Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 816 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

drive 80% Hwy 20 City, org battery, 48-50+mpg

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for commuting, good power"

Cons: "requires reprogramming over 299K od"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"city 50+mpg, live in hill county brings to 49 overall.2005 model, great options with base model. Love it...."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

VERY COMFORTABLE, LARGE HEADROOM, PEPPY, CUTE

By on Tuesday, April 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT FOR EVERYDAY DRIVE. GOOD FUEL ECONOMY."

Cons: "SMALL, DON'T FEEL AS SAFE AS IN A LARGER CAR."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"HAVE OWNED SINCE NEW. MOST EXPENSIVE REPAIR WAS THE AC EVAPORATOR. HYBRID BATTERY WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Prius then and now.

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable/smart/navigation/back up camera awesome"

Cons: "in rain, sometimes, the car has odd traction"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is nine years old. I have done the required oil change and maintenance and this car never cost me one dime more. 41 miles to the gallon, in L.A. traffic and lots of city driving. This car is so reliable, I love it. I will be getting another one soon."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Toyota model of the 11 I have bought

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 11th Toyota purchased. I have basically bought every model Toyota made. I love my Prius and will replace it with another one. I am only considering selling it due to high mileage. It has been maintenance free. I change the oil every 3,000 miles and filters, when needed, as well as tires."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car, really gets 45 mpg

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "glad and proud to support this technology"

Cons: "seats are not good for long drives,high price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My only car, it's bee reliable except for poor tires. I'm only selling due to a desire to get a luxury hybrid. The seats are not too comfortable on long drives. Easy to drive, turn, park. I'm giving my 2008 to my niece because I feel it's safe, reliable, and a perfect "used car.""

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Owned this car the longest I have ever had a car.

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, good price, low maintenance, roomy"

Cons: "Radio, seat comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great quality for the price. Excellent gas mileage and has surprised me in the tough Northern Vermont weather. It sits outside in all temps and weather from 90 degrees to a -30 and it starts and runs just fine. I just have to remember that I do not have the clearance of some cars and have to think about getting up my hill and dirt road in snow quicker or after being plowed. Travel long distance well. Not a real comfy seat though and the radio is not great for sure! Hybrid technology has had zero problems. Very low maintenance."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Beast "transportation device" I've ever owned

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the car new; it's been great. Got the touring version with leather. Not a thrill to drive, but roomy inside and very reliable. Hatchback style is versatile. Mileage has been great: 44-53 depending on weather and town vs. highway. What could be better? Seats are only moderately comfortable, and their height isn't adjustable. Keyless locking and starting are pluses. In 7 years I've gotten a new set of tires and replaced the (regular) battery. That's it! My next car may well be a Camry or Accord hybrid - for the extra room and power. What I really want is a hybrid, CRV, RAV4, or Ford small SUV, if they existed, which they don't."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car have too many"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car too many vehicles"

would definitely buy another

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel mpg. Reliability."

Cons: "Rougher ride at times. Road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new with a few reservations. Probably the best car ever. Was NEVER in the shop for anything but oil changes and new tires in over 106k miles. Goes like a trooper. Not particularly smooth ride for real long distances, but it's ok. Many long trips. Just got out more often.Gas milage is absolutely GREAT. Still getting at, and over, 50 MPG in and out of town."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Car All Around Best Toyota Ever Made —

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "bluetooth does not add contacts or multimedia play"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car overall requires very little maintenance and the gas mileage is awesome we average between 39.1 to 50 MPG. Car requires oil changes just like any other car. You don't have to plug it in the battery charges when you go down hill or just sitting at a light. The technology and research that went into this car to get it right is just astounding!!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In the long run, didnt save anything

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Dead Hybrid Battery

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks great, 50 mpg"

Cons: "Seats have no support, lots of road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you buy a Prius, plan on selling it before the battery warranty expires because there's a good chance the battery will fail shortly there after. I bought the (six year old) car for $11,500 with 89,000 miles and 2 years later at 125,000 the battery died. Just sold it for $5500. Cost to operate the car was actually more than any other vehicle when you consider the depreciation. Toyota still denies that battery failure is very common, when in fact it is VERY common between 100-120,000 miles. I regret not buying a Corolla, the gas mileage is just a bit lower."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever will never drive any other

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, low gas mileage very stylish, proud"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

"my third Toyota and the best by far. I love the mileage, i get the same with this as I did with the Prius C about 42-45 in town My first toyota was a 2007 Rav4 that I bought in march of o8 i loved it but it is my least favorite I gave it to my daughter after I pd it off.my prius c was totaled and now I can't afford a new one any more , I am 71 with 6 children and 12 grandchildren & 7 great grand children. Prius are the best car ever made. Will never buy anything else."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

Fine car.

