Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 384 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next

BEWARE Defects

By on Monday, January 28, 2008

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"The ECM will go bad in this car before you even hit 100,000 miles (refer to Technical Service Bulletin issued in March of 2006). When the ECM goes bad, it causes the car's transmission to shift hard and start off in the incorrect grear, which damages the transmission. While the ECM is covered under Toyota's Emissions Warranty (if you can get the dealer to find the technical service bulletin), Toyota will NOT cover the damage to the transmission caused by this faulty warrantied part."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price , fun to drive , front seat comfort"

Cons: "cramped back seat leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ride and driving experience is wonderful.I get 26 mpg/city and around 30 mpg/hwy,even after 10 years. Never any problems,major or minor. Body integrity is great and I especially like the look of the tire on the back...it used to be unique,but not anymore. I have recommended the car to many people."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

It is a very solid car all way round.

By on Tuesday, April 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got all the value and more for the overall price.Provides comfort and trust-worthiness.Solid like a s.u.v. but drives and handles like a luxury car. I'M so confident in quality and value I'm going to drive it for a total of 15 years before buying another."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love the Toyota Rav 4

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cargo room without having a huge vehicle."

Cons: "Check engine light just likes to be on."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Rav 4 brand new in 2001. Originally I was going for the Chrysler PT Cruiser, but after a dealer snafu I had to choose a different model completely. What attracted me to the PT Cruiser was the ability to tumble and take out the seats. This function on the Rav 4 made me a buyer. I have moved over 12 times (once across the country), and have moved nearly everything using my Rav 4 - Couches on the rooftop, chairs inside, boxes upon boxes. I love the Toyota Rav 4. This car has been reliable and has paid for itself twice over in the 11 years that I have had it. Now that the car is over 200,000 miles, I'm seeking a new one but hesitant to because this one is like my baby. Cons about the Rav 4: The high center of gravity means that you shouldn't take turns too fast. I have managed to lift two wheels off the pavement before. Ever since I got the vehicle I've had trouble with the check engine light. It just likes to be on - for NO REASON. It always says it's an oxygen sensor. But, I have changed the oxygen sensors, the oxygen manifold, etc. time and time again. Finally, I just gave up on it and it works just fine with that check engine light on. Be aware though - Having that check engine light on makes it difficult for registration in certain states."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

04 Rav bought for Kids -- great vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nimble, great drive, 24 mpg"

Cons: "Moon roof stinks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased 04 brand new. Did not want moon roof but no choice. Have had issues with the roof holes clogging and then rain water moving into the interior of the vehicle. Other than that I LOVE this vehicle. If my kids aren't driving it, I am. Nimble, turns on a dime; excellent acceleration; fun to drive. No major repairs; son had in AZ at ASU for 3 years so had full maintenance done prior to drive home to TX. transmission flush, hoses, belts changed, etc. Other than that no repairs on the 134k miles; Gets about 24+ mpg. Don't like the seat covers as they seem to be hard to clean and maintain but overall this car is great; I want another when this one dies."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 77 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals