Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2006 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 797 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

What more do you need?

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First, the people who are complaining they had to replace the 12V battery after using it for several years, come on! All 12V batteries on all cars will have to be replaced after few years of use. I hear you complainers on the headlight issue. They do go out every 40K miles or so. They cost 40 bucks for a pair on Amazon and take an hour to replace. So it's not a big deal. There are plenty of info on the web on how to replace them. This car is the only car I would not hesitate buying second hand if it had 200K miles on it. Superbly built car with value at heart."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle; Unique, great color, ride, and mpg

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mpg, compartmentalization, unique, fun"

Cons: "approaching 10 years old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner, garage kept, always serviced at Toyota dealership. Paint is in great condition, interior is in good condition, tires are OEM and were replaced new 1 year ago. 83,000 miles with lots of interstate commuting miles. Millennium Silver with Grey leather interior. NICE!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Owned

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Superb fuel economy and reliabiity"

Cons: "wind noise on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not only is this car superb on gas mileage, but it's also the most reliable car I have owned. I can count on one hand the number of times in the past 10 years that I had to have non-routine maintenance done on the car. 50 MPG consistently and this car is still going strong...."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Incredible mileage warrior

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car value I've ever owned"

Cons: "Horrible Horrible lights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was been nothing short of amazing. Over 234,000 miles, and still runs like a champ. I do have one HUGE beef about the car, and that is the headlights. Very very expensive and have had to change them out twice now. At over $150 a lamp to replace is not good. It cannot be done easily by the owner either. I am pretty handy with working on my vehicles, but this was shear frustration. I even took it to my normal mechanic, and attempted to save a couple of bucks. Nada... light went out in a few short months. I took it to the dealership, who for the most part charges an arm and a leg, but the lights are great and they are lasting. The mileage is still going strong,as I am averaging about 47 MPG currently. Don't know if and when the "big" battery will need to be replaced, but so far... no worries!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best economical car that I have owned

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, interactive energy consumption charts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"High quality car worth the value. Very low maintenance costs. Reliable. High mpg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Well worth it -- Buying another one

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mileage, comfortable drive, resale value"

Cons: "MTBF: 12v battery should last longer (others can)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our first hybrid. Bought it new in Dec 2006 and have loved just about everything about it (especially the 48.5 real driving mpg). Only glitches along the way was needing to replace the 12v battery twice (every 4 years), warranty work on headlights and instrument panel, and most recently (causing us to buy new rather than keep paying repairs): gaskets. At 95K replaced oil pan gasket, 100K side pulleys(?) gasket basically the gasket under the side serpentine belt which included having to replace water pump just because(EXPENSIVE). Now at 105K the seal on the driver's side axle is going--the cost is equivalent to 4 payments on a new car. That's what we are doing: this month buying a 2015 Prius model 3 with the solar roof package."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Economical, Relaible

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Gas Mileage, good value"

Cons: "comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Car for the money"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Absolutely Love This Car!!!

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all-around vehicle"

Cons: "Headlight covers yellowed/dimmed/had to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"450 miles to 200K! Have enjoyed every minute of driving this 2nd Gen Prius (traded in 1st Gen ONLY for new design/larger cargo space in 2nd Gen). Looking to purchase gently used 3rd Gen, but not going to part with 04! Replaced windshield, headlights, and exhaust system, with meticulous maintenance record for 11 years. No battery replacement. Still going strong. "Little Blue" is a Wonder for long trip travel, commuting and buzzing around town. Love This Car!!!"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

No problems', good driver

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy on fuel and maintenance. Hatchback is handy."

Cons: "Nanny controls (traction) too intrusive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to drive and maintain. Averages 46 to 48 mpg in mtn,s of NC. Have replaced the engine water pump and 12 volt battery. Did work myself, easy to do if mechanically inclined. Cleans up well, no rust or interior faults after 86,000 miles. Buy another? Absolutely!"

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Reliable. Fun to drive.

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great price. Lots of leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Clean, reliable, drives well, even in snow. Rear windshield wiper. Has many storage compartments. Navigation system needs to be updated, but seldom used it anyway. Good on gas mileage, uses reg. gas"

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals