Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1996 Toyota RAV4

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 280 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Wise Investment!!!

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can't beat price with lack of needed repairs"

Cons: "Hmm?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Personal possessions have never meant much to me. One exception: My Rav4! This vehicle is 17 years old and I have had virtually no repairs. My list is this: battery/tire replacement and brake pads tightened. That's it! I simply keep oil and transmission fluid clean. It's not a fast or sporty-looking car. And the gas mileage is only fair. I did develop rust on back passenger-side wheel well as the protection shield came off (something I never noticed). Otherwise, this car is a charm for me! I suspect I'll own it another 17 years. Better built than my home."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Never dissapoints!

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "bullet proof, good on gas, 4x4,"

Cons: "not very comfortable for tall people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. I bought it used 7 years ago and it is still running strong. I have done everything I can to make this car quit and it just doesn't. Even after my accident with an f150 In 2010 everything still works and the the only damage was cosmetic. We use this car as a field vehicle and the four wheel drive makes getting through any terrain easy. The 5 speed, 2.0 inline four cylinder combo usually allows me to get 25-28 mpg (not always nicely driven). I used to be a domestic only guy but after owning my rav 4 Toyota is definitely a way to go. True quality!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car I have ever purchased

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I brought from private party and got a good price"

Cons: "No arm rests on front seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1998 RAV4 was purchased in 2000 with 18,000 miles; now it has 205,500 with original engine and trans; has only required normal maint. I will buy another RAV4 when this one drops dead; my goal is 300,000 miles. GO GET ONE!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car for price."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used in 2000 with 30,000 miles. 14 years later and driven by all my children still runs great. Never broke down only regular maintenance, very reliable."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependability, durability, appearance, performance"

Cons: "Replaced water pump twice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've put a little money in it but after 16 years it still looks great, no body rust ever, repairs have been only wear and tear items. Goes anywhere in snow and ice. Interior as good as day I bought it except normal wear on carpets. Still 22 23 mpg as when new. 192000 miles and will definitely make it to a quarter million. Still get compliments from strangers and those who know the car still make me offers to buy it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota RAV4 near Honolulu. See local deals