Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 798 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Love it will trade for a newer prius soon!

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car pays for itself in gas savings!! Average 47 miles to the gallon really roomy for 4 people travels long distances nicely Will own another one !!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What more do you need?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, the people who are complaining they had to replace the 12V battery after using it for several years, come on! All 12V batteries on all cars will have to be replaced after few years of use. I hear you complainers on the headlight issue. They do go out every 40K miles or so. They cost 40 bucks for a pair on Amazon and take an hour to replace. So it's not a big deal. There are plenty of info on the web on how to replace them. This car is the only car I would not hesitate buying second hand if it had 200K miles on it. Superbly built car with value at heart."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle; Unique, great color, ride, and mpg

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mpg, compartmentalization, unique, fun"

Cons: "approaching 10 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner, garage kept, always serviced at Toyota dealership. Paint is in great condition, interior is in good condition, tires are OEM and were replaced new 1 year ago. 83,000 miles with lots of interstate commuting miles. Millennium Silver with Grey leather interior. NICE!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Superb fuel economy and reliabiity"

Cons: "wind noise on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not only is this car superb on gas mileage, but it's also the most reliable car I have owned. I can count on one hand the number of times in the past 10 years that I had to have non-routine maintenance done on the car. 50 MPG consistently and this car is still going strong...."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Incredible mileage warrior

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car value I've ever owned"

Cons: "Horrible Horrible lights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was been nothing short of amazing. Over 234,000 miles, and still runs like a champ. I do have one HUGE beef about the car, and that is the headlights. Very very expensive and have had to change them out twice now. At over $150 a lamp to replace is not good. It cannot be done easily by the owner either. I am pretty handy with working on my vehicles, but this was shear frustration. I even took it to my normal mechanic, and attempted to save a couple of bucks. Nada... light went out in a few short months. I took it to the dealership, who for the most part charges an arm and a leg, but the lights are great and they are lasting. The mileage is still going strong,as I am averaging about 47 MPG currently. Don't know if and when the "big" battery will need to be replaced, but so far... no worries!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best economical car that I have owned

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, interactive energy consumption charts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"High quality car worth the value. Very low maintenance costs. Reliable. High mpg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Well worth it -- Buying another one

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, comfortable drive, resale value"

Cons: "MTBF: 12v battery should last longer (others can)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our first hybrid. Bought it new in Dec 2006 and have loved just about everything about it (especially the 48.5 real driving mpg). Only glitches along the way was needing to replace the 12v battery twice (every 4 years), warranty work on headlights and instrument panel, and most recently (causing us to buy new rather than keep paying repairs): gaskets. At 95K replaced oil pan gasket, 100K side pulleys(?) gasket basically the gasket under the side serpentine belt which included having to replace water pump just because(EXPENSIVE). Now at 105K the seal on the driver's side axle is going--the cost is equivalent to 4 payments on a new car. That's what we are doing: this month buying a 2015 Prius model 3 with the solar roof package."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Economical, Relaible

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Gas Mileage, good value"

Cons: "comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Car for the money"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely Love This Car!!!

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all-around vehicle"

Cons: "Headlight covers yellowed/dimmed/had to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"450 miles to 200K! Have enjoyed every minute of driving this 2nd Gen Prius (traded in 1st Gen ONLY for new design/larger cargo space in 2nd Gen). Looking to purchase gently used 3rd Gen, but not going to part with 04! Replaced windshield, headlights, and exhaust system, with meticulous maintenance record for 11 years. No battery replacement. Still going strong. "Little Blue" is a Wonder for long trip travel, commuting and buzzing around town. Love This Car!!!"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

No problems', good driver

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy on fuel and maintenance. Hatchback is handy."

Cons: "Nanny controls (traction) too intrusive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to drive and maintain. Averages 46 to 48 mpg in mtn,s of NC. Have replaced the engine water pump and 12 volt battery. Did work myself, easy to do if mechanically inclined. Cleans up well, no rust or interior faults after 86,000 miles. Buy another? Absolutely!"

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Reliable. Fun to drive.

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great price. Lots of leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Clean, reliable, drives well, even in snow. Rear windshield wiper. Has many storage compartments. Navigation system needs to be updated, but seldom used it anyway. Good on gas mileage, uses reg. gas"

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

over 200,000 going strong!

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "holds 5 adults comfortably"

Cons: "road noise - better than newer models though"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than replacing some suspension, this has been an amazing car. I am really hard on cars so at over 200 thousand miles, I am really in love with this car. I get offers to buy her but NO WAY!! 47-50mpg!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Ever

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not a lick of trouble with this car. and so quiet - so dependable - amazing truly."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! It was pre-owned when I bought it and I have never had to do a thing to it other than regular servicing/care, etc. And the gas mileage is outstanding! I have recommended this car to everyone I know."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever had

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage; good cargo space; quiet! comfy!"

Cons: "Dome lights are a bit hard to find"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '07 Prius not because I"m an environmentalist but because I found a good deal and it suits my needs: Great gas mileage; sufficient cargo space; quiet and comfortable ride. I compared it with Honda Fit and Hyundai Elantra and it won hands down for quiet and comfort. It's true driving a more sporty car might be more fun, but I'm into economy and reliability so I'm very happy! No problems and I'm now at 138K."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I love my Prius - now if they had one with 4wd

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2006 Prius has been extremely reliable, and very cheap to maintain. The most expensive thing I've had to do is replace the tires. My only complaint is that the traction control makes it difficult to climb slippery hills in the winter."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Commuter Car

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Comfortable, great price"

Cons: "Repair History in Toyota System"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been super reliable and very economical to run. It looks really good and runs well. There are some vision issues out the back window. Side vision is very good with the side mirrors. Excellent sound system with multiple CD player and MP3 player in a JBL premium sound system. Very responsive hybrid system."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

my favorite vehicle to drive. Cant beat mileage

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great mileage, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "poor performance on snow & country roads, antislip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No repairs to speak of! Only scheduled maintenance. I drive a lot and have had no concerns with this car at all. I love to drive this car and it feels roomier than it looks when you are in the drivers seat. I do however feel cramped when I am the passenger. Great mileage for road trips. The mileage is so good you will forget you have to fill up. The battery never dies at the drive in theater or if you play music which is also nice. The car will automatically start and recharge the battery when needed. I've grown to love the backup camera and was sad to see it missing from the newer Prius. I'm not impressed with the performance on the snow. The car is to lightweight to handle snow. I avoid going out until the roads have been plowed. I HATE the anti slip feature. A light comes on with some sliding tires and you can no longer accelerate at all what so ever. It's way to sensitive. Mine frequently comes on when I drive on gravel roads, hit a pot hole or when driving on snow. If you drive in the snow be prepared to push yourself out of an inch or two of snow. I've rarely had to push a vehicle out of the snow but with the Prius if the tires are uneven you'll have to push it out (just a few feet). It's easy just annoying. The anti slip does not let you do the rocking or accelerating tricks to help move when you are stuck. Luckily the Prius is so lightweight anyone can easily push it on their own. The exterior is not as durable as I hoped. If anything hits or touches the car expect a mark in the paint or a little ding. I'd also really appreciate a louder horn. The horn in a joke. No one takes it seriously and smaller cars need to be heard."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned except my 1959 MGA

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "50 + MPG, Unique styling, Comfortable Driving Car"

Cons: ""A" piller hard to see around."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The reason to sell this car is to rent another. We are an older couple on a fixed income and want to have a newer car and can exchange cars every few years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "easy on fuel"

Cons: "hard to see gauges sometimes due to sun reflection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Loved the fuel efficiency but a little tight on long trips"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

efficient and comfortable vehicle

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "efficient, fun to drive, cost effective"

Cons: "low front bumper clearance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable, comfortable, effective hybrid system with plenty of power, inexpensive to drive and maintain"

Disappointing

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Toyota quality and reliability"

Cons: "Low mpg, poor handling, visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"All in all, the 2007 Prius has been a big disappointment. (1) Very disappointing gas mileage: it averages 38 mpg in mostly high speed highway driving. That's just not good enough. My old 1987 Corolla FX16 GT-S got 32 mpg, and was very fun to drive. (2) The Prius handles very poorly in high front and cross winds: it wants to wander and weave way too much for comfort on these poor old rutted Texas things they jokingly call roads. Increasing the tire pressure to 42 psi on new Michelin Defenders may help. (3) Poor visibility: the super-streamlined design makes it way too difficult to see to the right side and to the rear. Then there's that idiotic bar in the middle of the rear window to try to through. (4) Ridiculously low ground clearance and the disappeared hood: Good grief folks, you can't see a thing down there, so watch out for those concrete parking structures! (5) Very poor headlights, the worst I've ever experienced: they were so bad I installed high intensity bulbs. Then, when that wasn't enough, I installed fog lights. Then, when that wasn't enough, I had the lights adjusted upward to the point where it bothers some oncoming drivers. But at least now I can see a reasonable distance ahead and to the right as I make right- hand turns on dark nights. (6) Finally, it's very disappointing because I stupidly paid a Toyota dealer way too much for this used car in 2012 and now owe the bank almost $14,000 for a car that may be worth half that much if I were to trade it in. Other than all that, and the fact that it needs a new radio that has USB and the capability to all the play various music formats, it's a comfortable, roomy car that is really boring to drive."

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I "live" in my car - still love it!

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mileage, reliable, snappy look."

Cons: "ride - you feel the road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive for a living, so mileage is critical. When you're getting 44 MPG, gas prices aren't even a concern. Love the braking feature on the transmission - saves gas and brakes. It's not the smoothest or the quietest, but I'm happy with it. I have it serviced regularly, and at 128,000 miles I'm going to keep it until one of us dies!"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I'm 72. This is the best car I've ever had.

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like the way it drives and that the mileage to the gallon of gas is so good."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

First car I have ever loved

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, reliability"

Cons: "road noise, cornering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great mileage and drop dead reliability, combined with few real compromises, make the Prius the finest car I have ever owned."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals