Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1997 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 281 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

Best Car Ever

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependability, durability, appearance, performance"

Cons: "Replaced water pump twice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've put a little money in it but after 16 years it still looks great, no body rust ever, repairs have been only wear and tear items. Goes anywhere in snow and ice. Interior as good as day I bought it except normal wear on carpets. Still 22 23 mpg as when new. 192000 miles and will definitely make it to a quarter million. Still get compliments from strangers and those who know the car still make me offers to buy it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Has been maintained by a Toyota specialist.

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Les Schwabb tires and NEW Brakes by L.S."

Cons: "Driver side only sun visor. Worked for us."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Driven about 7,500 miles per year since we purchased the vehicle in 2007 from the original buyer. The Rav 4 is a reliable all wheel drive car that has NEW FRONT Brakes, a moon roof, electric windows and mirrors and has a tow package which was rarely used but, is handy if it is needed. It has a versatile roof rack, and spare tire holder mounted on the rear day, providing more storage in the back cargo area. Seats 4 comfortably and seat belts 5 passengers if the one in the middle is smaller. (smile) Our son took a teaching job in another country and won't be home for a few years, so we are selling it with the hopes that it will meet the needs of another driver who will appreciate the TLC it has been given over the years. The cloth seats, floor mats front, back, and rear compartment are in great shape and the radio, heater, AC all work great."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, cute,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I hate to sell this vehicle. It has been totally great. I replaced the cruise control, got new shocks, But nothing major. I hope I am this lucky with my next car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great size vehicle for city/burb living"

Cons: "No knee room in backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Rav brand new in 1998 & have enjoyed it completely. It runs great and fun to drive. It handles very well on both highway and city driving. I have only taken short road trips (<300 miles). I've mostly used it for day to day purposes and living in Chicago, it's gotten its fair share of city living use. I has also performed great in the winter with heavy snow. The front seats are comfortable for most people. I'm 5'10" so I have never had an issue with knee room. However, the back seats don't have the greatest knee room unless the front seats are moved forward. It also has plenty of interior room to haul stuff with the backseats folded down. I've used it to move twice and I shop at Sam's Club and sometimes can't believe the amount of stuff I can cram into it. I wouldn't be surprised if I had it for another 5-10 years, but would happily buy another brand new one without hesitation."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great little SUV!

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "rugged, sits high, fun, decent 4X mileage"

Cons: "rough highway ride, low on power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 10 years ago. It was 7 years old with 30K. It is a second car for the family, mostly in snow in winter and to go to our cabin in summer. The car is a tank. We have only done routine maintenance and expected wear (tires, brakes, new exhaust system at 14 years). It keeps us dry, warm and comfortable, no matter what the road or weather conditions. If I could buy a new one I would, otherwise we will probably just keep this one on the road forever."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals