Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 118 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

VERY DANGEROUS VEHICLE

By on Sunday, January 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NOT MANY TO MENTION"

Cons: "IT COULD KILL YOU"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"BAD STEERING ,BAD BRAKES UNRELIABLE CAR LOST STEERING PS WARNING LIGHTS ON ABS WARNING AND DEALER WON`T FIX IT TOYOTA GIVES RUNAROUND I ADVIZE PEOPLE DON`T WASTE YOUR MONEY AND POSSIBLY YOUR LIFE"

9 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Best ever

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best car I have ever owned and I've had a dozen"

Cons: "Needs new tires every year, almost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ice, snow, poor visibility, deer herds, high gas prices, the Prius deals with it. For a decade I have crammed this car with dogs, kids, horse grain, groceries, landscaping plants and given it very little attention and no repairs (do replace tires every 18 months). Purchased a Prius because of zero emissions, but it has turned out to be my best performing, most economical vehicle and that's not factoring in the money saved due to the 46 mpg I get on Maine roads. Comfortable for 6-foot-2 frame, roomy enough for family, pets and stuff. Reliable and inexpensive. I have never loved a car, but may be close with this one."

16 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Reliable comfortable and economical transportation

By on Thursday, October 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Saves time by letting you into the HOV lanes."

Cons: "New main battery is ~ $3K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, comfortable and economical transportation for the last 150,000 miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

11 Years of No Problems

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, high quality and fuel efficient"

Cons: "Exterior and interior on the spartan side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of the best autos I've ever owned. Dependable, obviously fuel efficient and fun to drive, it is a high quality vehicle that is close to perfect. I should add that it is more of a workhorse than show horse, convertible roadster it is not. While cleanly attractive, there is nothing fancy or eye catching about the interior or exterior. However, for dependable, economic and comfortable transportation it simply cannot be beat."

19 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Great car now 10 years old

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our car was a total lost back in 2004. Sat for a year after only two months on the road. I bought it salvaged, figured out what kept it from running,put it in the body shop,then back on the road. Only time it failed to come home was when a wire corroded from the accident 7 yrs later. And yes I now have two, a 2010 now with 31,000 miles."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!!

By on Monday, April 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car. Great mileage. Low maintenance. Will replace this Prius with another one when this one wears out. Averaged 48 mpg so far--less in winter more in summer. Ample room for 5 people."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle.

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought as a total back in 2004, put humpty dumpty back together again and its a jem. So far in the 8 years owning it just maintenance, brakes, tires,oil changes every 5,000 miles etc..."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

very safe, stable, reliable, inexpensive

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, inexpensive, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have very much liked having this Prius as my car, it gets me everywhere I want, no mechanical problems, has never let me down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Prius!

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, gas sipper, excellent mechanics"

Cons: "basic vehicle this original year, no frills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"An absolutely awesome car. Continues to be a great car with minimal mechanical problems over the past few years despite being over 100K. Still have the original and functioning hybrid battery component."

An excellent car -- 186,000 miles and still going

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, handling, standard features"

Cons: "Needs snow tires in the winter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2002 and have put 186,000 miles on it at of January, 2012. It's MPG performance is great, though it has dropped a bit as the car aged. For the first 100,000 miles we averaged around 40 mpg (which is what it was rated); in the past two years this has dropped to around 34 -- higher in the summer, lower in the winter (we live in Buffalo, NY). It drives like a dream -- very tight turning circle, good acceleration, handles well on street or highway. It does require snow tires in the winter, however -- but with them it does just fine."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details