Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 813 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next

Best Toyota model of the 11 I have bought

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 11th Toyota purchased. I have basically bought every model Toyota made. I love my Prius and will replace it with another one. I am only considering selling it due to high mileage. It has been maintenance free. I change the oil every 3,000 miles and filters, when needed, as well as tires."

great car, really gets 45 mpg

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "glad and proud to support this technology"

Cons: "seats are not good for long drives,high price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My only car, it's bee reliable except for poor tires. I'm only selling due to a desire to get a luxury hybrid. The seats are not too comfortable on long drives. Easy to drive, turn, park. I'm giving my 2008 to my niece because I feel it's safe, reliable, and a perfect "used car.""

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Owned this car the longest I have ever had a car.

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, good price, low maintenance, roomy"

Cons: "Radio, seat comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great quality for the price. Excellent gas mileage and has surprised me in the tough Northern Vermont weather. It sits outside in all temps and weather from 90 degrees to a -30 and it starts and runs just fine. I just have to remember that I do not have the clearance of some cars and have to think about getting up my hill and dirt road in snow quicker or after being plowed. Travel long distance well. Not a real comfy seat though and the radio is not great for sure! Hybrid technology has had zero problems. Very low maintenance."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Beast "transportation device" I've ever owned

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the car new; it's been great. Got the touring version with leather. Not a thrill to drive, but roomy inside and very reliable. Hatchback style is versatile. Mileage has been great: 44-53 depending on weather and town vs. highway. What could be better? Seats are only moderately comfortable, and their height isn't adjustable. Keyless locking and starting are pluses. In 7 years I've gotten a new set of tires and replaced the (regular) battery. That's it! My next car may well be a Camry or Accord hybrid - for the extra room and power. What I really want is a hybrid, CRV, RAV4, or Ford small SUV, if they existed, which they don't."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car have too many"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car too many vehicles"

would definitely buy another

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fuel mpg. Reliability."

Cons: "Rougher ride at times. Road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new with a few reservations. Probably the best car ever. Was NEVER in the shop for anything but oil changes and new tires in over 106k miles. Goes like a trooper. Not particularly smooth ride for real long distances, but it's ok. Many long trips. Just got out more often.Gas milage is absolutely GREAT. Still getting at, and over, 50 MPG in and out of town."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Car All Around Best Toyota Ever Made —

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "bluetooth does not add contacts or multimedia play"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car overall requires very little maintenance and the gas mileage is awesome we average between 39.1 to 50 MPG. Car requires oil changes just like any other car. You don't have to plug it in the battery charges when you go down hill or just sitting at a light. The technology and research that went into this car to get it right is just astounding!!!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

In the long run, didnt save anything

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Dead Hybrid Battery

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks great, 50 mpg"

Cons: "Seats have no support, lots of road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you buy a Prius, plan on selling it before the battery warranty expires because there's a good chance the battery will fail shortly there after. I bought the (six year old) car for $11,500 with 89,000 miles and 2 years later at 125,000 the battery died. Just sold it for $5500. Cost to operate the car was actually more than any other vehicle when you consider the depreciation. Toyota still denies that battery failure is very common, when in fact it is VERY common between 100-120,000 miles. I regret not buying a Corolla, the gas mileage is just a bit lower."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever will never drive any other

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, low gas mileage very stylish, proud"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

"my third Toyota and the best by far. I love the mileage, i get the same with this as I did with the Prius C about 42-45 in town My first toyota was a 2007 Rav4 that I bought in march of o8 i loved it but it is my least favorite I gave it to my daughter after I pd it off.my prius c was totaled and now I can't afford a new one any more , I am 71 with 6 children and 12 grandchildren & 7 great grand children. Prius are the best car ever made. Will never buy anything else."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

proud to be seen driving this classy car, my youngest son wanted to take pixs in the yard LOL

Fine car.

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Slightly cramped driving position for anyone over 6'1". Road noise is substantial. Gas mileage gets better with age. maintenance costs minimal, even at the dealer."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals