Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2002 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 369 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next

Toyota Only

By on Sunday, October 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Would never buy anything but a Toyota. Never a problem / Never a worry...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

cant go wrong

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2003 Rav used. I have had it for four years, and I love it. No problems what so ever. A great car, and a great value"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, September 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car to save on gas and to help w/ moving around the city, it packed in a lot of stuff w/ taking the seats out and saved a lot of money w/ not having to rent a truck after buying a 42' T.V. It does shift a bit hard from 1st to 2nd but other than that the car is very nice. At 103,000 miles and the only money that I put in it (other than the 100,00 mile full service) was to get a blown out tire fixed"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Outstanding Vehicle

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I absolutely adore my 2002 RAV-4! I have had NO problems with the car, and, not only does it get great gas mileage, but also it has the look of a more expensive vehicle. I also have a 1996 Toyota RAV-4 with over 150,000 miles on it -- and still going strong!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great little SUV

By on Thursday, September 27, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Living in a dense city with harsh winters (Boston), this little runabout is just about perfect. It fits in tight parking spaces, and handles very well. The manual transmission is great for using all of the engine's power, and fuel efficiency has been in the 19-26 MPG range. The biggest gripe is the harsh shift from 1-2 gear, otherwise it's been a very reliable car. It's too bad Toyota made it MUCH bigger because it's not longer the small runabout it used to be."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

$5500

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"Burned: Transmission and computer went at 80,000 miles. $5,500 to repair/replace. I'll never buy a Toyota again. Back to more reliable GM cars."

2 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Everebody go buy this SUV. You will go love this car"

2003 Rav4 S

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned over 20 vehicles ... all with good and bad points... My lil Rav4S has been great! These days with the gas hogs I love the fact I get 22mpg city! And I drive hard! The seats come out in the back ... great for when I had to rebuild some of my home, was surprised how much I could haul. I do not like the newer versions of the Rav4- they might grow on my in time, but the bigger rounder design is just too subaru looking. The 4 cyl has decent pep, I don't feel like I'm gonna get ran over by some soccer mom in her ford EXCRETION! ;o) I would recommend my Rav to anyone ... based on my experience I might recommend any version of it based on the value and quality."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My favorite car ever

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car new in 2001 and hope to drive it for another 6 years. It's the perfect balance for both commuting (30 mpg and a comfortable drive) and weekend trips to Home Depot (accomodates 8 ft lumber). The removable back seats offer great flexibility for cargo. No mechanical problems so far in my first 70K+ miles. I love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 17, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Rav4 Fan

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle is by far the best I have ever owned. Excellent gas mileage, all-over comfort, even for tall people."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Excellent Vechicle

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my Rav4. 5 years and not a single problem. Feels like brand new even after 5 years. This is Toyota quality. I will buy Toyota for the rest of my life. (Or Lexus if I get rich :-) ) I also have a Camry which I can say the same."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Friday, September 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my second RAV4 and I will buy another one."

Toyota reliability

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have now owned the car 4-years with no major problems. Fun to drive with terrific gas mileage. Brakes made noise and vibrated when braking hard, which went away with new, upgraded pads. Rattle in glove box ended up being loose grommets in the plastic paneling below the windshield wipers. Poor design because they keep coming loose. Easy to maintain as a home mechanic. Everything is easily accessible except the battery. Battery is buried under the dash. We invested in a Jump Start emergency device so we don't ever have to access the battery in an emergency. Transmission is sluggish which reflects on the performance. Motor is strong and able to climb no problem once the transmission finds the gear. Love the little touches like hanger hooks, grocery bag hooks, unique vents and removable rear seats. More cargo space than our larger Xterra once the seats are removed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My favorit vehicle

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car new. It drives beautifully and for a 4cyl. it has a lot of power. the passenger side is a lttle tight. Great gas mileage. Nice and sporty. It doesn't feel like I am driving a "mom car." And the back seats are easy to remove- I don't need my husband's help."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worst suv ever

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"worst suv ever. had nothing but problems. has no power."

2 people out of 23 found this review helpful

The Best!

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The "BEST" car I've ever owned and I've owned them all! Great in the snow! Very comfortable for long rides to florida! Easy to load/unload."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this 05 Rav4 new. Only done the scheduled maintenance, and had shims put on the front brakes because of a clicking sound. One great vehicle!!! Average 24mpg with just regular driving in town and on the highway combined. Now has 42K miles, and is probably good for another 242K."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Yet!

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned a range of vehicle types including audi's and volkswagons and a couple of classics. I needed an SUV so I could at least look through truck windows and see highway action beyond their truck beds. After testdriving other makes, I selected my Rav4. Excellent decision! With regular maintenance the Rav4 performs beautifully! I expect I'll own this same vehicle 10 years from now!"

Great car

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Just right for my size body...."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

108k and driving

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"By far my favorite car of all time. I love a 5 speed and at 108K miles, I am still on the original clutch. Even with 2wd only, it does well in the New England winters. I have owned many Toyotas and if you take care of it, it will more than take care of you. I am going for at least 200K miles or more!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Reliable SUV

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love it because it is 4WD yet still drives and manuvers like a car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive; Solid as a Rock

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"With 72k+ miles on my RAV, I have had no rattles, no repairs other than routine maintenance and gas mileage averaging 26-28 mpg. So far other than oil changes, I've replaced tires once and just did front brakes for the first time at 68k miles. My only complaints are that the driving position isn't that comfortable for long trips and I HATE the luggage cover on the cargo area - it's cumbersome and never fails to get in the way when removing cargo."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals