Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2002 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Great reliable SUV

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD works great, minimal maintenance costs,"

Cons: "exterior design goofy, trunk door opens sideways"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been very reliable. it's not true 4wd, more of a front to back awd system from how I understand it, but it works great in the snow here. I've only ever had to replace the tires and change the oil and transmission fluid. Not a fan of the basic exterior design, but we have the sport version with a hood scoop, so that helps immensely. otherwise this body style reminds me of bugs (not the VW type). It's also got a lot more wind noise on the freeway than my old camry, but not horrible. It's older now, so not up to current mpg standards, but great for the year, I get about 25 on the freeway. It's very comfortable for my wife and I on road trips, both 5'7"; taller people might not be as comfortable, but that's been the case with all of our toyotas. I love that the back seat goes mostly flat into the floor, but not as well as the new SUVs (cushion sticks up 6" or so behind front seats, but still very convenient). Plenty of room in the trunk for our bullmastiff to lay out comfortably."

I love my RAV4

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'm 5'10" and can comfortably drive the 2005. It has been a reliable vehicle with few repairs required. Test drove 2015 RAV and the redesign feels cramped inside especially with the dash that extends into knee area. Nice cargo area though. Would recommend for a short person."

VERY reliable, not the greatest mileage

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable (still going strong)"

Cons: "so so gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"pick-up is a little slow especially on hills, not a lot of leg room in the back but since I rarely have passengers that's ok; car may look small but can hold A LOT of items."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, February 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, low repair costs, safe to drive in wind"

Cons: "Personally, I would prefer it a little "shorter""

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used with only 40,000 miles on it in 2009. Like many "fleet cars," previous drivers had put cheap gas in the tank which later, ruined the catalytic convertor (which cost me about $1,200 to fix). However after I got that taken care of, I've never had any problems. It gets the same gas mileage as my previous Toyota Camry maybe because it's the same engine as a Camry. When it's windy, the SUV is heavy enough that the vehicle doesn't "blow all over the road" like a small economy car would do. I always felt safe driving this SUV."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great small vehicle

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, plenty of cargo space"

Cons: "Big Guys may be uncomfortable on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the 2003 RAV 4 used in 2009. At the time it had about 65,000 miles on the odometer. Purchased it mainly for my wife who loved, loved, loved it. The 2 liter engine has plenty of pep, is economical and has been trouble free. The only "major" repair(s) have been to replace the struts and shocks at about 114,000 miles. I am a larger guy, about 6 feet tall and a solid 220 so find driving the car for long periods somewhat uncomfortable -- course I'd much rather drive my pickup anyway. Even though the car is not a 4 X 4, the front wheel drive handles our snow and ice very well."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: time to upgrade

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable, fun to drive, economical"

Cons: "body looked great but steel wheels rusted"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved my RAV. Handled wonderfully in all weather conditions - heater so great family referred to as the sauna 4. Mileage 28-30 mpg. When purchased referred to handling as "nimble" and it was"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I would buy it again in a hearbeat

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good size"

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've really enjoyed this car. It is small enough to fit in compact spaces, yet large enough to make a camping trip. Rear seats are removable for extra cargo room. The gas mileage is decent considering it is 4WD. I've had very few issues over the 10 years I've had it. If only they hadn't made changes to it, I would buy it again without bothering to look at other vehicles."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever had.

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 wheel drive. More cars should have it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is, by far, the best car I have ever owned. There have been some brutal winters in the last ten years and I have never been afraid to drive or become stuck no matter how deep the snow."

She made it to 344K miles*one owner*RAH!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 344,456

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worth every penny a Toyota costs"

Cons: "Not enough to mention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota RAV4 ROCKS and still looks new after 14 years. Really good paint. Dry-clean the upholstery every year and that stays like-new also."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This vehicle works!

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability, manuverability, visibility, power"

Cons: "4-spd auto needs another gear, just medium comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2005 RAV is a wonderfully useful car, particularly for around-town driving. It is easy to see out of, peppy (2.4L engine) and super-maneuverable. We have had no problems with it....not a single repair! While I wouldn't consider it a great long-distance touring car, we have others for that, but prefer the RAV most of the time. Expect to keep it for many years to come."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my Toyota

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it is great !"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Rav4 is the best vehicle that I have ever owned . I have 4 wheel drive and I live in MI so that has worked out well in the snow . I don't drive a lot so I have very low mileage for a 2003 so I will be driving it for another 10 years ."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Been by far a great dependable car.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great handling and very good in the extreme winter driving conditions, The sport package gives it just that added sporty look such as the raised hood, just that added touch makes such a difference. We also have added the raised white letters on the ATR tires . Love our Rav !!"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car has never given me problems and maintenance costs are low."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2002 Rav4L has been a perfect size auto for me with excellent reliability and still has the modern look in style. It fits my urban life in both working and pleasure driving with excellent mobility in a daily 20 to 60 mile radius. I bought this car in 2003 and never have been disappointed or wanted another automobile."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sturdy , Reliable vehicle. I would buy it again.

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sturdy , fun to drive, handles well."

Cons: "Slightly under powered on inclines."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2003 Rav 4 purchased with 17 k now has 67 K. Just replaced sensor, front struts and rear shocks. i expect to get 300 k out of this car. The car is fun to drive, handles well and is easy to park. I find it to be under powered on inclines. The interior seating is very comfortable and driving view is excellent. I have been reading on some sites that the car may have transmission and catalytic converter issues but have not experienced any yet. My mechanic feels that the rash of catalytic converter failures can be attributed to the 10 ethanol added to the gas."

8 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Functional but not impressive

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "It gets you from A to B."

Cons: "Cheaply built. Rough ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Engine runs great. Ride is rough, radio is awful, carpet is cheap. Two back windows won't open, driver's door lock won't work with fob."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Not great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is 14 years old, and I've had it for about 10 of those years. It has amazing turning radius, I can make a full u-turn easily anywhere. It's really roomy all around, the back seats lay flat for more room. It gets 17 miles a gallon in the city and about 25 miles a gallon on the highway. It's a little noisy at high speeds and I'm at a loss as to what kind of car I should get once this one dies on me. Don't think I'll ever love a car more than I love this one."

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

has held up well for 12 years

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: trade in

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable and easy to maintain"

Cons: "ride could be a little more quiet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased it at 120K and 82K later, it still looks and runs good. It is a great college kid car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fear I'll Never Be Satisfied with Another!!

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great in snow/wind/rain/sunny hot days not Too hot"

Cons: "Stero system could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After i had known many other people who loved their Toyotas, I decided it was time for me to have a car to love. I had never kept a car before for more than 5 years, as I always ended up with multiple things I was unhappy with. But I have owned my Rav 4 for over 12 years and there is no way I could have been more satisfied! I just fear whenever I do get a replacement, that it will not live up to my expectations!! It seems many new cars today do not have the same options as they had in the past-- easy to remove back seats if need to move something, back seats fold forward if my short dog wants to sit on it like a "booster seat", front seats recline fully if one needs to nap as spouse is at a store/gathering that the other chooses not to go. Also comfortable for long trips!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, sturdy car!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, convenient size"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My mother had this car for ten years before giving it to me two years ago. It's stayed in our family, and for a good reason. It's reliable, sturdy and drives well. If anyone is looking for a 'first car' for their children, I would recommend something like this. It'll last her, and also it's a safe driving vehicle. I take my car off-roading, through snow, and through all sorts of things most cars couldn't handle. It's the reliability of a truck or a suburban, but the petite size and convenience of a little car. Definitely a car that I have loved for years!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Owes me NOTHING!!!

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my RAV new in 2001. Except for 1 sensor that needed replacing 6 years ago, and having the front brakes replaced after 8 years, it has been problem free. I take care of it with scheduled oil changes, inspections, etc. so it has been very good to me. I've never owned a car this long .. and I think buying it was the best thing I ever did."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

300,000 miles strong

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas milage, very reliable, great performance"

Cons: "Cabin is a bit noisy at highway speeds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

"I'm a proud owner of a highly reliable, no issues, cheap to own 2002 Rav4 with 298,900 miles on the original engine and automatic transmission. With just minor wear and tear, and the factory paint still looking great, I plan to keep it running for as long as I can. At about 27 mpg on regular gas my Rav4 is still my daily driver. 10/10!!!!!!!"

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

almost 300,000 miles!!!!!!

Owned mine 12 years!

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, VERY reliable, great gas milage,"

Cons: "Engine is a little weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have over 90,000 miles on my 2002 Rav and have never had any mechanical issues with it. It still drives great and looks great. Currently looking for new vics but only because I need a bit more size. Love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around car. I've been really happy with

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Park in compact spaces. Fun, visibility is good."

Cons: "Interior seems small w/riders.Car wash charges SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a good vehicle for me. I had been driving an Accord, and I prefer sitting higher in the RAV. For taller people the headroom is not what I thought. In the front passenger seat my son, who is 6'3"... his head hits the handle above the window when we go over speed bumps or around corners. I'm 5' 5" and it's been fine for me. The cup holders, console and pockets behind seats allow for easy access. Good access to rear, excellent cargo capacity for groceries, etc. Seats can be folded down or are easily removed to expand cargo room. Stereo is important to me and has been excellent, with speakers for back seating. I enjoy the sun roof, but its noisy when driving with it open. Gas mileage has been 15-20 mpg. I track mileage every fill up, if it goes down I get air pressure in tires checked or take it in for oil change or tune up. Faithfully maintained with regular service on time per dealers recommendation helps. Drivers door doesn't respond to keyless entry, all other doors are okay."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good, reliable transportation. Handy in winter.

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice quality for interior and body paint. Weak link is the body molding is attached by plastic clips which get brittle and break with age. Chrome running bars, tinted windows, and wide wheels and tires really set this vehicle apart from the pack."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals