Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Cars
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Toyota Prius Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $22,717 - $23,406.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,010

Fair Purchase Price $23,049
Fair Market Range ($22,717 - $23,406)

Invoice $23,558
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.9 of 10

10/7.9

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 298 Ratings for the 2010 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Love it. Wife bought one 10 months later.

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It had some interior vibrations and rattles that I fixed after checking on the internet for the fix. It seems to be a common problem. The car is very roomy in the rear and the front. My friend who is 285 lbs. and 6 ft. 2 inches fits in it nicely. He can't fit into his sister-in-laws full size Volvo."

Have been in love with this car!

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Radar Cruse Control, Auto Parking, Toyota quality"

Cons: "Seems to always be in the way of other traffic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just the fact alone I don't have to go to the gas station all the time is great! Actually I love my Toyota. Although I was in my late forties, I bought the car, Prius! Boy am I glad I did. Have only had one instance of complete failure. Friday bight I unloaded the trunk, backed into the garage. When I went to the car Monday morning, IT WAS DEAD .... The Hybrid battery was fine. Fully charged. There is a small 12volt Battery in the trunk to start the computer. What did I do, Backed in garage Friday night. No power to even open trunk, as it is also electric. Could not pull car out , as garage is at a 90 degrees from driveway. Called Toyota Care, they were able to get me up in running in no time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bad driver seat and can't handle wind gusts

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Go gas mileage and reliablle"

Cons: "Expensive car, wayyyyyyyyy expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"oh my bum! I drive 100 miles a day and the 2010 has a bad driver seat for backs and bums. I have rented the 2011. 2012 and 2013. So I know what I am talking about. As for driving in the wind - the higher the wind the lower you drive"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Bad driver seat and can't handle wind gusts

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Go gas mileage and reliablle"

Cons: "Expensive car, wayyyyyyyyy expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"oh my bum! I drive 100 miles a day and the 2010 has a bad driver seat for backs and bums. I have rented the 2011. 2012 and 2013. So I know what I am talking about. As for driving in the wind - the higher the wind the lower you drive"

Bad driver seat and can't handle wind gusts

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Go gas mileage and reliablle"

Cons: "Expensive car, wayyyyyyyyy expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"oh my bum! I drive 100 miles a day and the 2010 has a bad driver seat for backs and bums. I have rented the 2011. 2012 and 2013. So I know what I am talking about. As for driving in the wind - the higher the wind the lower you drive"

Bad driver seat and can't handle wind gusts

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Go gas mileage and reliablle"

Cons: "Expensive car, wayyyyyyyyy expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"oh my bum! I drive 100 miles a day and the 2010 has a bad driver seat for backs and bums. I have rented the 2011. 2012 and 2013. So I know what I am talking about. As for driving in the wind - the higher the wind the lower you drive"

Solid car - very efficient and reliable

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a good car, averaging just over 50 MPG with no obvious mechanical problems after two years. Only gripes are that it is boring to drive and makes a fair amount of road noise."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle - great mileage

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage, great appointments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"to get the most out of Prius' mileage, you need to learn its 'tricks'. Easiest and most effective is 'pulsing and coasting'. Accelerating to a desired speed, perhaps a little higher, then letting off the accelerator until the gas engine shuts, then, pressing on the accelerator just below the midpoint and below the gas engine start threshold. The electric motor should be able to maintain the speed with very slight speed loss. Please do not do this in traffic with other vehicles around you. Using this technique, you will maximize mileage and minimize gas engine use / wear. This may seem awkward, but it works."

Exceeded my expectations

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Saves tons of money on fuel."

Cons: "Not a race car. Weak acceleration."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I needed a car for long trips to work and back everyday. This car exceeded expectations by being very fuel efficient. I could get over 60mpg while cruising at 48mph. My car has 50.3 miles per gallon average over it's life time of driving 35,000 miles. So, far compared to my previous car 18mpg Mercury Cougar, I've already saved over $6000 in gas alone."

ECONOMICAL BUT LOUD AND NOT VERY COMFORTABLE

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "TOYOTA RELIABILITY"

Cons: "LOUD, UNCOMFORTABLE, NO POWER, BORING TO DRIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Pretty good mpg (42 overall) but a lot of road noise, which gets old after a couple of hours. Seats are OK but no comfortable places to rest your elbows, making for an uncomfortable trip taking machine. The power in the Prius is very disappointing. I recent drove a Lincoln MKZ that got 40+ mpg and launched like a rocket. I will probably be selling my Prius and putting the money into a better car that gets comparable mpg but is fun to drive, much quieter, and more comfortable for longer trips. Consider your better options before plopping down hard earned money on a Prius. There are many options these days in the 30+ and 40+ mpg categories which are much more fun to drive and offer excellent safety and reliability. Real mpg for everyday driving in this car is about 40...just so you know that the 50+ claimers are trying very hard to get those numbers, which are not good examples of normal driving styles."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Pleasantly surprised

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Vehicle exceded my expedations"

Can't go wrong with a Prius

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Snappy, overall pricing, comfort, quality"

Cons: "Comfort, Paint, Low Bumpers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wanted to but a Prius since it came out, but the driving experience just wasn't there (or looks). Finally after waiting for the right one, we just went with the '11 and no complaints, everything so far is great. The only issues we have is that the paint quality is not that great, easily scratches out of nothing, but we learnt to live with it. front and back inside and out everything is really good quality and aside from regular maintenance we haven't had any mechanical or electrical issues come up. MPG is around 48, but if you drive it a bit snappy you'll get more towards 42mpg. My best has been 59, but that's driving really trying to get the most out of it and not in a hurry. Comfortable ride, a bit noisy and for really long drives not the best seats (5+ hrs) Really recommend this car, we wish we would've done it sooner, but the previous models just didn't feel natural, this new Prius drives way better and it seems like it'll go forever."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fabulous Fuel Economy and ultra low emissions.

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Efficient and fun driving!"

Cons: "Noisy on some highways. Reg braking issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a roomy comfortable car for four adults plus extra items in the hatchback. I have experienced up to 65 mpg driving the 23 miles one way to work. Average of all driving is about 46 mpg. More get up a go than you might think from such high efficiency. I love this car which is why my wife and I both have one. Only issues are some highway road noise and the regenerative braking system which sometimes on slow speed bumpy stops does not engage as fast as I would prefer. We also had a van and now a nice F150 but we will always take the Prius if we can fit all of our gear/luggage in the car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2nd prius, As good as it gets

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good ride, good response and handling, exellent!"

Cons: "Some road noise. Sitting low to the ground."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not too good if you can;t stand driving from Wa to CA on 22 gallons of reg. Lots of room for luggage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Waste of money!

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "good mpg"

Cons: "uncomfortable and feels cheaply built"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Good car for running around town but totally worthless for taking longer trips if you want to be comfortable and feel safe. The mpg is good, exterior design is somewhat nice, but comfort and quality leave something to be desired. Doors sound like empty pop cans when shutting them. Would recommend for very short trips but not for anything that requires more than 30 minutes to an hour of travel time. There are several other options available now that offer much better quality and comfort with similar mpg."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Noisy

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can get 50+ mpg on a good day."

Cons: "Loud tire bounce, MPG is lower in the winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Too much road noise from tire bounce. MPG is lower in the winer (40 to 45 MPG). I love technology and this car connects to my cell phone and streams music from my iPod via Bluetooth or USB. The Prius 2 doesn't include a GPS but it has a touch screen radio. With the USB connection that song title and album cover is displayed on the touch screen. The instrument panel displays an icon of the car and shows the flow of electrical current as you drive. The 2012 Prius 2 doesn't include a backup camera but I was able to install an aftermarket camera. The wiring harness was under the headliner and the camera cable was a short distance from the rear hatch. The camera cost me $20 and probably would cost Toyota less than $5, why didn't they just include the camera? On a 300 mile trip from Chicago to Dayton Ohio, it got 53 MPG."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

this car is great we are selling to down size

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drives very good great gas milage stored in side"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Way too much road noise

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable driving, responsive"

Cons: "Noisy Rear brakes replaced too soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really like this car except that the road noise is so bad the radio has to be turned up high. Even without the radio on, it can be difficult to have a conversation due to the noise. Also, the rear brakes needed to be replaced at about 55000 miles. I read a review that this has been a problem with this year Prius. I am very disappointed in a Toyota product that has this problem. About $450 to replace them. Everyone I've talked to has said the front brakes do all the work so no one knows why the back brakes need replacing and the front brakes are like new."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent car has rain guards too kept in garage

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this car to my best friend a beautiful barcenlona red with tan leather heated seats and everything you would ever need or want in a car plus 51 miles per gal"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A very economical & reliable car.

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, very pleased. My only negatives are: hard to see out the back window & the sides in the rear; the road noise is pretty loud - especially on a concrete highway. The gas mileage is really not as good as the trip computer says. Mine has been about 3 - 4 mpg less than the trip computer. Overall mpg - 46 - 48. But it's still better than other cars. The seats are pretty comfortable even on long trips."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Like a lot, but sound problems

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Reliable, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Noisy on highway; sound system went out on us."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"We have enjoyed our 2010 Prius - the second we have owned. Great gas mileage, reliable. However, it seems quite noisy on the freeway, to the point we are seeking a quieter next car. Also, the CD player gave out before 50,000 miles. Cost to replace with a rebuilt system: $1200. Or $2000 for a new system. Far too much."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The Prius is a great value, bigger than you think

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "actually fun to drive"

Cons: "road noise, small footprint.big cars will push you"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are looking for an efficient ride, Prius will deliver. Upgrade it and you have all the features of the luxury cars except road noise. the leather is not as fancy, etc. etc. Nav, Sat radio, remote a/c, rooftop solar and more. the mileage is the real key.....the 2011 was rated at 51mpg.......my first tank was 53.7.........if you really pooch it you can do much better (except the honking horns behind you as you coast along) I would buy another in a minute."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car on the road today

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fair price, great mileage, stylish"

Cons: "not for jackrabbits"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the Prius is the best car on the road in my opinion. I'm on my second one and you don't have to sacrifice creature comforts to drive one. Once you get past the fact that the car is not a sports car and realize that you can get over 50mpg by watiching how you drive, you will quickly be driving with a very light foot to maximize your mileage and that becomes a game you play with each new tank of gas. I'll never go back to a gas engine car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very economy

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good on gas"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice Car

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent mileage, good on snow and ice"

Cons: "Tailgaters and haters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice car, drives great year around and reliable. Gets better mileage than claimed. I've gotten as high as 65 mpg in the city and 55 on the highway (in the summer). Fuel formulations are different in the winter and it gets about 10% less mileage then. The only problem I have is that I hate being tailgated and the Prius attracts that kind of thing, even if you are speeding. The car has plenty of power and will go over 100 with ease."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.