Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 373 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

I love my Toyota

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it is great !"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Rav4 is the best vehicle that I have ever owned . I have 4 wheel drive and I live in MI so that has worked out well in the snow . I don't drive a lot so I have very low mileage for a 2003 so I will be driving it for another 10 years ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Been by far a great dependable car.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling and very good in the extreme winter driving conditions, The sport package gives it just that added sporty look such as the raised hood, just that added touch makes such a difference. We also have added the raised white letters on the ATR tires . Love our Rav !!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car has never given me problems and maintenance costs are low."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2002 Rav4L has been a perfect size auto for me with excellent reliability and still has the modern look in style. It fits my urban life in both working and pleasure driving with excellent mobility in a daily 20 to 60 mile radius. I bought this car in 2003 and never have been disappointed or wanted another automobile."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sturdy , Reliable vehicle. I would buy it again.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sturdy , fun to drive, handles well."

Cons: "Slightly under powered on inclines."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 Rav 4 purchased with 17 k now has 67 K. Just replaced sensor, front struts and rear shocks. i expect to get 300 k out of this car. The car is fun to drive, handles well and is easy to park. I find it to be under powered on inclines. The interior seating is very comfortable and driving view is excellent. I have been reading on some sites that the car may have transmission and catalytic converter issues but have not experienced any yet. My mechanic feels that the rash of catalytic converter failures can be attributed to the 10 ethanol added to the gas."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Functional but not impressive

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "It gets you from A to B."

Cons: "Cheaply built. Rough ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Engine runs great. Ride is rough, radio is awful, carpet is cheap. Two back windows won't open, driver's door lock won't work with fob."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is 14 years old, and I've had it for about 10 of those years. It has amazing turning radius, I can make a full u-turn easily anywhere. It's really roomy all around, the back seats lay flat for more room. It gets 17 miles a gallon in the city and about 25 miles a gallon on the highway. It's a little noisy at high speeds and I'm at a loss as to what kind of car I should get once this one dies on me. Don't think I'll ever love a car more than I love this one."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

has held up well for 12 years

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: trade in

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable and easy to maintain"

Cons: "ride could be a little more quiet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased it at 120K and 82K later, it still looks and runs good. It is a great college kid car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fear I'll Never Be Satisfied with Another!!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in snow/wind/rain/sunny hot days not Too hot"

Cons: "Stero system could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After i had known many other people who loved their Toyotas, I decided it was time for me to have a car to love. I had never kept a car before for more than 5 years, as I always ended up with multiple things I was unhappy with. But I have owned my Rav 4 for over 12 years and there is no way I could have been more satisfied! I just fear whenever I do get a replacement, that it will not live up to my expectations!! It seems many new cars today do not have the same options as they had in the past-- easy to remove back seats if need to move something, back seats fold forward if my short dog wants to sit on it like a "booster seat", front seats recline fully if one needs to nap as spouse is at a store/gathering that the other chooses not to go. Also comfortable for long trips!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, sturdy car!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, convenient size"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mother had this car for ten years before giving it to me two years ago. It's stayed in our family, and for a good reason. It's reliable, sturdy and drives well. If anyone is looking for a 'first car' for their children, I would recommend something like this. It'll last her, and also it's a safe driving vehicle. I take my car off-roading, through snow, and through all sorts of things most cars couldn't handle. It's the reliability of a truck or a suburban, but the petite size and convenience of a little car. Definitely a car that I have loved for years!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Owes me NOTHING!!!

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my RAV new in 2001. Except for 1 sensor that needed replacing 6 years ago, and having the front brakes replaced after 8 years, it has been problem free. I take care of it with scheduled oil changes, inspections, etc. so it has been very good to me. I've never owned a car this long .. and I think buying it was the best thing I ever did."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

300,000 miles strong

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, very reliable, great performance"

Cons: "Cabin is a bit noisy at highway speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

"I'm a proud owner of a highly reliable, no issues, cheap to own 2002 Rav4 with 298,900 miles on the original engine and automatic transmission. With just minor wear and tear, and the factory paint still looking great, I plan to keep it running for as long as I can. At about 27 mpg on regular gas my Rav4 is still my daily driver. 10/10!!!!!!!"

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

Owned mine 12 years!

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, VERY reliable, great gas milage,"

Cons: "Engine is a little weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have over 90,000 miles on my 2002 Rav and have never had any mechanical issues with it. It still drives great and looks great. Currently looking for new vics but only because I need a bit more size. Love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around car. I've been really happy with

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Park in compact spaces. Fun, visibility is good."

Cons: "Interior seems small w/riders.Car wash charges SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a good vehicle for me. I had been driving an Accord, and I prefer sitting higher in the RAV. For taller people the headroom is not what I thought. In the front passenger seat my son, who is 6'3"... his head hits the handle above the window when we go over speed bumps or around corners. I'm 5' 5" and it's been fine for me. The cup holders, console and pockets behind seats allow for easy access. Good access to rear, excellent cargo capacity for groceries, etc. Seats can be folded down or are easily removed to expand cargo room. Stereo is important to me and has been excellent, with speakers for back seating. I enjoy the sun roof, but its noisy when driving with it open. Gas mileage has been 15-20 mpg. I track mileage every fill up, if it goes down I get air pressure in tires checked or take it in for oil change or tune up. Faithfully maintained with regular service on time per dealers recommendation helps. Drivers door doesn't respond to keyless entry, all other doors are okay."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good, reliable transportation. Handy in winter.

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice quality for interior and body paint. Weak link is the body molding is attached by plastic clips which get brittle and break with age. Chrome running bars, tinted windows, and wide wheels and tires really set this vehicle apart from the pack."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, size, reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "No V6 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Perfect size and so reliable. I loved this car! My only complaint is I need a V6 engine and RAV4 does not come with a V6. I would definitely buy this car again!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

dependable and responsive

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The rear seat is not comfortable. The hatch opens with the hinge on the right. It is a great compact size for parking. It responses quickly with high way and city driving. It has a great clearance for unplowed roads and drive ways. When I force it to do donuts and slides in the parking lot it is easy to correct. I don't want to go to the newer larger more comfort for passenger RAV4s."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car. Hate to part with it!

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Just needs a little freshening up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ready to go!

"Moving so have to sell because of new living plans. Car drives like a dream. Cloth seats and carpets a little stained but can be cleaned. Exterior paint on bumper peeling. New tires. Button for a/c wont engage unless you hold it in. New part and labor to replace board is about $300 in my area. Some blemishes and scrapes on outside but paint otherwise in good condition. Cute car. Back seats can be removed for large loads. 4 wheel drive which I have not used in 4 years I have owned it as not need in my area. Titanium color"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Ready to go!

Best Car I Have Ever Owned, I Would Buy It Again

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, light workhorse"

Cons: "Brakes make noise when humid, (so do other makes)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first foreign brand car, but it is better than any American brand car that I have previously owned. When this Toyota RAV4 dies in the future, (hopefully way past 200,000 miles), I will shop for another one. I can take out the back seats and haul around my bicycle to the bike trail, or my lawn mower to my dad's house, or pack up equipment at work to an offsite location for a customer. It has been very low maintenance. After 100,000 miles, I had to get the brakes replaced. That has been the only mechanical repair since I bought this used in 2007. The all-wheel drive works great for most snowfalls in Dayton, Ohio, when there is too much snow for most normal car heights."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "might need some new shock absorbers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"starts every time, even not being garaged the past winter in NE, never had to to much except usual maintenance, my mechanic says this car will go another 170,000 miles and I believe him, reliable, good gas mileage, perfect height for getting in and out, excellent room for carrying items in back with seats down. can't say enough, would keep, but I need a newer car and it will be a RAV 4."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I bot this car new and have had no problems.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage and reiliability."

Cons: "Really....none..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bot this car new and have had no problems at all. The car has only been serviced by the dealer when it was due. The dealer has always been excellent with great prices and extra services many times were not charged. I hate giving the car up, biut feel it is time for me to move on to a bigger car. It's been great for commuting and used exclusively on the highways. It's been garage kept the whole time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

Was good until 100,000

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy drive, comfortable"

Cons: "possible transmission problem, tire on back of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The car has no major problems until it hit 110,000 miles. The gear wouldn't shift and it turned out to be the transmission. I was very disappointed because I thought it would last well into 200,000 miles. I read online that this was a common problem with my year of Rav4 but the warranty only lasted to 100,000 so it wasn't covered. I was planning on staying with the newer version of this car... Now not so sure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals