Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 287 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

A very good car

By on Thursday, May 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A very reliable car - hot or cold weather"

Cons: "larger engine when AC is on - going up the hill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"RAV4 has been a great car for our family. As empty nesters we just have 1 too many cars, that's why we're selling it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It's great on gas and it is safe.

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas saver, safe"

Cons: "small car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its a small vehicle but the gas savings is worth it."

Love this car

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car ever"

Cons: "There are no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Rav 4 for 10 years and my son had it from 1998 (4 years). I love my car. It is dependable, has good gas mileage and several people have wanted to buy it. I don't have it up for sale. This car will take me until it doesn't want to take me anymore."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Reliable, safe and dependable transportation

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this auto at 52,600 miles and it remains a very reliable, safe and dependable transportation. I have used just two front seats last two years as I travel about the country. The roadability is stable and secure."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is one of those cars that does it all.

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, goes anywhere, convertible roof is fun"

Cons: "Ride a little harsh,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Despite the car's age, it still looks very good, with original paint and top. You can park it almost anywhere you can park a motorcycle, and car has been garaged since we got it 6 years ago. Like all RAVs, the rear seats fold out of the way increasing carrying capacity. The car, being scarce, still turns heads, and there are very few of them around here. THis had been a FL car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable.

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extreme reliability."

Cons: "The remote lock/unlock gadget broke after 2 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my RAV4 in 1999 and it has been the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. And I've owned many in the 45 years I've been driving. I also delivered mail for 9 years out of it and still had no problems. I had to take it into the shop in January of 2012 for some electrical problems. The clock went out but replacement fuses fixed my problems except for the clock."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my Rav4...

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its is fun to drive, holds tight to the road"

Cons: "my 2 shepherds grew to big for it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Rav 4 that in 2007 I bought a new 2007 Rav 4. I kept this one around for quite a while. Hard to part with...But I never drive it because I have the new one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love it!

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I didn't go shopping for a RAV4 but I love the one I've got! I bought it used and whoever had it before me took pretty good care of it and drove it lightly. I've had it about a year now and don't have any complaints. I went from a tiny compact to the RAV4 so I still haven't adjusted to the top-heavy feeling of turns - but that's just me. : )"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great in snow

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in 2007 with 113,000 miles on it. Had a few problems that I got fixed right away and after that it hasn't given me any problems until now. Have to replace the water"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought used and love it

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Seat belts didn't retract very well, but it's 23yr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used about 4 months ago. I love it! Very dependable, the heat works great, love the sun roof too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great visibility, easy to drive"

Cons: "Dents very easily, small problems too often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Basic, reliable, no-frills car that I have had since 1999. I am in the market for a new one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i will never buy another toyota

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "has a sunroof and power windows and a good 4wd"

Cons: "the motor and transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"it blows oil the transmission jumps out of 5th gear and jus cheaply made im goin back to american will never buy another toyota and advise others not to either"

Great ,inexpensive ride and always looks good

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Have gotten my money's worth and then some."

Cons: "Not good on icy roads. I really have to slow down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car since 2001 and have used it around the farm to pull, haul and drive to work."

Dependable!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive."

Cons: "Cabin noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever owned. Have only had to do the regular maintenance, no major defects. Has some cabin noise, but fun to drive. Turns on a dime. Hope my next RAV is as good as the 1996!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Two Rav4s

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good in snow"

Cons: "one cup holder, little rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved my first Rav4 (1996) so much that when it was totaled I only wanted another one. I ended up with an even nicer one- 1997, L series, upgrades, etc. I LOVE this car. People looking for a smooth ride should look elsewhere. Fun to drive, great in snow and rain, great on bumpy roads, but compared to a sedan the ride is rough. It is a shame the new Ravs are different."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

10 Years of Ownership

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, highly reliable"

Cons: "no cd player. back seats won't fold flat / remove"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got a pretty good deal on my Rav 4 in 2002, and have been driving ever since. Consistently gets 25 - 27 mpg. Uses about 1/2 a quart of oil between oil changes. Finally had the clutch replaced at 212K miles. The engine is a bit on the noisy side, and the interior can be a bit cramped with 4 adults in it. Other than that, it's been an outstanding vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle made so far!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "not much leg room in the back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it slightly used 12 years ago. This vehicle has never failed to start. Just with minimal maintenance,it has provided an awesome service for several years. Also a good gas saver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Talk about low maintenance!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great long term value for a small suv."

Cons: "There is quite a bit of road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Rav4 is awesome. I have done my best to keep the scheduled maintenance done and I have had very, very little maintenance on this 11 year old car. I love the size - easy to park.I don't even have to bend over to get the groceries out of the back. What more could you ask for? The only two negatives are, the back seat is a little small. Average size adults may be uncomfortable on a long ride. However perfect for children or petite adults. Also there is quite a bit of road noise.Those two negatives are it. Everything else about this car is perfect. I normally get nervous in snow or ice, but not in my Rav4."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, loaded and fun to drive."

Cons: "One cup holder and little leg room in back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very, very please with my 1997 RAV4. I love this car. It has been so, so reliable. It is a 1997 and I am still driving it with little repairs. I do oil change and regular maintenance which, of course, adds to the reliability of this Toyota. This Toyota definitely adds to the Toyota reputation of their cars being on the road for 20 years."

I Love My Rav4

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this little car, very reliable. I will sad when I have to let it finally go..."

Love my new-used Rave 4

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just got this vehicle about a month ago. So far I love it and it is exactly what I have been looking for. Love the color and the interior.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful Car!!

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "Very few cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for several years and have only had minor repairs to make. This car is very dependable and has not let me down. Toyota makes a great family car."

best car i've owned in so long

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, no problems when i got it from the second owner at 112k, although it does have kind of a bumpy ride at first and you notice the exterior noises. the car is flawless! the paint has minimal wear and it runs with no problems."

Great SUV!

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great little SUV that runs forever and mechanically haven't had to replace anything that went out, just maintenance."

Incredible vehicle -- best 2WD ever.

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,324

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Rear cup holders are inconvenient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my RAV4 new in October 1999. As of December 2012 it has over 157,000 miles, and other than routine maintenance, the only work it has needed is a new compressor for the air conditioner and a water pump"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals