Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2002 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 129 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Have absolutely loved my original Prius.

By on Saturday, February 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy back seat, great gas mileage"

Cons: "not a sporty ride, has trouble going uphill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I was 17 when I bought my Prius and loved the "new" hybrid technology. Over the years, they have changed the car from a sedan look to a hatchback to something unrecognizable. I've always enjoyed scooting around Los Angeles and being able to fit in any compact spot. My car is getting on the older side now and I'm having a hard time deciding what can take my Prius's place."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I ever bought

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, economic, roomy, good trunk space"

Cons: "Design was discontinued! Too bad!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this second hand 13 years ago ... and I have never been unhappy with the purchase. Still getting over 42 mpg ave year round. I paid the car off early by routing gas savings to the payments. I live on a dirt road in Vermont ... the extra weight of the car is a real benefit in the winter ... though it does mean the tires wear faster than "regular" cars. But the gas savings have always more than compensated for that. I love my little car. I meet others with the same model around town and we all have nothing but good things to say. I am sad the design changed ... this model looked like a regular car and not the "turtle" look of the newer Prius."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

No way I will go back to not Hibrids.

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car."

Cons: "would like to have space for fog lights."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car make me happy with the interior space as well as the development on the road and the city. Great car, my only regret is that I did not buy before. I just get a second one. And still using this one."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most reliable batteries

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quite small and therefore easy to park."

Cons: "Not very high horsepower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am totally impressed that the original 220 volt battery lasted 13 years before giving out. The 12 volt battery lasted 11 years. That never happened on any other car I've owned. After all these years, gas mileage is still in the upper 30's when I am the driver (low 30's if it's my husband)."

Excellent shape mechanically. Body could use work

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, great sound system"

Cons: "body needs work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is in great mechanical shape. Clean interior, but exterior definitely shows age. Great gas mileage...over 40mpg!"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals