Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 364 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Very reliable, sturdy car!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, convenient size"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mother had this car for ten years before giving it to me two years ago. It's stayed in our family, and for a good reason. It's reliable, sturdy and drives well. If anyone is looking for a 'first car' for their children, I would recommend something like this. It'll last her, and also it's a safe driving vehicle. I take my car off-roading, through snow, and through all sorts of things most cars couldn't handle. It's the reliability of a truck or a suburban, but the petite size and convenience of a little car. Definitely a car that I have loved for years!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Owes me NOTHING!!!

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my RAV new in 2001. Except for 1 sensor that needed replacing 6 years ago, and having the front brakes replaced after 8 years, it has been problem free. I take care of it with scheduled oil changes, inspections, etc. so it has been very good to me. I've never owned a car this long .. and I think buying it was the best thing I ever did."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

300,000 miles strong

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, very reliable, great performance"

Cons: "Cabin is a bit noisy at highway speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

"I'm a proud owner of a highly reliable, no issues, cheap to own 2002 Rav4 with 298,900 miles on the original engine and automatic transmission. With just minor wear and tear, and the factory paint still looking great, I plan to keep it running for as long as I can. At about 27 mpg on regular gas my Rav4 is still my daily driver. 10/10!!!!!!!"

14 people out of 18 found this review helpful

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

Owned mine 12 years!

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, VERY reliable, great gas milage,"

Cons: "Engine is a little weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have over 90,000 miles on my 2002 Rav and have never had any mechanical issues with it. It still drives great and looks great. Currently looking for new vics but only because I need a bit more size. Love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around car. I've been really happy with

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Park in compact spaces. Fun, visibility is good."

Cons: "Interior seems small w/riders.Car wash charges SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a good vehicle for me. I had been driving an Accord, and I prefer sitting higher in the RAV. For taller people the headroom is not what I thought. In the front passenger seat my son, who is 6'3"... his head hits the handle above the window when we go over speed bumps or around corners. I'm 5' 5" and it's been fine for me. The cup holders, console and pockets behind seats allow for easy access. Good access to rear, excellent cargo capacity for groceries, etc. Seats can be folded down or are easily removed to expand cargo room. Stereo is important to me and has been excellent, with speakers for back seating. I enjoy the sun roof, but its noisy when driving with it open. Gas mileage has been 15-20 mpg. I track mileage every fill up, if it goes down I get air pressure in tires checked or take it in for oil change or tune up. Faithfully maintained with regular service on time per dealers recommendation helps. Drivers door doesn't respond to keyless entry, all other doors are okay."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good, reliable transportation. Handy in winter.

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice quality for interior and body paint. Weak link is the body molding is attached by plastic clips which get brittle and break with age. Chrome running bars, tinted windows, and wide wheels and tires really set this vehicle apart from the pack."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, size, reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "No V6 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Perfect size and so reliable. I loved this car! My only complaint is I need a V6 engine and RAV4 does not come with a V6. I would definitely buy this car again!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

dependable and responsive

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The rear seat is not comfortable. The hatch opens with the hinge on the right. It is a great compact size for parking. It responses quickly with high way and city driving. It has a great clearance for unplowed roads and drive ways. When I force it to do donuts and slides in the parking lot it is easy to correct. I don't want to go to the newer larger more comfort for passenger RAV4s."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car. Hate to part with it!

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Just needs a little freshening up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ready to go!

"Moving so have to sell because of new living plans. Car drives like a dream. Cloth seats and carpets a little stained but can be cleaned. Exterior paint on bumper peeling. New tires. Button for a/c wont engage unless you hold it in. New part and labor to replace board is about $300 in my area. Some blemishes and scrapes on outside but paint otherwise in good condition. Cute car. Back seats can be removed for large loads. 4 wheel drive which I have not used in 4 years I have owned it as not need in my area. Titanium color"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Ready to go!

