Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 806 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

In the long run, didnt save anything

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Dead Hybrid Battery

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks great, 50 mpg"

Cons: "Seats have no support, lots of road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you buy a Prius, plan on selling it before the battery warranty expires because there's a good chance the battery will fail shortly there after. I bought the (six year old) car for $11,500 with 89,000 miles and 2 years later at 125,000 the battery died. Just sold it for $5500. Cost to operate the car was actually more than any other vehicle when you consider the depreciation. Toyota still denies that battery failure is very common, when in fact it is VERY common between 100-120,000 miles. I regret not buying a Corolla, the gas mileage is just a bit lower."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever will never drive any other

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, low gas mileage very stylish, proud"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

"my third Toyota and the best by far. I love the mileage, i get the same with this as I did with the Prius C about 42-45 in town My first toyota was a 2007 Rav4 that I bought in march of o8 i loved it but it is my least favorite I gave it to my daughter after I pd it off.my prius c was totaled and now I can't afford a new one any more , I am 71 with 6 children and 12 grandchildren & 7 great grand children. Prius are the best car ever made. Will never buy anything else."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

Fine car.

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Slightly cramped driving position for anyone over 6'1". Road noise is substantial. Gas mileage gets better with age. maintenance costs minimal, even at the dealer."

Great car for commuting

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliabilty, great gas mileage"

Cons: "tall drivers might not be as comfortable as short"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We drive the car 30 miles each way to work and back. In the Summer our mpg is in the mid 50's overall. in Winter its in the mid to high 40's. We have had only one paid repair in 8 years. We replaced the 12 volt battery recently not because it was dead but it was 8 Years old. We still have the original Brakes and the mechanic has told us they are about half used. We did replace the plugs at 70K miles and again at 140K miles only because it was short money and it did make a small difference in how the car ran. The manual says not to change them until 150,000 miles."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

DependaBLE, ECONOMICAL , EASY TO DRIVE, QUALITY.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive economical ."

Cons: "no complaints."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"lEATHER, ROOMY CARGO,best small car handles easy, good value"

i love my prius good on gas, plenty or room

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "plenty room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way it handles when I drive it, mine has xm radio in it, well worth the price,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

sdepenable vehicle. 1999 infinity Q30

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "drves well . killer stero & 6air bags...20_24 mpg"

Cons: "I add a quart or oil ever other sevice... clean it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Its gotten my daughter thru high school...she v graduate 25 college credits. Time for another vehicle. To take thru college now...need to sell or trade up"

Very solid vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, easy to park"

Cons: "Not an attractive vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I I have driven this car all over the place in the two years that I've owned it. It isn't the prettiest car on the market, but you can't beat the gas mileage. I also never have worried about if it will start or not, it's very reliable. Online you'll find that you're supposed to get over 50 MPG, but in my experience the real number is around 45 if you're driving on highways."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it will trade for a newer prius soon!

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car pays for itself in gas savings!! Average 47 miles to the gallon really roomy for 4 people travels long distances nicely Will own another one !!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

What more do you need?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, the people who are complaining they had to replace the 12V battery after using it for several years, come on! All 12V batteries on all cars will have to be replaced after few years of use. I hear you complainers on the headlight issue. They do go out every 40K miles or so. They cost 40 bucks for a pair on Amazon and take an hour to replace. So it's not a big deal. There are plenty of info on the web on how to replace them. This car is the only car I would not hesitate buying second hand if it had 200K miles on it. Superbly built car with value at heart."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals