Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2001 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 383 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, size, reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "No V6 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Perfect size and so reliable. I loved this car! My only complaint is I need a V6 engine and RAV4 does not come with a V6. I would definitely buy this car again!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

dependable and responsive

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The rear seat is not comfortable. The hatch opens with the hinge on the right. It is a great compact size for parking. It responses quickly with high way and city driving. It has a great clearance for unplowed roads and drive ways. When I force it to do donuts and slides in the parking lot it is easy to correct. I don't want to go to the newer larger more comfort for passenger RAV4s."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this car. Hate to part with it!

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "Just needs a little freshening up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ready to go!

"Moving so have to sell because of new living plans. Car drives like a dream. Cloth seats and carpets a little stained but can be cleaned. Exterior paint on bumper peeling. New tires. Button for a/c wont engage unless you hold it in. New part and labor to replace board is about $300 in my area. Some blemishes and scrapes on outside but paint otherwise in good condition. Cute car. Back seats can be removed for large loads. 4 wheel drive which I have not used in 4 years I have owned it as not need in my area. Titanium color"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Ready to go!

Best Car I Have Ever Owned, I Would Buy It Again

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, light workhorse"

Cons: "Brakes make noise when humid, (so do other makes)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first foreign brand car, but it is better than any American brand car that I have previously owned. When this Toyota RAV4 dies in the future, (hopefully way past 200,000 miles), I will shop for another one. I can take out the back seats and haul around my bicycle to the bike trail, or my lawn mower to my dad's house, or pack up equipment at work to an offsite location for a customer. It has been very low maintenance. After 100,000 miles, I had to get the brakes replaced. That has been the only mechanical repair since I bought this used in 2007. The all-wheel drive works great for most snowfalls in Dayton, Ohio, when there is too much snow for most normal car heights."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "might need some new shock absorbers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"starts every time, even not being garaged the past winter in NE, never had to to much except usual maintenance, my mechanic says this car will go another 170,000 miles and I believe him, reliable, good gas mileage, perfect height for getting in and out, excellent room for carrying items in back with seats down. can't say enough, would keep, but I need a newer car and it will be a RAV 4."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I bot this car new and have had no problems.

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage and reiliability."

Cons: "Really....none..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bot this car new and have had no problems at all. The car has only been serviced by the dealer when it was due. The dealer has always been excellent with great prices and extra services many times were not charged. I hate giving the car up, biut feel it is time for me to move on to a bigger car. It's been great for commuting and used exclusively on the highways. It's been garage kept the whole time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car value all around!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, very low maintenance."

Cons: "bumpy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I keep the oil changed, keep the gas tank full (due to the great gas mileage) and can’t say enough about this car. Plan on driving it well into the 200k mileage point. Wish it was a little smoother driving since I am getting older and am all about comfort  but you just can’t beat this cars value!"

Was good until 100,000

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy drive, comfortable"

Cons: "possible transmission problem, tire on back of car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The car has no major problems until it hit 110,000 miles. The gear wouldn't shift and it turned out to be the transmission. I was very disappointed because I thought it would last well into 200,000 miles. I read online that this was a common problem with my year of Rav4 but the warranty only lasted to 100,000 so it wasn't covered. I was planning on staying with the newer version of this car... Now not so sure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable, comfortable, my sixth Toyota

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great value, comfortable, dependable,"

Cons: "I don't have automatic locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Rav4. It is comfortable, reliable, dependable, and the best value out there. My car has always been garaged so it has a near-new body. I never ever had a problem with it. It seems to be faultless. I will only buy a Toyota!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific value. Rock solid never once failed me.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "highly reliable, superb value, rock solid, fun"

Cons: "not the prettiest looking car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2001 RAV4 as a starter car when I got my first job. I thought I would buy a new in 5 years. But 13 years and 225,000 miles later, I still plan on using the 2001 RAV4 for a few more years! After 200,000 I have had two repairs - struts, sway bar bushings for ~$750 and a new catalytic converter for $1400. While >$2000, I expect the car to last another 30k miles at least without any major repair. This car has never once failed me when I needed it. Snow, rain, slush, mud, trails, highways you name it. I have move my belongings in it several times, used it transport snow blowers, generators, lots of garden stuff, home repair stuff like boards, drywall what not."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It's been a reliable form of transportation.

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,678

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It drives get. The motor is good. But the transmission needs some work."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"IT's been a great car no major repairs, tires, breaks, and battery."

This is a very reliable car

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I am able to refer to a friend."

my favorite car i ever had and i"m 64

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best I had"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

290,000 Miles STRONG

By on Thursday, December 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, quality, re-sale value, safe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Words can't describe how pleased I am with my Rav4 with almost 300,000 miles and no mechanical issues! Everything still works fine. Great MPG, safe, and reliable enough to drive daily for a very long time. YES I recommend the Rav4!!!"

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

most reliable and fun car I've ever owned.

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4 usable cup holders, elevated seat position, fun"

Cons: "a bit noisy on the highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing that ever went wrong with this car was 4th gear, when it was still under warranty. I drove it 10 years in snow country, and only had to put on chains once. The 25-27 mpg was great. High driver's seat position is nice. Negatives: a bit under-powered, so you want the manual trans, so you can decide your own shift points. Also, there is no "granny" gear, so if you're in a very steep place, the clutch work needs to be precise."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

decent horse power and great looks

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Value and looks"

Cons: "sports suspension could be more forgiving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased the little SUV, new in 2004.No major problems with maintenance .coming up on 100,000 miles and a timing belt and water pump will need to be replaced(normal wear). I have the "sports" package with hood scoop,rear spoiler and ground effects. The truck looks sharp handles well and has 160 horse power which means great excelleration and power when off road on steep hills. The all wheel drive system is excellent and like my "99" RaV4 I have NEVER gotten stuck in the snow/mud or off road. My only gripe is the ride quality at highway speeds(could need to replace shocks)when cornering and bumpy the sports suspension is a little tight. All in all I give it an 8 out of 10 for overall quality."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

04 Rav bought for Kids -- great vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nimble, great drive, 24 mpg"

Cons: "Moon roof stinks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased 04 brand new. Did not want moon roof but no choice. Have had issues with the roof holes clogging and then rain water moving into the interior of the vehicle. Other than that I LOVE this vehicle. If my kids aren't driving it, I am. Nimble, turns on a dime; excellent acceleration; fun to drive. No major repairs; son had in AZ at ASU for 3 years so had full maintenance done prior to drive home to TX. transmission flush, hoses, belts changed, etc. Other than that no repairs on the 134k miles; Gets about 24+ mpg. Don't like the seat covers as they seem to be hard to clean and maintain but overall this car is great; I want another when this one dies."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Junk

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,999

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is hard to work on. It's breaking down weekly. It's a rattle trap. IT'S JUNK"

1 person out of 10 found this review helpful

greatest reliability in 55 yrs of driving.

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "balance on curves is great! leather seats a plus"

Cons: "back seat has short leg space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"reliability is excellent. tires wear well.paint holds up well. never any transmission problems. Never had any engine leaks. Only normal maintenance needed. one set of breaks needed in 132,000 mi. never uses oil. only complaint, it is a little noisy when using snow tires. Not fond of anti lock breaks however."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Toyota RAV4 reliable and awesome

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "cute car, reliable, good mileage, comfortable,"

Cons: "slight road noise in back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Toyota vehicles are so reliable and easy to maintain; amazing value"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price , fun to drive , front seat comfort"

Cons: "cramped back seat leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ride and driving experience is wonderful.I get 26 mpg/city and around 30 mpg/hwy,even after 10 years. Never any problems,major or minor. Body integrity is great and I especially like the look of the tire on the back...it used to be unique,but not anymore. I have recommended the car to many people."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Favorite Vehicle I Have Owned - Great Gas Mileage!

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, Reliability and Gas Mileage"

Cons: "Simple interior, small cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my RAV4 with 107K miles for $8,000. This model of RAV4 have transmission problems due to a bad Electronic Control Module (ECM or computer). Toyota has fixed the issue but requires the purchase and install of a new ECM. I bought my RAV4 with a reconditioned transmission and the replacement of the ECM. So, I have a 2002 RAV4 with a resolved transmission issue. My family is brand loyal to Toyota quality and have owned several Toyota vehicles over the years. We drive our cars into the dirt. I plan to pass down my RAV4 to my 12 yr old son in a few years. I am confident it will be able to handle the high mileage and a lead foot. Go Toyota! I love what you do for me :)"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 16 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals