Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2003 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great reliable SUV

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD works great, minimal maintenance costs,"

Cons: "exterior design goofy, trunk door opens sideways"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been very reliable. it's not true 4wd, more of a front to back awd system from how I understand it, but it works great in the snow here. I've only ever had to replace the tires and change the oil and transmission fluid. Not a fan of the basic exterior design, but we have the sport version with a hood scoop, so that helps immensely. otherwise this body style reminds me of bugs (not the VW type). It's also got a lot more wind noise on the freeway than my old camry, but not horrible. It's older now, so not up to current mpg standards, but great for the year, I get about 25 on the freeway. It's very comfortable for my wife and I on road trips, both 5'7"; taller people might not be as comfortable, but that's been the case with all of our toyotas. I love that the back seat goes mostly flat into the floor, but not as well as the new SUVs (cushion sticks up 6" or so behind front seats, but still very convenient). Plenty of room in the trunk for our bullmastiff to lay out comfortably."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my RAV4

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'm 5'10" and can comfortably drive the 2005. It has been a reliable vehicle with few repairs required. Test drove 2015 RAV and the redesign feels cramped inside especially with the dash that extends into knee area. Nice cargo area though. Would recommend for a short person."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

VERY reliable, not the greatest mileage

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable (still going strong)"

Cons: "so so gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"pick-up is a little slow especially on hills, not a lot of leg room in the back but since I rarely have passengers that's ok; car may look small but can hold A LOT of items."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, low repair costs, safe to drive in wind"

Cons: "Personally, I would prefer it a little "shorter""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used with only 40,000 miles on it in 2009. Like many "fleet cars," previous drivers had put cheap gas in the tank which later, ruined the catalytic convertor (which cost me about $1,200 to fix). However after I got that taken care of, I've never had any problems. It gets the same gas mileage as my previous Toyota Camry maybe because it's the same engine as a Camry. When it's windy, the SUV is heavy enough that the vehicle doesn't "blow all over the road" like a small economy car would do. I always felt safe driving this SUV."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great small vehicle

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, plenty of cargo space"

Cons: "Big Guys may be uncomfortable on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the 2003 RAV 4 used in 2009. At the time it had about 65,000 miles on the odometer. Purchased it mainly for my wife who loved, loved, loved it. The 2 liter engine has plenty of pep, is economical and has been trouble free. The only "major" repair(s) have been to replace the struts and shocks at about 114,000 miles. I am a larger guy, about 6 feet tall and a solid 220 so find driving the car for long periods somewhat uncomfortable -- course I'd much rather drive my pickup anyway. Even though the car is not a 4 X 4, the front wheel drive handles our snow and ice very well."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals