Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 369 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next

Sturdy , Reliable vehicle. I would buy it again.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sturdy , fun to drive, handles well."

Cons: "Slightly under powered on inclines."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 Rav 4 purchased with 17 k now has 67 K. Just replaced sensor, front struts and rear shocks. i expect to get 300 k out of this car. The car is fun to drive, handles well and is easy to park. I find it to be under powered on inclines. The interior seating is very comfortable and driving view is excellent. I have been reading on some sites that the car may have transmission and catalytic converter issues but have not experienced any yet. My mechanic feels that the rash of catalytic converter failures can be attributed to the 10 ethanol added to the gas."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Functional but not impressive

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "It gets you from A to B."

Cons: "Cheaply built. Rough ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Engine runs great. Ride is rough, radio is awful, carpet is cheap. Two back windows won't open, driver's door lock won't work with fob."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is 14 years old, and I've had it for about 10 of those years. It has amazing turning radius, I can make a full u-turn easily anywhere. It's really roomy all around, the back seats lay flat for more room. It gets 17 miles a gallon in the city and about 25 miles a gallon on the highway. It's a little noisy at high speeds and I'm at a loss as to what kind of car I should get once this one dies on me. Don't think I'll ever love a car more than I love this one."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

has held up well for 12 years

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: trade in

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable and easy to maintain"

Cons: "ride could be a little more quiet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased it at 120K and 82K later, it still looks and runs good. It is a great college kid car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fear I'll Never Be Satisfied with Another!!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in snow/wind/rain/sunny hot days not Too hot"

Cons: "Stero system could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After i had known many other people who loved their Toyotas, I decided it was time for me to have a car to love. I had never kept a car before for more than 5 years, as I always ended up with multiple things I was unhappy with. But I have owned my Rav 4 for over 12 years and there is no way I could have been more satisfied! I just fear whenever I do get a replacement, that it will not live up to my expectations!! It seems many new cars today do not have the same options as they had in the past-- easy to remove back seats if need to move something, back seats fold forward if my short dog wants to sit on it like a "booster seat", front seats recline fully if one needs to nap as spouse is at a store/gathering that the other chooses not to go. Also comfortable for long trips!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 74 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals