Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 777 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Disappointing

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Toyota quality and reliability"

Cons: "Low mpg, poor handling, visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"All in all, the 2007 Prius has been a big disappointment. (1) Very disappointing gas mileage: it averages 38 mpg in mostly high speed highway driving. That's just not good enough. My old 1987 Corolla FX16 GT-S got 32 mpg, and was very fun to drive. (2) The Prius handles very poorly in high front and cross winds: it wants to wander and weave way too much for comfort on these poor old rutted Texas things they jokingly call roads. Increasing the tire pressure to 42 psi on new Michelin Defenders may help. (3) Poor visibility: the super-streamlined design makes it way too difficult to see to the right side and to the rear. Then there's that idiotic bar in the middle of the rear window to try to through. (4) Ridiculously low ground clearance and the disappeared hood: Good grief folks, you can't see a thing down there, so watch out for those concrete parking structures! (5) Very poor headlights, the worst I've ever experienced: they were so bad I installed high intensity bulbs. Then, when that wasn't enough, I installed fog lights. Then, when that wasn't enough, I had the lights adjusted upward to the point where it bothers some oncoming drivers. But at least now I can see a reasonable distance ahead and to the right as I make right- hand turns on dark nights. (6) Finally, it's very disappointing because I stupidly paid a Toyota dealer way too much for this used car in 2012 and now owe the bank almost $14,000 for a car that may be worth half that much if I were to trade it in. Other than all that, and the fact that it needs a new radio that has USB and the capability to all the play various music formats, it's a comfortable, roomy car that is really boring to drive."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I "live" in my car - still love it!

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mileage, reliable, snappy look."

Cons: "ride - you feel the road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive for a living, so mileage is critical. When you're getting 44 MPG, gas prices aren't even a concern. Love the braking feature on the transmission - saves gas and brakes. It's not the smoothest or the quietest, but I'm happy with it. I have it serviced regularly, and at 128,000 miles I'm going to keep it until one of us dies!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I'm 72. This is the best car I've ever had.

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like the way it drives and that the mileage to the gallon of gas is so good."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

First car I have ever loved

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, reliability"

Cons: "road noise, cornering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great mileage and drop dead reliability, combined with few real compromises, make the Prius the finest car I have ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is truly a remarkable vehicle!

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "You can't go wrong. Mileage is only one factor."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought the Prius pre-retirement with no real intention in mind of how might use the car in the long term. We had rented one in Florida on a vacation and were pleased with is performance and this made an impression when we bought the car. Over the past 6 years, we've only driven 60K. During this period, except for the replacement of the 12 battery and tires, we've had no significant repairs. The car is comfortable and reliable. In fact, we've driven the car across country where we've experienced all types of weather during the past year. We expect to drive back to California within the next two months. I do believe this is the best, most reliable car I've ever owned."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car ever owned!

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handling, foul weather control, mileage, visibilit"

Cons: "Not the most beautiful car you'll see"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After 75,000 miles, this car was still getting 50 mpg. on the highway. Roomy, comfy, totally reliable, with no service or repair requirements beyond normal warranty recommendations. Dealers generally load these cars with all the extras one would want, not counting sun-roof and higher end wheel covers. No one else in the marketplace has anything that fully compares to it in economy, comfort and convenience."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Favorite car we've ever owned

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage, keyless entry, good in winter"

Cons: "Large dashboard that is a dust magnet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There has been a minimum of repairs required over the entire life of the car. It has retained its value quite well, it is fun to drive and even in a hilly city the mileage is still great. Best mileage ever was on a 10 our drive to the Outer Banks when we left home with a full tank and never filled up until we got to our destination. That was more than 500 miles and 54 mpg."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most efficient car ever

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical. Feels like a full-sized car. Reliable."

Cons: "Handling is sluggish. Too much road noise at speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"More than adequate size for four full-sized people. Fuel mileage overall in low- to mid-40's with regular gas. Maintenance is cheap. Somewhat noisy, and handling is clumsy, but controllable. Had it for 8 years, and it is truly a carefree vehicle!"

First Prius and Loved it

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,458

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Loved the 50MPG I got with it."

Cons: "Love the newer 2013 Prius more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would still be driving this vehicle but do to circumstances I own a leased 20013 Prius.Have to sell this one"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE I EVER HAVE

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING GOOD AND SPECIAL 50-52 MPG IN SUMMER,"

Cons: "45-47MPG IN WINTER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I MOVE TO MEXICO AND UNFORTUNATLY I CAN NOT LEGALIZE CAR IN MEXICO FOR BEEN MADE IN JAPAN"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever, great gas mileage,very safe car

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, best fuel economy"

Cons: "Needs more cushion on front seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 2 Toyota Prius, I have had 3 total. I am so happy with them, I have them for personal & use them in my business. I do not ever want to own a vehicle now that is not a hybrid. Why should I, when the gas economy is 36 in worst winter driving conditions, to 48 in best summer conditions. They are very safe. The one that I no longer drive, was wrecked & driver walked away, with nothing but a bruise and a little stiff. The only thing I think they should improve, is to add more cushion to the front seats. I added foam under a seat cover."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE LOVE LOVE

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,469

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas miliage, safe, perfect for anyone"

Cons: "leather seats get hot!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Prius is amazing! Not only do I get great gas mileage (averaging 47 miles to the gallon), but I can fit my family of 5 comfortably in it. I also fit my great dane inside!! The trunk area has a lot of space. Perfect for getting groceries or packing up for a trip. The only negative for me is the leather seats! I live in the south and they get hot!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle. Very roomy interior, great mileage

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "large color back-up camera, U-turns great"

Cons: "interior not very dressy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great and reliable car. Not especially exciting to drive, but easy, comfortable, and extremely economical. Great on a long trip. Doesn't have great acceleration, but not bad. Can do a u-turn in very little space. Love the big back-up camera! Also like the backup warning beep - wish they had extended it to outside also, to warn walkers. Friends like riding in it, as the interior is very spacious, great seat and leg room, but no luxury here. Cargo space is great, I've hauled really large boxes and long items, surprising most Home Depot and Lowe's loading assistants. I've always loved the keyless entry! A very safe option for ladies. I hate to trade this car, but now need a car higher off the ground with bad knees and back. Will sorely miss this friend."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I'm a Prius Believer!

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG and overall value"

Cons: "Could use some interior features added."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I own a 2005 Prius that I bought used in 2010. I had been skeptical of the Prius prior to owning, but I'm sold now! Gas mileage per tank has ran from 43 mpg up to 51 mpg, depending on the type of mileage, speed, etc. Ideal speeds for optimal mpg seems to be between 45 and 70. Interior feels bigger than it looks. Hatchback allows more space for hauling/storage than it looks. Service has been good and I recommend the Prius for anyone considering a hybrid and/or needing good gas mileage!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ugly, uncomfortable & cheaply built.

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "It is still running at 146,000 miles."

Cons: "Ugly, uncomfortable, cheaply built."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We've purchased this car new in 2006 and it's never lived up to the hype. First, it's an extraordinarily uncomfortable car to drive or ride in due to the minimalist (read cheap) front seats and limited foot room. Secondly, the interior materials simply don't hold up. Finally, the car has been troublesome throughout its tenure: the breaking system has consistently produced weird noises (squealing and scraping) that the dealership has been unable to resolve and there have been more safety recalls than I can count."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle, best car on the road

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling and cheap to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What is there not to like? Great gas mileage, comfortable ride, fit and trim are excellent. Good headroom for taller than average people. Enough power to safely merge into traffic or to pass when necessary. Responsive, predictable handling, smooth transmission, smooth engine, not repair prone. People who love to burn rubber and support the oil industry might not like it."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Never needed repairs, only regular maintenance.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG, Relaible, no mechanical issues"

Cons: "Dashboard lights reflect on windshield at night."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Consistently gets 46+ MPG. Not the best looking car on the road, not the most fun to drive but very reliable and hard to beat the MPG"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, cargo space, reliability,great resale"

Cons: "temperature control in backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the gas mileage, although it is only getting 41 mpg after 7 years. Love the reliability: I have replaced tires and a battery(not hybrid)and changed the oil. Love the cargo space: Drop the back seats and it loads almost as much as my Yukon did. I have tested this many times as parent of three and volunteer for many town and school events. The only criticism I have is the driver's seats can get uncomfortable on long road trips (mine doesn't have the lumbar support adjustment in driver's seat.. would recommend.) and in 115 degress the backseat area just doesn't get very cool ( for those with small children it would be a concern). The dog likes the back seats down and lying with her head near the front seat. Temperature control in back is not a problem when it's "normal temperature" ( below 90 in Arizona). I have had this car since it was new in 2007."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great reliable car.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MiPG, great car for inner city."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Initially had problems with "key" once in a while. Software recall fixed this. Synergy water pump problems once. Fixed. Other than that, no problems. Once driving long haul at average 65 mph averaged 55mpg. Great pickup at highway speeds."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With 245,000 miles, we've replaced one 12 volt battery. No other problems. Many of my family members have since purchased prius with zero complaints!"

14 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I will buy another one

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, sufficient power, solid constru"

Cons: "Replacing the hybrid battery pack is expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new, and have had a few maintenance expenses, including replacing the timing belt and a headlight. The biggest expense was the recent hybrid battery pack replacement. I read about buying a cheaper pack than the Toyota dealer pack, but having anyone other than Toyota work on this car has always made me nervous. So, after a $3000 battery replacement, I am ready for another Prius. Why? The car is reliable, it's great in snow, it has held it's appearance for almost 10 years, and I love the feeling of using less fuel and emitting less pollution. Someday when the plug-in version comes down in price I might consider that as well."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Stable on the road and quick enough acceleration"

Cons: "View out front windshield"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned more cars then the average individual and can state that this car is my favorite. My next car will be a Prius unless something better comes along. I am looking hard at the Chevy Volt and my wife wants the Tesla Sedan. Might happen! All I know is times are changing and we really need to change with them. I believe if everyone in the country owned one the emission problem would be a thing of the past."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bad trouble

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I just finished rebuilding the engine for $6000. It was that or junk it. 2 cylinders were scored and it was ready to throw a rod. I guess I,m the unlucky one."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Impressive engineering.

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, pickup."

Cons: "cheap interior materials."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Saved me a ton of money."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best, most dependable car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best, most efficient vehicle I've ever owned. I've been driving it for 7 years and I've only done maintenance to it. I'm getting ready to sell it just because I want a new one. When I bought this I was driving an suv. Every time I fill up my Prius, I easily figured that it would take THREE TIMES that amount to have filled up my SUV. I figured that in 110k miles at an average of prob $3.25/gallon over the years getting avg 46mpg it cost me about $7700 for gas which means that I SAVED abt $15k in gas ! Right now I'm packing to leave on an Alaskan cruise - guess where the extra money came from? I've sold several of these for dealerships just by my promoting for them! My sister bought one and my neighbor is on her 2nd one."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals