Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 773 Ratings for the 2004 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next

Best, most dependable car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best, most efficient vehicle I've ever owned. I've been driving it for 7 years and I've only done maintenance to it. I'm getting ready to sell it just because I want a new one. When I bought this I was driving an suv. Every time I fill up my Prius, I easily figured that it would take THREE TIMES that amount to have filled up my SUV. I figured that in 110k miles at an average of prob $3.25/gallon over the years getting avg 46mpg it cost me about $7700 for gas which means that I SAVED abt $15k in gas ! Right now I'm packing to leave on an Alaskan cruise - guess where the extra money came from? I've sold several of these for dealerships just by my promoting for them! My sister bought one and my neighbor is on her 2nd one."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Well designed, everything where it should be.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see above"

Cons: "vinyl/leather seating would be easier to clean."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm 6'4" and this car has enough room. Very inexpensive to run and maintain. Does not break down.Has two glove boxes that are as big or bigger than the one in my wife's Flex. Has a back-up camera, and this is a 2006! This car is what happens when you put a bunch of experienced and practical engineers to work to tweak a basically good design. I still average 40mpg(measured) and the car is 8 years old! Closest american company is Ford, and we own two of those, but the Prius is still better."

I love this car

By on Friday, May 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, very roomy inside"

Cons: "You need the proper tires to get the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband and I love our Prius. It has not needed anything but routine maintenance, 2 small recall items, a water pump at 80,000 miles and tires. The car has traveled cross country with no problems. The only change we would make on the car would be; a few more inches of leg room (my husband is 6'4") and lumbar support in the front seats. These changes are only needed for long drives, he is quite comfortable if we are only driving for 3 hours or less."

Love it

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 10 years and have loved it. I would recommend the car to anyone."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle of 14 new cars

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had 14 new cars or trucks in my life, from Chevy, Ford, Pontiac, Chrysler, and Dodge. This Toyota has had the least amount of work done on it. All I've done is have a $75 electrical problem worked on. Just changed oil and air filters. Oh, yeah one headlight bulb replaced. Best car ever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very good car; I plan to get another.

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "save energy, easy drive, pockets, great safety"

Cons: "more expensive maintenance, more expensive to tow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2007 Prius in 2010 as a certified used and reconditioned car from a dealership. I've been very happy with the car. Driving is smooth, and it takes the steep hill just south of town, as well as the mountain pass north of town, with no trouble at all. (I laugh as I cruise right by conventional cars struggling uphill.) Highway mileage is good, but generally closer to 45mpg - unless I catch a tailwind. And I love all the little cup-holders and pockets and such to stow stuff in. But the very best thing about this car is it's great safety rating; and it proved it a couple weeks ago when an SUV darted out in front of me from a side road. I braked, but so did they, and I hit the SUV on the rear. The whole front of my car was crushed - but the interior of the cabin wasn't even scratched, and I wasn't hurt. It was destroyed, but it kept me entirely safe. It did its job outstandingly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

terrific vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, environmental and fuel efficient"

Cons: "Difficult to view wiper settings"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has provided excellent reliability and service. Still have most of the original equipment after 10 years and 129,900 miles."

terrific vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, environmental and fuel efficient"

Cons: "Difficult to view wiper settings"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car has provided excellent reliability and service. Still have most of the original equipment after 10 years and 129,900 miles."

Best used car I have ever owned

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best mpg ever. Has only needed routine maintenance"

Cons: "I am 6'2." I would prefer more leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2007 Toyota Prius. I see them everywhere - like it used to be with '55 Chevys!

"I have never enjoyed owning a car as much as this 2007 Prius, which I bought from a used car dealer in 2011. It had all its maintenance records and I was able to confirm its reliability with the prior owner (who bought a new Prius). My son says Prius's run on "smugness." I have to admit I get continuous positive reinforcement seeing my Prius range from 45 to 47 mpg through the four seasons of Maine."

2007 Toyota Prius. I see them everywhere - like it used to be with '55 Chevys!

Best used car I have ever owned

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best mpg ever. Has only needed routine maintenance"

Cons: "I am 6'2." I would prefer more leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2007 Toyota Prius. I see them everywhere - like it used to be with '55 Chevys!

"I have never enjoyed owning a car as much as this 2007 Prius, which I bought from a used car dealer in 2011. It had all its maintenance records and I was able to confirm its reliability with the prior owner (who bought a new Prius). My son says Prius's run on "smugness." I have to admit I get continuous positive reinforcement seeing my Prius range from 45 to 47 mpg through the four seasons of Maine."

2007 Toyota Prius. I see them everywhere - like it used to be with '55 Chevys!

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 78 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details