Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2008 Toyota Matrix

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 521 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

This car is my second Matrix. Great car

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price. Totally reliable."

Cons: "The aren't making them after 2013 model."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My only complaints have to do with noise and the brakes, which are not ABS."

Love my MATRIX!

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and cheap to maintain."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will keep this car until it can no longer be repaired."

Pretty good car.

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Feels and looks a little young for me, but solid and reliable transportation. Also fun to drive."

Great vehicle, drove it through everything.

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, gas, reliability, compact, drive, quality"

Cons: "missing all wheel drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been to 3 countries, 26 U.S. states with all types of weather and only basic maintenance and a battery replacement at 36k miles under warranty have been done to it. I've been considering going to a newer model with more extras, but just can't see myself without this car. It's really comfortable front and rear seats, drives through everything, have the sunroof and fog lights so ready for any climate including traction control."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Still looks and runs good.

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,600

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "too small now for a growing family."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Needs some retouch on the paint due to scratches, some shampooing or detailing.No body repair ever. Engine runs well. It has new sets of ventus tires."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Totally reliable.

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, Good fuel milage, totally reliable."

Cons: "Nothing much."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very few repair expenses other than regular maintenance."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Matrix is so sturdy and safe. 60mph in seconds

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe and reliable. changed battery once in 10yrs"

Cons: "Sliding roof top, 6 CD changers, strudy on road"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Matrix has served me a faithfully. It was one of the first two in the show room. I was about to bring my grand son from the hospital and I need a safe car. No regrets as of this day. No engine troubles every. Only changed the battery once in 10yrs. This car is so well balanced on the road. Once fitted a party of 6. Originated from Japan."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

10 Years and Still Going Strong

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, affordable, Versatile"

Cons: "Hubcaps (get alloys), plastic door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 10 years. It has taken a beating from me. I have driven almost 180,000 miles and thankfully it is still going strong. If you want a multi-purpose car, this is the one! It can do everything! However, there are a few issues with the car: 1) Hubcaps do not stay on. I should have opted for alloy wheels, but being the cheapo I am - choose the hubcaps. This is the single biggest complaint about this car. I have replaced several times (with factory hubcaps) and they always fall off. I finally replaced with hubcaps designed for a Rav4 - 3 years and going strong. Most people wouldn't care - and this is a minor expense. 2.) Plastic door handles - after 10 years of Florida sun, the plastic door handles all broke. In the past year they have all been replaced, maybe $200 total. 3.) A/C/heater motor - motor went out about 2 years ago. Replaced for less than $200. I have always kept up with routine maintenance and I know that is why I have never had a serious problem. If you keep up with oil, fluids, belts, brakes and tires - this car will last a lifetime. 10+ years and less than $500 in repairs needed (not including regular check-ups). I will count this as a win. Car is practically paying for itself!"

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

fun to drive, and very economical !! 30 - 36 mpg

By on Wednesday, December 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"fun to drive, but could use a bit more legroom for driver. all in all very economical !! more room in rear than it seems, holds a lot of groceries,and luggage. drove 4 people to florida and back very well !!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car last 10 years

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,980

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "never had out of service issue"

Cons: "shocks nn replacement after only 3 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought base model standard back in 2004. I was tired of used cars reliability issues and wanted a fairly inexpensive new new car. I at first looking at PT cruiser, but after sitting in it and not liking the huge blind spot I decided on the matrix. With nearly 100k miles on my Matrix was best $16k I've ever spent. Yes only $16k. But not no bells or whistles except cruise control, AC(must in TX). For the most part only basic maintenance & tires. Only real work needed was AC condenser, shocks, brakes."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Matrix near Honolulu. See local deals