Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

love my rave

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,736

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gets me where I need to go, comfortable, reliable"

Cons: "needs a bit more power, but love it anyway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my rave4 for about 3 years, it is the best little car I have ever owned, had a few minor things done to it, but it is always dependable, when I got it, it had 94000 miles on it, I don't do much traveling but when I do its maybe about 30 to 60 miles with no problems. would love to update to a newer date , maybe a 2005."

A great vehicle

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Still gets 27mpg, use to be 30, Mo. went to corn."

Cons: "6 speed MANUAL, HAND crank windown :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original Owner and this vehicle came off the car show floor. Replaced all belts when 10 years old, changed oil/filter every 5000. First Rav-4 in Missouri and has it been a fantastic vehicle. After 18 1/2 years decided time for something new. Probably a big mistake. Last month finally had to replace something, the starter. Other than that, all original on this car except battery, tires. Guess that is all I ever replaced. Keeps going and going. Been one heck of a fantastic vehicle and still it great shape. No rust, seats/interior still fantastic shape!"

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 483,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, drives good, lasts good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1999 Toyota has nearly a half-million miles on her and she is not slowing down yet. Original motor, radiator replaced once and that was in April 2014, water pump replaced once. I have enjoyed this car so much. When you have a car payment, it's such a good thing to have no repair bills too. But to drive a paid-for car and still have very few repairs is a beautiful thing."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I have owned since new and it has been great car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pd 17,000 New 2000 pd by 2003. Reliable low cost"

Cons: "No AC in rear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has 225,000 miles, and has served me great. I bought with 28 miles on it, and have been only driver. Drove all over Florida and to Vermont many times. Replaced timing belt at 125,000 and at 200,000. I have never broke down. October 2013 when replaced timing belt; I also did brakes, tires, complete tune up and also radiator due to little rust which "might" have caused leak in future. I have put 25,000 miles on since then. I am just considering looking for new car since it has been 15 years. I do not NEED new car. I think I could put at least another 100,000 on it. I have almost all service records."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wise Investment!!!

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can't beat price with lack of needed repairs"

Cons: "Hmm?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Personal possessions have never meant much to me. One exception: My Rav4! This vehicle is 17 years old and I have had virtually no repairs. My list is this: battery/tire replacement and brake pads tightened. That's it! I simply keep oil and transmission fluid clean. It's not a fast or sporty-looking car. And the gas mileage is only fair. I did develop rust on back passenger-side wheel well as the protection shield came off (something I never noticed). Otherwise, this car is a charm for me! I suspect I'll own it another 17 years. Better built than my home."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals