Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2011 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 313 Ratings for the 2010 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 55 56 57 ... 63 | Next

Something to save BIG BUCKS on fuel

By on Thursday, April 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"All the way from it's debut in Japan back in 1997 as the world's first comercially avavilable hybrid vehicle, better mind you, with fuel costs at it's 70's in cents for a regular pump here in Puerto Rico, i say, that this car, can save you more than $120 a month in fuel, so there is no constant refueling in a bi-weekly basis"

Love it

By on Tuesday, March 09, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Just got my car couple days ago and drove it 150 miles already and my gas line barely budged from full wow amazing on gas!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, February 02, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great for mileage and comfort. Hard to get a good view out rear window for backing due to split rear hatch window."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Over-Hyped and Over-Priced for what you get !!

By on Monday, February 01, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I would recommend this Vehicle only and if only you forget everything in a car and focus on just one feature: MILES PER GALLON - MPG. Here are the main issues after about 4,700 miles. MPG steadily going down. It started at around 50 to 51 mpg average. Highest I registered over 108 miles once was 54.6mpg with super conservative driving on flat freeways. Was never able to duplicate this mpg since then. It is impossible to maintain over 51 mpg on a regular basis in Southern California where you have to keep up with the freeway traffic. Over the summer I was averaging around 50.6 mpg. In the last two months I am averaging around 46 to 47 mpg, (Lower than EPA estimates of 48 to 50 mpg) My driving habits have not changed, My routes have not changed and the brand of gasoline is the same. Just the weather is cooler but not cold near 50 F. During the First month my range on a tankful of gasoline was between 580 to 590 miles (about 12 gallons) On my last fill up my on board computer estimated range has dropped to 530 miles. The car makes creeking sounds from the rear plastic panels when I slow down to park. This is unacceptable for a vehicle priced over $23K. It started making this noise from day one. I consider this a defect not a feature. Noise is inconsistent. Other rattles in plastic panels may come and go. The car does not feel steady, solid and reassuring on the freeway. Steering feedback is vague. I feel every major bump, and the car is rather noisy over 60 mph. In Economy Mode you will always feel the need for more power. However when you Press the Power Mode, the car flies and you will reach 80 mph rather quickly at the expense of lower mpg. I have kept it on ECO mode over 90% of the time. You can also drive the car in Non Eco and Non Power Mode, This is called "Regular Mode" and it has decent power The engine does rev up and get noisy on Power Mode acceleration, however it is not annoying. The Electric Vehicle Mode (EV mode) is a complete joke. The car will kick out of EV Mode under 18 mph within 500 feet. So with the present Battery Pack, the EV mode is just a marketing Ploy. The new hybrid Lexus 250H has the same EV Mode. The Car has plenty of room front and rear, limited luggage space under the hatch. Visibility is limited and annoying when changing lanes, especially with all the seat head rests on the passenger seat and the rear seats. The rear view mirror shows the dividing rear spoiler at all times. The rear spoiler should have been color matched with the rest of the vehicle as in the 2009 Prius. Instead, Toyota used a black plastic spoiler on all the 2010 models. This ruins the elegant lines and style of the car. The middle Console divider takes too much space and limits knee room for the driver. The Seat contour is below average and does not quite feel right no matter what position I set the height or the back of the seat. Steering wheel adjustments are very useful The Green uni-Color or monochrome Dashboard display is a real disappointment. It shows a lack of creativity on the part of Toyota engineers when it comes to dashboards. You can't distinguish mpg meter from Fuel level based on color. When you run low on fuel, no red light comes on and no recurring sound reminders are heard. The HYBRID display portion is user unfriendly and confusing to navigate through. It works as a rollodex that moves only forward from one display to another. Interior Cloth material is subpar and does not appear snuggly fit around the seats Creeses appear here and there, be prepared to use seat covers. The 2009 PRIUS Cloth feels of higher quality than the 2010. I've compared the mpg with a friend's 2009 PRIUS. The latter is averaging between 45 and 46 mpg. Mileage improvement over the 2009 Prius is minimal, however the 2010 has much more torque for acceleration. The annoying hybrid sounds of the 2009 Prius have almost disappeared in the 2010 model. They are still there, but much less frequent and less intrusive. I analyzed the numbers based on $3 gasoline per gallon and 15,000 miles of driving per year. Compared to a Toyota Matrix that can be purchased at a reasonable discount below MSRP, you have to drive the PRIUS II eight to nine years before you recoup the extra cost in gasoline savings over the lower Price of the Toyota Matrix at 29mpg vs the supposed 50mpg for the Prius. During this period you have to hope that your Hybrid Battery Does actually Fail in order for it to be replaced under the 10 Year Warranty in California. If it fails on the 11th Year, then you'll have to pony up another $2,800 to replace the battery pack. In this case all your gasoline savings vanish in thin air. In comparison, I drove the Ford Fusion Hybrid and was impressed how solid and steady it felt on the freeway. It drove no differrent than any other regular car. The colorful dashboard display feedback is much more useful than what you see in the PRIUS. I was unwilling to pay over 28K for the FUSION to get around 34mpg. The PRIUS II is a basic imperfect transportation vehicle with the bare necessities. Purchasing the higher Package levels from $26k to $35K would be a waste of money in my opinion. Compared to a manual five speed transmission vehicle, the PRIUS is not a fun vehicle to drive. The car is in charge , The computer decides how the hybrid system functions. You won't see an RPM meter and you won't even see the coolant temperature gage. So I guess I won't know if it is overheating until the computer decides to shut down the engine. Hello AAA !!"

72 people out of 83 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, January 21, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Very good car but has a few deficiencies: 1. Gas mileage very good, but not as advertised(got 45mpg on highway) 2. Car is noisy at speeds over 60 mph, even with engine turned off. Probably wind or road noise, but more insulation would have helped. 3. The car notices every little bump in the road. 4. The visor cannot be turned down when wearing gloves in the winter. (a small bend in the corner of the visor would have cost nothing and would have worked. 5. No compass (or if it has one, I still haven't found it.)"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 55 56 57 ... 63 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details