Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 122 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Great Vehicle.

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought as a total back in 2004, put humpty dumpty back together again and its a jem. So far in the 8 years owning it just maintenance, brakes, tires,oil changes every 5,000 miles etc..."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very safe, stable, reliable, inexpensive

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, inexpensive, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have very much liked having this Prius as my car, it gets me everywhere I want, no mechanical problems, has never let me down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Prius!

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, gas sipper, excellent mechanics"

Cons: "basic vehicle this original year, no frills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An absolutely awesome car. Continues to be a great car with minimal mechanical problems over the past few years despite being over 100K. Still have the original and functioning hybrid battery component."

An excellent car -- 186,000 miles and still going

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, handling, standard features"

Cons: "Needs snow tires in the winter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2002 and have put 186,000 miles on it at of January, 2012. It's MPG performance is great, though it has dropped a bit as the car aged. For the first 100,000 miles we averaged around 40 mpg (which is what it was rated); in the past two years this has dropped to around 34 -- higher in the summer, lower in the winter (we live in Buffalo, NY). It drives like a dream -- very tight turning circle, good acceleration, handles well on street or highway. It does require snow tires in the winter, however -- but with them it does just fine."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Toyota Hybrids for Life!!!

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and easy to park"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I currently have 191,000 plus miles and the car has been terrific. I drive 80 highway miles daily to work and it has never put me down. Didnt change brake pads until 110,000 miles. Changed small battery twice and once under warranty. It recently started cutting off every 20 minutes of driving and discovered it was the main hybrid battery after taking it to 2 toyota dealers. The first dealer could not figure out the problem and after letting the car sit for a year at home i took it to a second dealer in memphis, tn and they discovered the main hybrid battery was bad. Spent a total of $3500 for the battery and labor it is running like a new car. I also had to change the 4 spark plug coil wires and plugs when the car had a miss in the motor. I thought for a minute that it was the motor going bad after spending all that money on the hybrid battery.However, I have put another 900 miles since and have had no more problems. I purchase a 2011 Prius during the time i let the 2002 sit a year in the driveway. It is the package 4 with leather and all the extras. However, I enjoy driving the 2002 within the city and to work!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good and relaible car

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 282,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my experience with this car has been good overall and i would do it all over again. the mpg is all that was advertised and the ride is smooth and quite good."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love my Prius

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage, reliable, satisfying to drive"

Cons: "The left door panel needs some padding for my knee"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is a creampuff. Toyota made a terrific car. Even after 10 years I still get 52-54 mpg mixing freeway and town driving. The car starts every time. I've had to put very little into repairs over the years. I have never had to replace the brakes. I replaced the small battery only twice in 10 years. The interior ergonomic design is superb. The 2002 is like a modified Corolla, but I've also driven the later models which are even better, more solid and powerful. The '02 is less comfortable and roomy than the later models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very disappointed

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Economical, environmentally conscious, trunk space"

Cons: "A novelty, first generation, upkeep $, reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The Transmission has gone out at 136,000 miles My car lost power, would not "shift" or go into a gear where it was going anywhere. After a month at the dealership and $4500.00 in repairs (a new inverter) it was determined that the transmission was damaged and it would cost another $5000.00 to fix it. I was not willing to put $10K into a 10 year old car; I replaced the hybrid battery after 100,000 miles (for $3000) and just had the fifth set of tires put on three months ago! It is a total loss now,so they just took the $2300 inverter out and my car is worth $500 as a trade-in, after the $400.00 diagnostic bill from Toyota! Even their techs are not really sure what is wrong with it."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellant Car..I just love it

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, great mileage andno maintainance cost"

Cons: "not enough space in trunk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased 2002 toyota prius last year when it had 107100 mileage on it. It had no issue in last one year and gives excellent average. Superb car. It is also depends upon your driving style and maintenance. Good Luck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good car with minimal maintenance

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mpgs, low maintenance"

Cons: "Small car issues - just like any small car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have gotten approximately 49 mpg overall from this vehicle saving approximately 4,000 gallons of gas over the vehicle it replaced and 1,800 gallons over a non-hybrid similar model vehicle. The maintenance has been limited with mostly oil changes. The car still has it's original brake pads. It is currently experiencing starting issues on cold mornings and may be in need of serious repair but I am avoiding taking it in in hopes of getting a few more miles out of it before I trade it in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals