Go

1998 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 299 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next

By on Tuesday, January 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great for everyone

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Nice car for all most all people. Kids like driving them, they are very cheap on gas. Great preformance all around. Only thing is most younger or might I say new drivers don't think it has enough power for them."

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, January 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

THE MOST RELIABILE SUV

By on Thursday, January 03, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 96 RAV4 that just hit 180,000. I got my RAV used in 2000 and I have had no issues with it except for the usual wear and tear. Only now do I have to replace my ORIGINAL transmission. I recommend replacing the clutch (if you have the 5spd manual) and the timing belt every 90K -- it's about that time for mine. Also, it does burn up oil like one owner has stated -- I religiously take mine in for an oil change every 3K and use a thicker grade oil (10W30). The best SUV for any city driver. This is a very reliable vehicle and wish Toyota would make a hybrid with TDI engine to make it even better."

By on Tuesday, January 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

The car of the century

By on Thursday, December 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"best car ever owned. small and compact but still has the power and capability to compareto almost any suv."

Unexciting but very dependable

By on Wednesday, December 19, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Bought it new in '98, now has 133,500 mi on it. Other than brakes, tires, timing belt etc. no real major repairs until recently - repl. EGR. It's a 4X4 with a 5sp stick and hard-to-find rear limited slip differential. OEM tires were junk and awful in snow, but with good winter tires, this thing just doesn't get stuck. Lots of room for toys with the back seats removed. It's a bit slow, but gets 20-27mpg, and I'm a leadfoot. Main complaints are bland styling, so-so seat comfort and a noisy, bouncy ride. If Toyota starts selling a clean diesel version in the US, I'm getting one."

its never broken down

By on Tuesday, December 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my car for 6 years now, it has never broken down on me. i got it with 103,000 miles and now it has over 150k and it still runs perfect. i love it."

Extremely pleased

By on Saturday, November 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I am the original owner of a 1998 RAV4 L 4WD and I couldn't be happier with the reliability and value I've received from this vehicle. I just rolled over to 100,000 miles and the only things I've replaced are the battery, timing belt and tires in 9 years of ownership. With the increasing cost of fuel since I purchased this vehicle, it's made it an even better value since I get about 30 MPG on the highway."

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a dependable little car/truck. With a little regular maintenance I've had no real problems. Its easy to park in small spaces because of size but doesn't feel small when driving."

ecellent vehicle

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car as a compromise between a truck, with plenty of cargo space, and something more feul efficient. It has not let me down. I removed the back seats because of my profession and have more than adequate space for both my work and camping, surfng, bike riding etc. At 30 miles to the gallon( highway) it is also the most efficient and reliable car I have ever owned."

By on Wednesday, October 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car

By on Monday, October 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought it used at 140K miles and it has run great, very economical, very comfortable, very fun for camping or cruising around town. I will get a RAV4 again if this one ever breaks down."

the RAV rocks!

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I absolutely love my 2000 RAV4! I bought it with 40K and now it has 110K, and it's been SO reliable! I've taken it on many long road trips and it's never given me a problem. Besides routine maintenance, I haven't needed to give it anything! I love the older versions b/c they're small, perfect for city living! it's absolutely the BEST vehicle ever! My only minor change would be the front aren't the most comfortable when driving LONG distances...more lumbar support or something, but that all I can thinkof. it really is wonderful! Lots of storage room inside, very versatile!"

By on Saturday, September 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, September 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Multi-use car

By on Sunday, September 02, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"This car has served me well. I haven't had to put much money into this car other than some major engine repairs after an accident but it still serves most of my needs. It is not a really fun car to drive but hauls most things."

The first vehicle I ever owned

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This was my first vehicle that I bought at a dealer ship and financed. It was also my first standard. I LOVED IT! The only reason I had to sell it was because I moved down south. If I had stayed put then I never would have gotten rid of it."

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"a breadbox on wheels. good on gas. no excietment here."

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement