependable vehicles I've ever owned. It's also a fun vehicle, with a great stereo system, bluetooth for my cell and the moon roof. It handles more like a car than a truck."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love for Toyota

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fold down seats, great sound for factory speakers,"

Cons: "Non this far"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle in November. I sold my Toyota Tacoma 4X4 for this car. Over all I am very pleased with my purchase. I love the room that the vehicle has. I have taken it on two road trips and it was a comfortable ride! I love the power it has. Don't step on the gas, If you gently hit the gas then once its going it goes! I have taken it on a dirt road. It handled very nicely, did not fish tail or slide around. I was very impressed with this because its not 4X4. Over all I love my new car. It took some getting use to, but I am pleased with my purchase. Now the real truth how many miles with this car drive~!~!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good maneuvering

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "easy to drive"

Cons: "freezing windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Ready to trade in my lease and I really enjoy this SUV. It drives and handles well, ( I am a fast driver) V6. Snow is no problem with the 4WD and height of vehicle. Materials inside are a bit cheap in my limited. Sight lines are good, storage adequate. Side opening rear door is really not an issue, and the exterior full size spare tire leaves more interior room. Cons: windows and doors freeze shut constantly, moonroof very noisy when open (needs optional shield) mileage not the best but ok. Brakes noise in rainy conditions. The 2013 changed completely which leaves me in a quandary. No V6, spare is tiny and takes storage room away, NO 4WD. AWD is only opton. 2015 is no better for my likes."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Simple, powerful and dependable

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, fun to drive, boxy looks, dependable"

Cons: "Interior is simple and has cheap plastic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I own a 2012 Rav4 limited V6 4WD. I love to drive this car because of good acceleration, pickup & speed. The driving position is also very commanding and visibility is good. I don't have any strong dislikes just that the interior could be better considering what current cars like san fe, escape etc has. And some time road noise is little bit more but not bothersome. Because of the power, it makes easy to pass other vehicles on road. If I were to trade in my car for a new car (not till 100k miles), I would definitely go for bigger & better san fe or highlander."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for the price!

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "The seating could be a bit more comfortable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Handles very well, is very reliable. The features included are great and I've even used this vehicle for camping. A full sized air mattress fits in the back when you put the seats down. The rear compartment is great for hauling things and makes unloading easy. I would definitely buy another Toyota RAV4. I've owned many different vehicles over the years and this vehicle is an excellent value for the price."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Luv my Rav 4! Great storage! Extremely comfortab

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, safe, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great deal; Very reliable. Comfy. This is my fifth or sixth Toyota. Extremely reliable cars. Only in the shop for standard maintenance and tires. Would highly recommend for teenagers. Very safe and wonderful handling."

Really great value.

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "still drives a lot like it did brand new."

Cons: "quirky steering and braking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been easy to own. Better than average in repair costs and maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

poor quality, comfort, handling/performance etc.

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "read review"

Cons: "read review"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"if it wasn't for TOYOTA'S bullet proof engine and drive train this vehicle would be a complete piece of junk. I am in the process of trying to return/purchase this vehicle (lease return) Between Toyota and the dealer here in Virg. Mn. service has not been good. low quality and poor service from both Toyota and the dealer."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Incredibly reliable and fun to drive

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fast, lots of room, TRUSTWORTHY"

Cons: "For me, none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid from Day 1"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Tranny Problems after ONLY 130K

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"4 cyc model. Transmission starting going at 130,000. $4400 price tag to replace."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great decision buying the Rav4

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "enjoyable and nice looking"

Cons: "A redesign on the console would be an improvement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehicle. Always had GM cars, but prefer toyota by far. Good gas mileage, smooth ride comfy interior. Very much a convert!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Toyota's are build to last

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4WD/AWD, Horsepower, Fun to Drive, Sporty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my 2012 Toyota Rav4 Limited for a year now. I wanted an SUV because I was tired of sitting low to the ground and I also wanted something that I could have a little fun in the snow with. This little SUV did not disappoint. The power that the RAV packs is amazing, if I need to pass anyone I have NO problems doing it with the amount of horsepower this thing is packing. There is plenty of room for the rear passengers (although fitting three full adualts in the back is a little tight). The 4WD/AWD system is amazing and handles very well. The only thing that I wish they would have done is not use cheap plastic on the inside...there is no much and it doesnt look bad...but you can tell its plastic. Overall...I know this vehicle will last 100K miles and 3 times over that if needbe."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Hate the swing out gate and the recalls...

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "POWERFUL AND FUN TO DRIVE; GREAT FOR TOWING"

Cons: "HATE THAT -CLUMSY- SWING OUT REAR GATE."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only problem was water pump leak @ 19k. Dependable. Smooth. Powerful and economical for the size of motor. Hate the swing out gate.. Too bad Toyota dropped the V6. Awesome motor. In case I forgot to mention: I HATE THE SWING OUT REAR GATE. Has canister oil filter, using a filament. Very Messy. Inside is laid out very well, except the location of the emergency light button. And that darned glove box hatch binds in cold weather.... A good value....but I hate the swing out rear gate."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good car"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

"Love" everything but gas mileage

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,640

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great small car with storage: good for dogs"

Cons: "Disappointed 12 year gain in car design lost 12 MP"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Traded a '97 Honda Accord EX 4-cyl (214,244 mi, 28-32 mpg consistently) for my '09 RAV4. Color, power, turning radius, everything is perfect except we sacrificed gas mileage. Went from 4-cyl to 6-cyl RAV. Best we get is 23/24 on hywy w/cruise on. Holding value, yes; great car, yes; buy another, NO, but only because they changed swing rear door to overhead and lost storage space. We have two large dogs (Lab and Pit/Boxer) Toyota rear headroom was higher and larger than all competitors (Explorer, CRV, Subaru, Nissan, etc) so storage under was vital so dogs didn't chew or mutilate. Now that area is taken by spare tire. Swing door not a problem; rather have storage."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

2007 Rav4, 6cyl, 4wd Limited is a great vehicle

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "One of the best I've ever owned"

Cons: "The 2012 the last year to get a 6cyl and storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The new Rav4's have a hatchback rather than the gate-back which is a good move so you don't have to go around the back door which opens on the right. However the drawbacks to the newer Rav4's are numerous beginning with no longer able to get it with a 6cyl. I tow a small utility trailer and a 6cyl. is necessary to do so. The spare was taken off of the rear gate and put into the floor which takes away a very valuable storage area. The 6cyl gives it a lot of pep and zip that is great when needed. The mileage is decent averaging 19 city and 24 hwy. It is small and easy to drive. Has enough height so the driver has a good view of traffic, and is easy to get in and out of. I can't say enough good things about the 2007 Rav4 I only wish I could get a new one equipped the same. It looks like Toyota tried to copy the Honda CRV. If I wanted a CRV I would of bought one. Sometimes these engineers out think themselves."

18 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Piece of oil-sucking junk

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Excessive oil consumption, shoddy workmanship"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"127k miles and I'm adding 1 qt of oil every 900 miles!, passenger side air bag has never worked even after $500 of parts and recall, sucks dust on gravel roads because of poor dust seal on rear door, weak heater for our cold climate, mice get in frequently, useless cargo light, uncomfortable seats for long trips, rear door hinges inadequate so rear door is difficult to swing open and closed. Very noisy transmission. Warning lights on dash keep lighting up for no reason requires dealer visit but..... Terrible dealer service. (Told me that rate of oil consumption is normal!C'mon!)My third and LAST Toyota product."

16 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Great car, right size, very economical

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, comfortable, economical, roomy."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2nd Toyota, no problems, excellant dealer service. I'll by another one."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

second RAV4 I've owned and I love them.

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "1 disc changer, no back up camera"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great value, reliability and resale value. I'm sorry the Limited doesn't include a 6 disc changer and back up camera; I miss those from my 2009..will definitely get them the next time. This is a great size, lots of power so I don't feel "muscled" by other traffic, room to carry toys (kayaks) and 4WD to get me through the snow. I love love love this SUV!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

love car i am going to buy a 2015 model

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,747

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"still under factory warrenty."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle have never had a problem.

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great reliable all the time. very good value"

Cons: "could use a little longer leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing I had to do so far was change tires and the battery. Great reliable vehicle. Fourth one I have owned,"

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I love the RAV 4.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "I would've like better mileage or hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I sold a Tacoma I had for 10 years to purchase my RAV 4 so I would still have the utility but could seat children safely and with more room. It has never disappointed me in city or on the highway."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Good car all around.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great handling, reliable, V6 0-60 like a miata"

Cons: "no real cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is an extended vehicle (made on in Japan) with a third row of back seats available (for children primariy). It has been subject to one recall."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals