Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Hybrid Cars Under $30,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Toyota Prius Plug-in Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $29,132 - $29,661.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $30,815

Fair Purchase Price $29,397
Fair Market Range ($29,132 - $29,661)

Invoice $29,616
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.9 of 10

10/7.9

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.7
Out of 10

Based on 6 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.8/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Very nice but engine runs too much in winter

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to save on gas! Good power on electric."

Cons: "Just the gas engine starts in winter, no switch of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very satisfactory but engine starts even on a one mile trip in winter from warm garage. OK in summer. goes 10 miles on charge, we drive 34% on electric only..........."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love driving 600 miles a tank!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Economical, good mechanicals"

Cons: "audio system, nav and back up camera are not good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Since we bought this car we have averaged about 85mpg. It is a very reliable car and perfect for the crazy soccer mom driving that we seem to do every day. Also took it out through the Sierra Nevada National Parks and it did great there too. It is a regular Prius with a little bit extra. We have solar panels so it made sense to get the plug in otherwise a regular Prius would be just fine (and for less)."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Amazingly spaceous, but noisy

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Honest 50+ mpg even up to 70 mph"

Cons: "Noisy at freeway speeds."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

2013 Prius Plug-In

"This car has the same passenger compartment as the Camry, so it is quite comfortable for 4 average size occupants. Since there is no motor noise at slow speeds, Toyota added a grinding sound (sounds like something rubbing in a wheel well). With the windows down I keep thinking there is something broken. Since the phony sound is electrically generated, I would have used a motor sound (personally a muscle car motor sound). At freeway speeds the road noise is so great you must turn the sound system up significantly. This is not relaxing. Also, if anything is kicked up and strikes the undercarriage, it sounds and feels like something fell off the car. The seats are reasonably designed, but feel cheap and I don't have the over-priced 6-way adjustable option."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2013 Prius Plug-In

Awesome Auto

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Unbelievable gas mileage and comfort"

Cons: "EV battery mileage is on the low end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my fourth Prius and is the best vehicle I have owned to date. Short trip city driving yields about 70-90 mpg and if I do longer road trips, I get 55-70 mpg depending on terrain (up hill/down hill). Extremely comfortable seats and lots of leg room, front and back. Plus, it rides very smoothly on the road. Love my Prius..."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best of Both Worlds!

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Most fuel efficient hybrid you can buy"

Cons: "just a little more EV range would be nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the perfect car for me right now. I can take advantage of all electric driving for short trips around town but yet get to enjoy the great Prius gas mileage for longer trips or even road trips across the country. The hatchback is very versatile and can surprisingly hold a ton of stuff and seat 4 or 5 passengers comfortably. There is a lot of great tech in this car. By far the best vehicle I've ever owned."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.