Best Car I Have Ever Owned, I Would Buy It Again

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, light workhorse"

Cons: "Brakes make noise when humid, (so do other makes)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first foreign brand car, but it is better than any American brand car that I have previously owned. When this Toyota RAV4 dies in the future, (hopefully way past 200,000 miles), I will shop for another one. I can take out the back seats and haul around my bicycle to the bike trail, or my lawn mower to my dad's house, or pack up equipment at work to an offsite location for a customer. It has been very low maintenance. After 100,000 miles, I had to get the brakes replaced. That has been the only mechanical repair since I bought this used in 2007. The all-wheel drive works great for most snowfalls in Dayton, Ohio, when there is too much snow for most normal car heights."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "might need some new shock absorbers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"starts every time, even not being garaged the past winter in NE, never had to to much except usual maintenance, my mechanic says this car will go another 170,000 miles and I believe him, reliable, good gas mileage, perfect height for getting in and out, excellent room for carrying items in back with seats down. can't say enough, would keep, but I need a newer car and it will be a RAV 4."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I bot this car new and have had no problems.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage and reiliability."

Cons: "Really....none..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bot this car new and have had no problems at all. The car has only been serviced by the dealer when it was due. The dealer has always been excellent with great prices and extra services many times were not charged. I hate giving the car up, biut feel it is time for me to move on to a bigger car. It's been great for commuting and used exclusively on the highways. It's been garage kept the whole time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

Was good until 100,000

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy drive, comfortable"

Cons: "possible transmission problem, tire on back of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The car has no major problems until it hit 110,000 miles. The gear wouldn't shift and it turned out to be the transmission. I was very disappointed because I thought it would last well into 200,000 miles. I read online that this was a common problem with my year of Rav4 but the warranty only lasted to 100,000 so it wasn't covered. I was planning on staying with the newer version of this car... Now not so sure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, my sixth Toyota

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great value, comfortable, dependable,"

Cons: "I don't have automatic locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Rav4. It is comfortable, reliable, dependable, and the best value out there. My car has always been garaged so it has a near-new body. I never ever had a problem with it. It seems to be faultless. I will only buy a Toyota!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific value. Rock solid never once failed me.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "highly reliable, superb value, rock solid, fun"

Cons: "not the prettiest looking car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2001 RAV4 as a starter car when I got my first job. I thought I would buy a new in 5 years. But 13 years and 225,000 miles later, I still plan on using the 2001 RAV4 for a few more years! After 200,000 I have had two repairs - struts, sway bar bushings for ~$750 and a new catalytic converter for $1400. While >$2000, I expect the car to last another 30k miles at least without any major repair. This car has never once failed me when I needed it. Snow, rain, slush, mud, trails, highways you name it. I have move my belongings in it several times, used it transport snow blowers, generators, lots of garden stuff, home repair stuff like boards, drywall what not."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It's been a reliable form of transportation.

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,678

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It drives get. The motor is good. But the transmission needs some work."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"IT's been a great car no major repairs, tires, breaks, and battery."

This is a very reliable car

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I am able to refer to a friend."

my favorite car i ever had and i"m 64

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best I had"

290,000 Miles STRONG

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, quality, re-sale value, safe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Words can't describe how pleased I am with my Rav4 with almost 300,000 miles and no mechanical issues! Everything still works fine. Great MPG, safe, and reliable enough to drive daily for a very long time. YES I recommend the Rav4!!!"

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

most reliable and fun car I've ever owned.

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4 usable cup holders, elevated seat position, fun"

Cons: "a bit noisy on the highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing that ever went wrong with this car was 4th gear, when it was still under warranty. I drove it 10 years in snow country, and only had to put on chains once. The 25-27 mpg was great. High driver's seat position is nice. Negatives: a bit under-powered, so you want the manual trans, so you can decide your own shift points. Also, there is no "granny" gear, so if you're in a very steep place, the clutch work needs to be precise."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

decent horse power and great looks

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Value and looks"

Cons: "sports suspension could be more forgiving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased the little SUV, new in 2004.No major problems with maintenance .coming up on 100,000 miles and a timing belt and water pump will need to be replaced(normal wear). I have the "sports" package with hood scoop,rear spoiler and ground effects. The truck looks sharp handles well and has 160 horse power which means great excelleration and power when off road on steep hills. The all wheel drive system is excellent and like my "99" RaV4 I have NEVER gotten stuck in the snow/mud or off road. My only gripe is the ride quality at highway speeds(could need to replace shocks)when cornering and bumpy the sports suspension is a little tight. All in all I give it an 8 out of 10 for overall quality."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals