Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great in snow

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car in 2007 with 113,000 miles on it. Had a few problems that I got fixed right away and after that it hasn't given me any problems until now. Have to replace the water"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought used and love it

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Seat belts didn't retract very well, but it's 23yr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used about 4 months ago. I love it! Very dependable, the heat works great, love the sun roof too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great visibility, easy to drive"

Cons: "Dents very easily, small problems too often"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Basic, reliable, no-frills car that I have had since 1999. I am in the market for a new one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i will never buy another toyota

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "has a sunroof and power windows and a good 4wd"

Cons: "the motor and transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"it blows oil the transmission jumps out of 5th gear and jus cheaply made im goin back to american will never buy another toyota and advise others not to either"

Great ,inexpensive ride and always looks good

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Have gotten my money's worth and then some."

Cons: "Not good on icy roads. I really have to slow down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car since 2001 and have used it around the farm to pull, haul and drive to work."

Dependable!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun to drive."

Cons: "Cabin noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever owned. Have only had to do the regular maintenance, no major defects. Has some cabin noise, but fun to drive. Turns on a dime. Hope my next RAV is as good as the 1996!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Two Rav4s

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good in snow"

Cons: "one cup holder, little rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved my first Rav4 (1996) so much that when it was totaled I only wanted another one. I ended up with an even nicer one- 1997, L series, upgrades, etc. I LOVE this car. People looking for a smooth ride should look elsewhere. Fun to drive, great in snow and rain, great on bumpy roads, but compared to a sedan the ride is rough. It is a shame the new Ravs are different."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

10 Years of Ownership

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, highly reliable"

Cons: "no cd player. back seats won't fold flat / remove"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got a pretty good deal on my Rav 4 in 2002, and have been driving ever since. Consistently gets 25 - 27 mpg. Uses about 1/2 a quart of oil between oil changes. Finally had the clutch replaced at 212K miles. The engine is a bit on the noisy side, and the interior can be a bit cramped with 4 adults in it. Other than that, it's been an outstanding vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle made so far!

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "not much leg room in the back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it slightly used 12 years ago. This vehicle has never failed to start. Just with minimal maintenance,it has provided an awesome service for several years. Also a good gas saver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Talk about low maintenance!

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great long term value for a small suv."

Cons: "There is quite a bit of road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Toyota Rav4 is awesome. I have done my best to keep the scheduled maintenance done and I have had very, very little maintenance on this 11 year old car. I love the size - easy to park.I don't even have to bend over to get the groceries out of the back. What more could you ask for? The only two negatives are, the back seat is a little small. Average size adults may be uncomfortable on a long ride. However perfect for children or petite adults. Also there is quite a bit of road noise.Those two negatives are it. Everything else about this car is perfect. I normally get nervous in snow or ice, but not in my Rav4."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, loaded and fun to drive."

Cons: "One cup holder and little leg room in back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very, very please with my 1997 RAV4. I love this car. It has been so, so reliable. It is a 1997 and I am still driving it with little repairs. I do oil change and regular maintenance which, of course, adds to the reliability of this Toyota. This Toyota definitely adds to the Toyota reputation of their cars being on the road for 20 years."

I Love My Rav4

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this little car, very reliable. I will sad when I have to let it finally go..."

Love my new-used Rave 4

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just got this vehicle about a month ago. So far I love it and it is exactly what I have been looking for. Love the color and the interior.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful Car!!

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Cons: "Very few cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for several years and have only had minor repairs to make. This car is very dependable and has not let me down. Toyota makes a great family car."

best car i've owned in so long

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car, no problems when i got it from the second owner at 112k, although it does have kind of a bumpy ride at first and you notice the exterior noises. the car is flawless! the paint has minimal wear and it runs with no problems."

Great SUV!

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great little SUV that runs forever and mechanically haven't had to replace anything that went out, just maintenance."

Incredible vehicle -- best 2WD ever.

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,324

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Rear cup holders are inconvenient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my RAV4 new in October 1999. As of December 2012 it has over 157,000 miles, and other than routine maintenance, the only work it has needed is a new compressor for the air conditioner and a water pump"

Great run-around car!

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,916

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MaintenanceFree, Cute, held value, comfy, reliable"

Cons: "Bad Wind noise! No decent drink holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like that so much is manual; no power controls to wear out. Interior make 2 beds; can haul a lot, especially back to front; Driver Height and overall design gives excellent vision."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Most reliable car ever!"

Cons: "Wish it had a little more kick!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Probably spent about $1,200.00 in repairs in 13 years! I don't really want to part with it, but I promised my nephew. So it's time for the new model."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I ever owned.

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive"

Cons: "gas milage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never had a problem with this SUV, and it flys through the snow. Best car I ever owned, Gas milage of 20 miles per gallon the way I drive."

great car-would recommend to anyone

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,075

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had this car for 13 1/2 years and it has been the best car-minimal mechanical repairs--would get a Toyota again"

My favorite car

By on Wednesday, December 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, inexpensive to operate, fun to drive"

Cons: "slower to build up speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been an exceptional vehicle for us. Inexpensive to operate, very dependable and really fun to drive. We especially like the ease of removing our groceries from the back, we just slide them out. No picking up out of the trunk. Definetly will buy another RAV4."

VERY GOOD AND RELIABLE CAR

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"AMAZING"

Now at 255K, planning to run it another 100K.

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "AWD, 4 cylinder, 23mpg overall, great utility"

Cons: "Ohio roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gotta love it !"

best vehicle ever!

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,760

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"POSITIVE: Reliability and LOW maintenance costs. Have owned RAV4 for 11 years with NO major maint probs. I think oil change every 3 months is key, but it is super reliable. Currently gets about 22 mpg (city driving). Though it's an SUV, so you sit a little higher, it is a small-car sized, great for squeezing into tight parking spaces. Ample cargo area can be expanded by folding down rear seats. Full-sized spare tire easily accessible on rear door. NEGATIVE: Passenger area is probably not comfortable for tall/large people. Turning radius is not great and it drives like a jeep (feels tippy until you get used to it). Only one cup holder which is located btwn front seats near hand brake; I have knocked drinks over w/my elbow many times."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details