Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1999 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

The best

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cute,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I hate to sell this vehicle. It has been totally great. I replaced the cruise control, got new shocks, But nothing major. I hope I am this lucky with my next car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great size vehicle for city/burb living"

Cons: "No knee room in backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Rav brand new in 1998 & have enjoyed it completely. It runs great and fun to drive. It handles very well on both highway and city driving. I have only taken short road trips (<300 miles). I've mostly used it for day to day purposes and living in Chicago, it's gotten its fair share of city living use. I has also performed great in the winter with heavy snow. The front seats are comfortable for most people. I'm 5'10" so I have never had an issue with knee room. However, the back seats don't have the greatest knee room unless the front seats are moved forward. It also has plenty of interior room to haul stuff with the backseats folded down. I've used it to move twice and I shop at Sam's Club and sometimes can't believe the amount of stuff I can cram into it. I wouldn't be surprised if I had it for another 5-10 years, but would happily buy another brand new one without hesitation."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great little SUV!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "rugged, sits high, fun, decent 4X mileage"

Cons: "rough highway ride, low on power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 10 years ago. It was 7 years old with 30K. It is a second car for the family, mostly in snow in winter and to go to our cabin in summer. The car is a tank. We have only done routine maintenance and expected wear (tires, brakes, new exhaust system at 14 years). It keeps us dry, warm and comfortable, no matter what the road or weather conditions. If I could buy a new one I would, otherwise we will probably just keep this one on the road forever."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

GETS THE JOB DONE

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable. Low maintenance. Cheap parts"

Cons: "No passing power. Rough rider"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car with 185,000 miles on it. I'm a Salesman, so I drive a lot. No major problems so far. I did replace tires, struts and shocks when I first bought it. Replaced alternator, Battery too. Burns no oil. Just a great running little car. Drove it to New Mexico and back, over 3000 miles without any problems. Not very fast. Cops pay no attention to it. Like it's invisible. Handles ok, a bit rough on the ride.. I just like the fact that I turn the key and it starts. One of the coldest winters in Wisconsin history, and it has started every single day without fail. Sitting outside every night in below zero weather. Will drive it to the bitter end."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great Rav 4

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Realiable"

Cons: "Could have more cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been the owner of this car since May 1999 and have nothing but good things to say about this car. Mine is a 5 speed fully loaded and never any problems."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details