Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 126 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Most reliable batteries

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quite small and therefore easy to park."

Cons: "Not very high horsepower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am totally impressed that the original 220 volt battery lasted 13 years before giving out. The 12 volt battery lasted 11 years. That never happened on any other car I've owned. After all these years, gas mileage is still in the upper 30's when I am the driver (low 30's if it's my husband)."

Excellent shape mechanically. Body could use work

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, great sound system"

Cons: "body needs work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car is in great mechanical shape. Clean interior, but exterior definitely shows age. Great gas mileage...over 40mpg!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Real Creampuff

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Terrific turning radius, easy to drive"

Cons: "I'd like a little larger space in drivers seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved driving this car for 12 years. The maintenance is affordable, & the only major thing that went wrong was a fuel injector problem which appeared on a service bulletin. When I insisted that Toyota pay for the $1,300 repair, it did! AND it refunded my out-of-pocket on the diagnostic tests. Toyota really takes care of you. The only other major thing that went wrong in 12 years was the manifold needed cleaning ($600). I have replaced the small battery under the hood twice in 12 years($125 a pop). It has worked perfectly, handles like a dream, and I will never, ever go back to a full gas run car. The savings on fuel are tremendous. Even at 12 years old, I get 48 mpg in town, and way more on the highway."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Comfortable, easy to drive,navigate, handling

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good visibility, handling, comfort. Reliable"

Cons: "It's older, doesn't get as good mpg as newer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish this car could last forever. I love the comfort, mpg, ease of navigation - secure driving, handling. Ideal car for a couple, not so good for family. Trunk is small, but we've used similar car with smaller trunk size. Back seat equally comfortable. Newer designs not nearly as good for seats, vision."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Typical Prius: Reliable; 37 MPG; New battery

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great price; extremely reliable; great mileage."

Cons: "Wish it had only 50.000 miles on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have relied on our Prius for five years and it is still running the same as when we bought it. There has been no need for major repairs. Toyota replaced the original battery with a new one in 2008 and that made us feel secure that we would not have to come up with big money to keep it running. Our shop says the battery is just still just fine. Our Prius is in good shape. Only minor body and interior repair would be necessary to put the car in perfect condition."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

If Toyota still made this Prius, I'd buy it again!

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just about everything...great driving!"

Cons: "The driver's seat needs to slide back more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I wish Toyota still made this exact car; I'd buy it again at today's prices without even batting an eye. This car has been fabulous. It has more get-up-and-go than any car I've ever driven. I've had virtually no mechanical problems with the car in 12 years. The only thing I've replaced is a set of tires. It has held steady at 46mpg in summer driving, and 42/43mpg on winter gas. I drove across country at @ 80mph with the air conditioning blasting in summer and got 46.5 mpg in 2008. What a great car it's been. Mine is cosmetically challenged, but that's not the dear car's fault."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very reliable, low gas consumption.

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All maintenance by professionals. New 12V battery."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A fine car

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 222,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good mpg, more reliable and cheaper than most cars"

Cons: "Braking can be slow to take hold, needs more space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Remember when the Prius just came out in 2000; everyone said any buyer will have to pay big bucks for a battery some time. Currently, I'm at 222,000 miles and never had to think battery. I did have to replace an inverter convertor at 186,000; I found a used one and had the work done by a non-dealer local hybrid expert which was much cheaper. I've been talking with other hybrid owners and they're at 280,000 and 350,000 so I figure I've got some miles I can still put on!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent car to own

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "45+ MPG, low maint cosy, super reliable"

Cons: "higher initial cost when new ($25k-$30K)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had the car since new and the OEM original brakes didn't need to be touched until 120K mikes. The HV battery reconditioning I did myself for only ~1,000 but would have only cost $1,700 to have done. The car has and still does get ~45 avg MPG but can do up to 50-60 MPG if you are not in a hurry and patient. Handling is AMAZING and the car hugs the road EXTREMLY well. The body has zero rust and the interior has not one rip or tear. This car is VERY well built and was the best investment I ever made. The DVD updates for the navigation system can be gotten online for ~$100 or less as well. Oil changes and trans fluid changes (the car does need a little lifting off the ground so you can get under it) are VERY easy to do. The interior air circulation has a very easy to replace filter and the engine air filter is changeable in seconds. There is NO WAY I will ever sell this car or part with it before 250K miles!"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my 2002 Prius!

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great mileage, great small size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just read Ron's review and had to post our experience -- not sure what "repair people" he spoke to, but my 2002 Prius has been the best! We have 3 cars and I always choose to drive the Prius, I think because it's a great size (small car convenience with plenty of room in the back seat) and handles well. It has about 220,000 miles and we've never had any major repairs, just the usual maintenance. Our issue is that our AC went out on it at about 200k miles--debating whether to spend the $ for a diagnosis. Just because "Ron" had a problem at 100k, don't assume that another Prius will -- ours is over 200k and going strong. We still get about 40 mpg even tho I commute highway to work; get higher around town."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals