Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 126 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Most reliable batteries

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quite small and therefore easy to park."

Cons: "Not very high horsepower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am totally impressed that the original 220 volt battery lasted 13 years before giving out. The 12 volt battery lasted 11 years. That never happened on any other car I've owned. After all these years, gas mileage is still in the upper 30's when I am the driver (low 30's if it's my husband)."

Excellent shape mechanically. Body could use work

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, great sound system"

Cons: "body needs work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is in great mechanical shape. Clean interior, but exterior definitely shows age. Great gas mileage...over 40mpg!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Real Creampuff

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Terrific turning radius, easy to drive"

Cons: "I'd like a little larger space in drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved driving this car for 12 years. The maintenance is affordable, & the only major thing that went wrong was a fuel injector problem which appeared on a service bulletin. When I insisted that Toyota pay for the $1,300 repair, it did! AND it refunded my out-of-pocket on the diagnostic tests. Toyota really takes care of you. The only other major thing that went wrong in 12 years was the manifold needed cleaning ($600). I have replaced the small battery under the hood twice in 12 years($125 a pop). It has worked perfectly, handles like a dream, and I will never, ever go back to a full gas run car. The savings on fuel are tremendous. Even at 12 years old, I get 48 mpg in town, and way more on the highway."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Comfortable, easy to drive,navigate, handling

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good visibility, handling, comfort. Reliable"

Cons: "It's older, doesn't get as good mpg as newer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish this car could last forever. I love the comfort, mpg, ease of navigation - secure driving, handling. Ideal car for a couple, not so good for family. Trunk is small, but we've used similar car with smaller trunk size. Back seat equally comfortable. Newer designs not nearly as good for seats, vision."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Typical Prius: Reliable; 37 MPG; New battery

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great price; extremely reliable; great mileage."

Cons: "Wish it had only 50.000 miles on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have relied on our Prius for five years and it is still running the same as when we bought it. There has been no need for major repairs. Toyota replaced the original battery with a new one in 2008 and that made us feel secure that we would not have to come up with big money to keep it running. Our shop says the battery is just still just fine. Our Prius is in good shape. Only minor body and interior repair would be necessary to put the car in perfect condition."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals