Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1997 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 282 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 483,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks good, drives good, lasts good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1999 Toyota has nearly a half-million miles on her and she is not slowing down yet. Original motor, radiator replaced once and that was in April 2014, water pump replaced once. I have enjoyed this car so much. When you have a car payment, it's such a good thing to have no repair bills too. But to drive a paid-for car and still have very few repairs is a beautiful thing."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I have owned since new and it has been great car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Pd 17,000 New 2000 pd by 2003. Reliable low cost"

Cons: "No AC in rear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has 225,000 miles, and has served me great. I bought with 28 miles on it, and have been only driver. Drove all over Florida and to Vermont many times. Replaced timing belt at 125,000 and at 200,000. I have never broke down. October 2013 when replaced timing belt; I also did brakes, tires, complete tune up and also radiator due to little rust which "might" have caused leak in future. I have put 25,000 miles on since then. I am just considering looking for new car since it has been 15 years. I do not NEED new car. I think I could put at least another 100,000 on it. I have almost all service records."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Wise Investment!!!

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can't beat price with lack of needed repairs"

Cons: "Hmm?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Personal possessions have never meant much to me. One exception: My Rav4! This vehicle is 17 years old and I have had virtually no repairs. My list is this: battery/tire replacement and brake pads tightened. That's it! I simply keep oil and transmission fluid clean. It's not a fast or sporty-looking car. And the gas mileage is only fair. I did develop rust on back passenger-side wheel well as the protection shield came off (something I never noticed). Otherwise, this car is a charm for me! I suspect I'll own it another 17 years. Better built than my home."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Never dissapoints!

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "bullet proof, good on gas, 4x4,"

Cons: "not very comfortable for tall people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. I bought it used 7 years ago and it is still running strong. I have done everything I can to make this car quit and it just doesn't. Even after my accident with an f150 In 2010 everything still works and the the only damage was cosmetic. We use this car as a field vehicle and the four wheel drive makes getting through any terrain easy. The 5 speed, 2.0 inline four cylinder combo usually allows me to get 25-28 mpg (not always nicely driven). I used to be a domestic only guy but after owning my rav 4 Toyota is definitely a way to go. True quality!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car I have ever purchased

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I brought from private party and got a good price"

Cons: "No arm rests on front seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1998 RAV4 was purchased in 2000 with 18,000 miles; now it has 205,500 with original engine and trans; has only required normal maint. I will buy another RAV4 when this one drops dead; my goal is 300,000 miles. GO GET ONE!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals