Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2006 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 604 Ratings for the 2006 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Vehicle has been great hate to sell, but need cash

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable, low maintainace, not bad on gas"

Cons: "None, would buy again-extremely happy with veh."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent condition, very well taken care of, all service work completed at dealer. mileage records available. extremely clean, warranty to 100,000, Interior fabric protected,auto winter start, great starter, crystal fusion front glass protection, Very very clean!"

Would NOT Recommend this car

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great ride"

Cons: "engine /oil problem NO NOT RECOMMEND"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I loved this car when I purchased it last October..No complaints UNTIL I had to put oil in it between changes.. 3x ! Toyota knows about this problem. if you have a 4cyl. Toyota, Check your oil..!!! Going to HONDA..!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Perfect car except for the paint

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well-built, comfortable, fast, relaible"

Cons: "Paint sucked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my RAV in 2007 and although it is not driven much, it is a great car. Decent mileage for a V-6, very fast and handles like a near sports car. Fit and finish inside are top notch. I change my own oil, and it is a ten minute job at most. The only complaint is the paint and clear coat. After four years, clear coat on the roof deteriorated to the point I had it repainted. A mediocre job at best and cost me $400.00 Then, a year later the hood began to look like some blue version of Europa, the ice moon of Jupiter. Finally, I bit the bullet and had a total pro paint job that cost over $3500. I intend to keep this car and it was a good investment. Outside of that, one of the best cars I've ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2008 Rav 4

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, lots of room"

Cons: "junky metal on wheels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought my Rav brand new and absolutely love it! My only complaint is the wear on the aluminum wheels."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I was a little unhappy with the millage we get .

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sun roof"

Cons: "millage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"We only get 24 mpg at best and 22 at worst even on long trips and city driving. I personally would have been money ahead and the wife would have been happier if we would have kept our tahoe. I belive this small suv should get 28 mpg. Get to work toyota 24 just doesn't cut it"

Just pressured into buying this terrible vechile

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "None"

Cons: "Terribly uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I feel we were taken advantage of by the dealership. Within 1 day issues came up. CVC joint had to be replaced also shocks/struts. That's just the beginning. We've been told in Alabama you have no recourse. Now in MI you have 3 days to return the automobile."

Reliable, predictable, steady!

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability. Practicality."

Cons: "Not the most stylish--according to my wife."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 4 cylinder engine is all you need. The RAV is a great vehicle. I've had it four and a half years and have only had to do routine maintenance. (I bought a new set of tires at 45,000 miles.) I put nothing but synthetic oil in it and expect the car to be in the family for awhile."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Eats tires

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Since buying 2011 rav 4 dealer tires wore out at 18000 miles. I purchased consumer reports best rated tire for wear, i now have 31000 miles on it and need new tires."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice styling, interior finishes and spunky."

Cons: "Car gets 22. mpg, wish for a little bit better mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I leased my first Rav-4, wanted to buy it but due to the finance company not willing to work with my lender, I bought a Honda CRV instead. A year later I went back to my Rav-4. It's a great car, I love the way it handles and the 6 cylinder engine is spunky when I need it most. The tires did seem to wear a bit prematurely, I have already replaced all four of them and I just replaced the front brakes. I drive the interstate to work every day and need to stop on a dime. Great car, no problems at all."

I love my RAV4

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to own...period"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my first rav4 the first year they rolled out in 1998 and I have always gotten an excellent deal on trade in. The Rav has been everything to me. It's cute but tough, it's rugged but stylish, it's classy. The 2nd RAV4 I lost due to a rollover accident. It was a total loss and the entire vehicle was crushed, except for the driver's seat with its cockpit like cage. I managed to walk away with minor cuts and a few bruises but no broken bones. My 3rd RAV4, I traded because I thought I was ready for the next level of Toyota, the 4Runner. Instead I drove away with a new RAV4. I am currently in my 4th RAV4 and plan on keeping until FOREVER. It's AWESOME."

In it's catagory, nothing can beat this!

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nothing will give you more bang for your buck!"

Cons: "I'm 6ft, and would like a little more head room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I researched for about a year before making the decision to buy this vehicle. Nothing came close when all factors were added up. 1)Price, 2)Towing Capacity/ 3500lbs, 3)Mileage, 4)3.5 V6 engine, 5)Nav. Unit, 6) Backup Cam. Basically for the money this loaded Rav4 CRUSHED the competition on features and value."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It has been a great vehicle

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs great, no problems, lots of room"

Cons: "A lot of the plastic parts fall off."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It has been a great little vehicle for hauling around all the stuff I buy for snack shack and delivering parts."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent car. I bought it new.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very responsive and fun to drive."

Cons: "wanted better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought in Virginia to deal with the winters/snow and moved to SC. Very roomy and have hauled all kinds of stuff in it from wood to mulch. Minimal problems over the years. At first there were a couple of factory problems but Toyota fixed them right away. Gets @ 24 MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

only change oil, brakes & ties since I bought new.

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "cup holders too big for most cups"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only problem is with unit in roof that opens door with key fob. failed once & replaced free. failed second time @120k miles not replaced."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Last Toyota Ever

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economy, utility, comfort"

Cons: "Recalls, driving dynamics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Toyota has seen fit to engineer all the fun out of the driving experience. My V6 Rav4 is an exception only in that when you push down on the gas pedal it goes right now. Lift my foot off the gas an the fun is OVER. The reliability is not what Toyota's are known for, the number of recalls on this model is without question the #1 reason why my next car will be something other than a Toyota."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my RAV4...and my friends to do!!

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and so much fun to drive."

Cons: "Little road noise bothers me not my friends."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a RAV4 in 1995 and loved it but leased it. My 2012 I purchased slightly used w/everything on it... and I love it even more. My Eastside Toyota dealership and rep. rock!! I will always purchase my Toyotas there. So much room for passengers and cargo space is excellent. Has a little road noise but if that isn't an issue with you than the RAV4 is the most reliable Toyota SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nothing Special

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Roomy backseat/cargo area. Good mileage for SUV"

Cons: "Cheap feel, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This vehicle is okay, but nothing special. For the price tag of my Rav4 Limited, you get lots of room in the back seat and in cargo area, good milage (about 24.5 mpg avg), lots of road noise, and no comfort or feeling of luxury at all. Also mine is a 2011 and when I got a new iPhone with the new style plug, I could no longer play my music on the car stereo. Not good planning on the part of Toyota."

4 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of the best cars I have driven in many years.

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "a little congested in the driving wheel area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been driving this car since December 2012 and I must say that Toyota has done an outstanding job in this 4-cylinder RAV4. Over the last two years, I felt safety, comfort, and economical driving because of this RAV4. Both of the back seats rolls down and you can transport many items in the car. The trunk itself is very spacious because the spare tire is on the back. Overall, one will give 100 out of 100 to this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Small SUV

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value, lots of power, great storage/hauling"

Cons: "Back seat too small for 3 adults"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Rav4 brand new in 2010. I've been very pleased with my purchase. No mechanical issues to speak of, and I love the V6 option (disappointed to hear that's no longer an option on the newer models) I've heard of people complaining about the swing out tailgate, but I actually like it because it leaves tons of space inside for storage and hauling. My only complaint is that the back seat is a little small. I would consider the vehicle a 4 passenger (I didn't get the 3rd row seat), or a very cramped 5 passenger for anything other than kids riding in the back. Three normal size adults would not be comfortable for anything other than an around town drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Average

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Average - lacking excitement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Coming from a Chrysler, I was excited to try a Toyota which I'm told is a reliable, dependable car. I miss my Chrysler. The RAV4 is good in the snow but lacks the "class" the Chrysler has. The 4 cyl is average on gas (21 mpg) and is peppy for a 4 cyl. The car is "average" in my opinion and a bit over-priced for what you get."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Do not recommend-Lacks of quality

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "aesthetics OK"

Cons: "Lacks of quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I own a 2007 RAV4 with approximately 50,000 miles. The RAV4 aesthetics OK. Clunky noise coming from the engine, when turning the wheels, and when accelerating. Also, it feels hesitant when driving uphill and in many occasions feels as if it would stall when decreasing speed (brought to dealer and found no problem; perhaps it was designed to perform the way it does). Cabin noise level is high. 4 cylinders gas mileage is over stated; the only times I managed to get decent mileage is when driving alone but if add two passengers then reduces the gas mileage significantly (passengers combined weight of 550 lbs). Rusted parts; muffler was all rusted and got a leakeage so I had to replace it (Replaced at 45,000 miles). Lots of recalls. 4 Warning lights came on affecting the breaking system; brought to dealer and found no problem (my spouse and I didn't feel safe driving the RAV4 with the warning lights on and the breaking system not working properly); warning lights came on again and dealer had to replaced some sensors (not covered by warranty)."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle with lots of room

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this SUV just would like a new model with updated features"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

OWNED CAR FROM BEGINING - HAD ALL SERVICES DONE

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT FOR MY NEPHEWS DAUGHTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"GREAT VEHICLE"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It is a great car.

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle, no major issues.

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent in snow, no major issues."

Cons: "Spare tire on rear door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second RAV4. It has never given me any problems beyond the normal wear. The only problem I have with this model is the spare tire on the rear gate which blocks the view when backing up and sometimes squeaks when there is moisture in the attachment to the the door. Excellent in snow, especially with traction control."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details