Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 807 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next

Awesome Car All Around Best Toyota Ever Made —

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "bluetooth does not add contacts or multimedia play"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car overall requires very little maintenance and the gas mileage is awesome we average between 39.1 to 50 MPG. Car requires oil changes just like any other car. You don't have to plug it in the battery charges when you go down hill or just sitting at a light. The technology and research that went into this car to get it right is just astounding!!!"

In the long run, didnt save anything

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Dead Hybrid Battery

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks great, 50 mpg"

Cons: "Seats have no support, lots of road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you buy a Prius, plan on selling it before the battery warranty expires because there's a good chance the battery will fail shortly there after. I bought the (six year old) car for $11,500 with 89,000 miles and 2 years later at 125,000 the battery died. Just sold it for $5500. Cost to operate the car was actually more than any other vehicle when you consider the depreciation. Toyota still denies that battery failure is very common, when in fact it is VERY common between 100-120,000 miles. I regret not buying a Corolla, the gas mileage is just a bit lower."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever will never drive any other

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, low gas mileage very stylish, proud"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

"my third Toyota and the best by far. I love the mileage, i get the same with this as I did with the Prius C about 42-45 in town My first toyota was a 2007 Rav4 that I bought in march of o8 i loved it but it is my least favorite I gave it to my daughter after I pd it off.my prius c was totaled and now I can't afford a new one any more , I am 71 with 6 children and 12 grandchildren & 7 great grand children. Prius are the best car ever made. Will never buy anything else."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

Fine car.

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Slightly cramped driving position for anyone over 6'1". Road noise is substantial. Gas mileage gets better with age. maintenance costs minimal, even at the dealer."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for commuting

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, great gas mileage"

Cons: "tall drivers might not be as comfortable as short"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We drive the car 30 miles each way to work and back. In the Summer our mpg is in the mid 50's overall. in Winter its in the mid to high 40's. We have had only one paid repair in 8 years. We replaced the 12 volt battery recently not because it was dead but it was 8 Years old. We still have the original Brakes and the mechanic has told us they are about half used. We did replace the plugs at 70K miles and again at 140K miles only because it was short money and it did make a small difference in how the car ran. The manual says not to change them until 150,000 miles."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

DependaBLE, ECONOMICAL , EASY TO DRIVE, QUALITY.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive economical ."

Cons: "no complaints."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"lEATHER, ROOMY CARGO,best small car handles easy, good value"

i love my prius good on gas, plenty or room

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way it handles when I drive it, mine has xm radio in it, well worth the price,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

sdepenable vehicle. 1999 infinity Q30

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "drves well . killer stero & 6air bags...20_24 mpg"

Cons: "I add a quart or oil ever other sevice... clean it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Its gotten my daughter thru high school...she v graduate 25 college credits. Time for another vehicle. To take thru college now...need to sell or trade up"

Very solid vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, easy to park"

Cons: "Not an attractive vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I I have driven this car all over the place in the two years that I've owned it. It isn't the prettiest car on the market, but you can't beat the gas mileage. I also never have worried about if it will start or not, it's very reliable. Online you'll find that you're supposed to get over 50 MPG, but in my experience the real number is around 45 if you're driving on highways."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it will trade for a newer prius soon!

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car pays for itself in gas savings!! Average 47 miles to the gallon really roomy for 4 people travels long distances nicely Will own another one !!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

What more do you need?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, the people who are complaining they had to replace the 12V battery after using it for several years, come on! All 12V batteries on all cars will have to be replaced after few years of use. I hear you complainers on the headlight issue. They do go out every 40K miles or so. They cost 40 bucks for a pair on Amazon and take an hour to replace. So it's not a big deal. There are plenty of info on the web on how to replace them. This car is the only car I would not hesitate buying second hand if it had 200K miles on it. Superbly built car with value at heart."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Great vehicle; Unique, great color, ride, and mpg

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mpg, compartmentalization, unique, fun"

Cons: "approaching 10 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner, garage kept, always serviced at Toyota dealership. Paint is in great condition, interior is in good condition, tires are OEM and were replaced new 1 year ago. 83,000 miles with lots of interstate commuting miles. Millennium Silver with Grey leather interior. NICE!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Superb fuel economy and reliabiity"

Cons: "wind noise on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not only is this car superb on gas mileage, but it's also the most reliable car I have owned. I can count on one hand the number of times in the past 10 years that I had to have non-routine maintenance done on the car. 50 MPG consistently and this car is still going strong...."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Incredible mileage warrior

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car value I've ever owned"

Cons: "Horrible Horrible lights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was been nothing short of amazing. Over 234,000 miles, and still runs like a champ. I do have one HUGE beef about the car, and that is the headlights. Very very expensive and have had to change them out twice now. At over $150 a lamp to replace is not good. It cannot be done easily by the owner either. I am pretty handy with working on my vehicles, but this was shear frustration. I even took it to my normal mechanic, and attempted to save a couple of bucks. Nada... light went out in a few short months. I took it to the dealership, who for the most part charges an arm and a leg, but the lights are great and they are lasting. The mileage is still going strong,as I am averaging about 47 MPG currently. Don't know if and when the "big" battery will need to be replaced, but so far... no worries!"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best economical car that I have owned

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, interactive energy consumption charts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"High quality car worth the value. Very low maintenance costs. Reliable. High mpg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Well worth it -- Buying another one

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, comfortable drive, resale value"

Cons: "MTBF: 12v battery should last longer (others can)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our first hybrid. Bought it new in Dec 2006 and have loved just about everything about it (especially the 48.5 real driving mpg). Only glitches along the way was needing to replace the 12v battery twice (every 4 years), warranty work on headlights and instrument panel, and most recently (causing us to buy new rather than keep paying repairs): gaskets. At 95K replaced oil pan gasket, 100K side pulleys(?) gasket basically the gasket under the side serpentine belt which included having to replace water pump just because(EXPENSIVE). Now at 105K the seal on the driver's side axle is going--the cost is equivalent to 4 payments on a new car. That's what we are doing: this month buying a 2015 Prius model 3 with the solar roof package."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Economical, Relaible

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Gas Mileage, good value"

Cons: "comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Car for the money"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely Love This Car!!!

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all-around vehicle"

Cons: "Headlight covers yellowed/dimmed/had to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"450 miles to 200K! Have enjoyed every minute of driving this 2nd Gen Prius (traded in 1st Gen ONLY for new design/larger cargo space in 2nd Gen). Looking to purchase gently used 3rd Gen, but not going to part with 04! Replaced windshield, headlights, and exhaust system, with meticulous maintenance record for 11 years. No battery replacement. Still going strong. "Little Blue" is a Wonder for long trip travel, commuting and buzzing around town. Love This Car!!!"

6 people out of 14 found this review helpful

No problems', good driver

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy on fuel and maintenance. Hatchback is handy."

Cons: "Nanny controls (traction) too intrusive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to drive and maintain. Averages 46 to 48 mpg in mtn,s of NC. Have replaced the engine water pump and 12 volt battery. Did work myself, easy to do if mechanically inclined. Cleans up well, no rust or interior faults after 86,000 miles. Buy another? Absolutely!"

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Reliable. Fun to drive.

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great price. Lots of leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Clean, reliable, drives well, even in snow. Rear windshield wiper. Has many storage compartments. Navigation system needs to be updated, but seldom used it anyway. Good on gas mileage, uses reg. gas"

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

over 200,000 going strong!

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "holds 5 adults comfortably"

Cons: "road noise - better than newer models though"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than replacing some suspension, this has been an amazing car. I am really hard on cars so at over 200 thousand miles, I am really in love with this car. I get offers to buy her but NO WAY!! 47-50mpg!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Ever

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not a lick of trouble with this car. and so quiet - so dependable - amazing truly."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! It was pre-owned when I bought it and I have never had to do a thing to it other than regular servicing/care, etc. And the gas mileage is outstanding! I have recommended this car to everyone I know."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage; good cargo space; quiet! comfy!"

Cons: "Dome lights are a bit hard to find"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '07 Prius not because I"m an environmentalist but because I found a good deal and it suits my needs: Great gas mileage; sufficient cargo space; quiet and comfortable ride. I compared it with Honda Fit and Hyundai Elantra and it won hands down for quiet and comfort. It's true driving a more sporty car might be more fun, but I'm into economy and reliability so I'm very happy! No problems and I'm now at 138K."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I love my Prius - now if they had one with 4wd

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2006 Prius has been extremely reliable, and very cheap to maintain. The most expensive thing I've had to do is replace the tires. My only complaint is that the traction control makes it difficult to climb slippery hills in the winter."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 33 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals