Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2003 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next

Great reliable SUV

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD works great, minimal maintenance costs,"

Cons: "exterior design goofy, trunk door opens sideways"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been very reliable. it's not true 4wd, more of a front to back awd system from how I understand it, but it works great in the snow here. I've only ever had to replace the tires and change the oil and transmission fluid. Not a fan of the basic exterior design, but we have the sport version with a hood scoop, so that helps immensely. otherwise this body style reminds me of bugs (not the VW type). It's also got a lot more wind noise on the freeway than my old camry, but not horrible. It's older now, so not up to current mpg standards, but great for the year, I get about 25 on the freeway. It's very comfortable for my wife and I on road trips, both 5'7"; taller people might not be as comfortable, but that's been the case with all of our toyotas. I love that the back seat goes mostly flat into the floor, but not as well as the new SUVs (cushion sticks up 6" or so behind front seats, but still very convenient). Plenty of room in the trunk for our bullmastiff to lay out comfortably."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my RAV4

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'm 5'10" and can comfortably drive the 2005. It has been a reliable vehicle with few repairs required. Test drove 2015 RAV and the redesign feels cramped inside especially with the dash that extends into knee area. Nice cargo area though. Would recommend for a short person."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

VERY reliable, not the greatest mileage

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable (still going strong)"

Cons: "so so gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"pick-up is a little slow especially on hills, not a lot of leg room in the back but since I rarely have passengers that's ok; car may look small but can hold A LOT of items."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, low repair costs, safe to drive in wind"

Cons: "Personally, I would prefer it a little "shorter""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used with only 40,000 miles on it in 2009. Like many "fleet cars," previous drivers had put cheap gas in the tank which later, ruined the catalytic convertor (which cost me about $1,200 to fix). However after I got that taken care of, I've never had any problems. It gets the same gas mileage as my previous Toyota Camry maybe because it's the same engine as a Camry. When it's windy, the SUV is heavy enough that the vehicle doesn't "blow all over the road" like a small economy car would do. I always felt safe driving this SUV."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great small vehicle

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, plenty of cargo space"

Cons: "Big Guys may be uncomfortable on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the 2003 RAV 4 used in 2009. At the time it had about 65,000 miles on the odometer. Purchased it mainly for my wife who loved, loved, loved it. The 2 liter engine has plenty of pep, is economical and has been trouble free. The only "major" repair(s) have been to replace the struts and shocks at about 114,000 miles. I am a larger guy, about 6 feet tall and a solid 220 so find driving the car for long periods somewhat uncomfortable -- course I'd much rather drive my pickup anyway. Even though the car is not a 4 X 4, the front wheel drive handles our snow and ice very well."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: time to upgrade

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, fun to drive, economical"

Cons: "body looked great but steel wheels rusted"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved my RAV. Handled wonderfully in all weather conditions - heater so great family referred to as the sauna 4. Mileage 28-30 mpg. When purchased referred to handling as "nimble" and it was"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I would buy it again in a hearbeat

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good size"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've really enjoyed this car. It is small enough to fit in compact spaces, yet large enough to make a camping trip. Rear seats are removable for extra cargo room. The gas mileage is decent considering it is 4WD. I've had very few issues over the 10 years I've had it. If only they hadn't made changes to it, I would buy it again without bothering to look at other vehicles."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever had.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 wheel drive. More cars should have it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is, by far, the best car I have ever owned. There have been some brutal winters in the last ten years and I have never been afraid to drive or become stuck no matter how deep the snow."

She made it to 344K miles*one owner*RAH!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 344,456

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worth every penny a Toyota costs"

Cons: "Not enough to mention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota RAV4 ROCKS and still looks new after 14 years. Really good paint. Dry-clean the upholstery every year and that stays like-new also."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This vehicle works!

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability, manuverability, visibility, power"

Cons: "4-spd auto needs another gear, just medium comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2005 RAV is a wonderfully useful car, particularly for around-town driving. It is easy to see out of, peppy (2.4L engine) and super-maneuverable. We have had no problems with it....not a single repair! While I wouldn't consider it a great long-distance touring car, we have others for that, but prefer the RAV most of the time. Expect to keep it for many years to come."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 39 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals