Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Toyota Prius v

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 24 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Saved on gas but don't go over a bump!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable ride and good on gas"

Cons: "too delicate for city driving. Repairs are insane"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had the car for 2 months. Although it is great on gas and comfortable to drive, I discovered that if I go over a bump, pothole, speed bump, uneven surface, it can cause irreparable damage to the solid axle making it impossible to align the tires. I discovered this after going over a small bump. The tire deflated instantly and allegedly led to a minor bend in the solid axle which is not covered by a warranty. This needs to be replaced at a cost of over $2,000. This was a minor bump!!!!! I was told that this can happen driving in the snow also. Great car on a smooth surface--not so good in the city. So, I saved about $200 in gas but have a $2000 repair."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

We just purchased this car and we love it!!!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this type because of its bigger interior and the back seats recline thats great for long road trips to OKC... Plenty of plug-in options for our devices. Another reason is we felt its more stable and better smoother ride than the regular Prius. So far no complaints. Right now we are getting above avg. gas mileage!!!!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Prius V with a couple of reservations

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,070

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable..roomy...good leg room"

Cons: "No automatic trunk release and auto close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very surprised to learn that there was no inside trunk release or automatic close. I'm in my 70's and have trouble pulling the trunk closed..For the price of 27,000, I feel that is a serious flaw.. I am only getting 38.4 MPG..I bought the Prius for the mileage, but am disappointed that it does not reach at least 40 MPG.. It is also a bit noisy on acceleration, especially going up a hill..."

17 people out of 22 found this review helpful

I really like this car

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, Bluetooth, roomy, has"

Cons: "No sunroof,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It has a great feel when your inside the car. Very roomy for everyone. The back seats recline back and move froward or back. I don't find the the cargo area cover very useful. It could be up higher to cover luggage or what ever you put in back. I find it in the way a lot. The car has plenty of cup holders. Roomy console and two glove-boxes, the back has some cool cubbies also. It drives pretty good. It does get good gas mileage. The MPG is really what they say it gets. My best overall trip was 43 MPG . My worst was 38 MPG. I found being in traffic that is bumper to bumper the car gets the greatest of mileage."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great value - economical commuter car that 'hauls'

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, cheap to operate, technologically strong"

Cons: "Image, slow acceleration, handling just 'okay'"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No one expects a Prius to be a hot rod, and it isn't. What's more, I am a very conservative individual and purchased the Prius for the selfish reasons of reliability and fuel economy - not 'green' concerns. (I had a loaded 4 door 4WD Tacoma prior.) The car doesn't disappoint. If you take it for what it is, the car is awesome. Lots of gadgets (I love gadgets), decent power, decent ride, TONS of carry space, quiet and comfortable (I'm 6'4" and 210 pounds). It's reliable and cheap to operate and I love it. Would I love to have a large pickup? Sure! But I don't carry large loads or pull a trailer - I commute back and forth to work - and the Prius V serves me well."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius v near Honolulu. See local deals