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Slightly cramped driving position for anyone over 6'1". Road noise is substantial. Gas mileage gets better with age. maintenance costs minimal, even at the dealer."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car for commuting

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, great gas mileage"

Cons: "tall drivers might not be as comfortable as short"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We drive the car 30 miles each way to work and back. In the Summer our mpg is in the mid 50's overall. in Winter its in the mid to high 40's. We have had only one paid repair in 8 years. We replaced the 12 volt battery recently not because it was dead but it was 8 Years old. We still have the original Brakes and the mechanic has told us they are about half used. We did replace the plugs at 70K miles and again at 140K miles only because it was short money and it did make a small difference in how the car ran. The manual says not to change them until 150,000 miles."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

DependaBLE, ECONOMICAL , EASY TO DRIVE, QUALITY.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive economical ."

Cons: "no complaints."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"lEATHER, ROOMY CARGO,best small car handles easy, good value"

i love my prius good on gas, plenty or room

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way it handles when I drive it, mine has xm radio in it, well worth the price,"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

sdepenable vehicle. 1999 infinity Q30

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "drves well . killer stero & 6air bags...20_24 mpg"

Cons: "I add a quart or oil ever other sevice... clean it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Its gotten my daughter thru high school...she v graduate 25 college credits. Time for another vehicle. To take thru college now...need to sell or trade up"

Very solid vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, easy to park"

Cons: "Not an attractive vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I I have driven this car all over the place in the two years that I've owned it. It isn't the prettiest car on the market, but you can't beat the gas mileage. I also never have worried about if it will start or not, it's very reliable. Online you'll find that you're supposed to get over 50 MPG, but in my experience the real number is around 45 if you're driving on highways."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it will trade for a newer prius soon!

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car pays for itself in gas savings!! Average 47 miles to the gallon really roomy for 4 people travels long distances nicely Will own another one !!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

What more do you need?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, the people who are complaining they had to replace the 12V battery after using it for several years, come on! All 12V batteries on all cars will have to be replaced after few years of use. I hear you complainers on the headlight issue. They do go out every 40K miles or so. They cost 40 bucks for a pair on Amazon and take an hour to replace. So it's not a big deal. There are plenty of info on the web on how to replace them. This car is the only car I would not hesitate buying second hand if it had 200K miles on it. Superbly built car with value at heart."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great vehicle; Unique, great color, ride, and mpg

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mpg, compartmentalization, unique, fun"

Cons: "approaching 10 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner, garage kept, always serviced at Toyota dealership. Paint is in great condition, interior is in good condition, tires are OEM and were replaced new 1 year ago. 83,000 miles with lots of interstate commuting miles. Millennium Silver with Grey leather interior. NICE!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Superb fuel economy and reliabiity"

Cons: "wind noise on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not only is this car superb on gas mileage, but it's also the most reliable car I have owned. I can count on one hand the number of times in the past 10 years that I had to have non-routine maintenance done on the car. 50 MPG consistently and this car is still going strong...."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Incredible mileage warrior

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car value I've ever owned"

Cons: "Horrible Horrible lights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was been nothing short of amazing. Over 234,000 miles, and still runs like a champ. I do have one HUGE beef about the car, and that is the headlights. Very very expensive and have had to change them out twice now. At over $150 a lamp to replace is not good. It cannot be done easily by the owner either. I am pretty handy with working on my vehicles, but this was shear frustration. I even took it to my normal mechanic, and attempted to save a couple of bucks. Nada... light went out in a few short months. I took it to the dealership, who for the most part charges an arm and a leg, but the lights are great and they are lasting. The mileage is still going strong,as I am averaging about 47 MPG currently. Don't know if and when the "big" battery will need to be replaced, but so far... no worries!"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best economical car that I have owned

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, interactive energy consumption charts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"High quality car worth the value. Very low maintenance costs. Reliable. High mpg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Well worth it -- Buying another one

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, comfortable drive, resale value"

Cons: "MTBF: 12v battery should last longer (others can)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our first hybrid. Bought it new in Dec 2006 and have loved just about everything about it (especially the 48.5 real driving mpg). Only glitches along the way was needing to replace the 12v battery twice (every 4 years), warranty work on headlights and instrument panel, and most recently (causing us to buy new rather than keep paying repairs): gaskets. At 95K replaced oil pan gasket, 100K side pulleys(?) gasket basically the gasket under the side serpentine belt which included having to replace water pump just because(EXPENSIVE). Now at 105K the seal on the driver's side axle is going--the cost is equivalent to 4 payments on a new car. That's what we are doing: this month buying a 2015 Prius model 3 with the solar roof package."

15 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals