Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

2004 Toyota Matrix

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 517 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next

I love the Matrix

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Can't think of any cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 12,000 miles on it in 2008 for a bargain price. I love the size, handling, and great gas mileage. Never a single thing wrong with the engine in 5 years except lost a couple of hub caps. I closely follow manufacturer's recommendations for maintenance, oil changes and have those done by my Toyota dealer. Keep it washed inside and outside regularly. Has all the basics nothing fancy. If you want an all around car good on the interstate or in town, this is it. I'm not sure they are making them like this one any more but it is a winner."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lovely car for a lovely price.

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Not too expensive, good car overall, fuel economy."

Cons: "Windows."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had my Matrix since 2005, bought it preowned. I've had no major problems with it (except once a tree fell on it! and even after the repairs, runs well). It's a bit on the loud side- when I'm driving over 40mph, it's hard to hear the radio. The only thing I don't like much about this car is that the rear windows are a bit tricky to see out of. But as long as you check everywhere before switching lanes, you'll be fine. Overview; It's an adorable+great car that still runs well after 8 years."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good mileage, Bad window shape

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"My Matrix gets 30+ mpg and is comfortable and easy to park. With the back seats down it can fit quite a lot in it. However there are 3 things I don't like. 1. The side windows in the back of the car are narrow and this makes vision difficult when changing lanes. Several times I have had someone unexpectedly appear on my right side. 2. I thought that I would not mind the stick shift. Well it is a pain and most people can't drive it so I can't ask my daughter to take my car to get something or have it cleaned etc. 3. The rear area can fit quite a lot but not a piece of furniture or appliance which was possible with my previous Honda Odyssey. Yes I know this is a different car but I am putting this down in case someone reads this and had the same pre-purchase ideas that I had and will be disappointed."

3 people out of 11 found this review helpful

great vehicle!

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value, handling, reliability"

Cons: "not great paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car (a 2007) with 62,000 mi in 2010, and now have close to 104,000 mi. in 2013 and have had virtually no problems with it! needs snow tires in winter- but with them does great in new england's winters. slow to pick up speed getting onto highway, but once there maintains a fairly high speed with good handling. i'm a spirited driver and like the feel of this car. it's reliability, and cargo space make it a great "do all" vehicle. I'd recommend it to friends."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love it...

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable. fast and sporty."

Cons: "seats are firm"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used with85k miles and now 175k miles and has never let me down."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very reliable and economical best car i've owned.

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable vehicle,great price,handles well."

Cons: "could use a little more head and leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is the most reliable and economical vehicle I've ever owned handles well and is also low maintenance."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I like the way it handles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful mpg. Winter driving has been no lower than 29 mpg and is usually upwards of 33 mpg. In good weather I have gotten up to 40 mpg. I do routine maintenance through the Toyota dealership and that's it. I changed the battery for the first time recently. I also bought actual snow tires for the winters here and traction has been great since then."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Mileage, Good Road Car, Spacious Rear

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable Road Car, Good Highway Power"

Cons: "4WD decreases mileage about 5 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good value, especially for a 4WD. Driving ergonomics are excellent. Folding rear seat yields large cargo volume. Versatile, Comfortable, Economical to Drive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My favorite car, ever!

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, sporty, comfortable, roomy"

Cons: "trim is really low to the ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I've ever owned. I bought it used and have had little to no maintenance issues with it. It's comfortable, it's very attractive, I've been able to haul 8 ft lumber (and a host of other things) thanks to its roomy cargo space and fold down flat seats (all the way up to the passenger seat.) Just now, at almost 200K miles it is starting to need some work. I'd say that's pretty impressive!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car for the money.

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the car to commute 120 miles a day in 2005. The car now has 160,000 miles on it and has performed flawlessly. The 5-speed transmission lets the car accelerate much better than the automatics that I test drove. I have taken the car on a few cross country trips and it is comfortable for all day driving. I bought the car for fuel economy and have not been disapointed at all."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Own it! ...& LOVE it!!!

By on Tuesday, July 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, reliable w/excel. features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A KEEPER!!! <3 <3 <3"

best choice for good looks and reliability

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price to value. the car was a great value"

Cons: "sometimes we wish the car had a few more horsepowe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new, I remember everybody used to ask me what kind of car it was because there were so few at the time. for 260, 000 miles, all I've done is change the oil every seven thousand miles a couple of sets of tires and a couple of tune ups. this car has never given us any problems. we've raised one child and a 150 pound Bernese Mountain Dog in this car and it is held up just fine. we originally bought this car for its high crash test ratings. we have decided to keep this car forever although we are going to get a new car soon. if you can find one in good shape and well taken care of by it would be a good car for college student as the interior has tons of space.I am 6 foot 2 and I fit in it just fine."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great, reliable car at a great price

By on Sunday, June 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, roomy, reliable, good gas milage"

Cons: "No reading lights, rear wiper blade"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Matrix. It's great on gas mileage, I've had it for 6 years and have had no trouble with it. The only money I've had to spend was for basic maintenance. The car drives well and it fits a lot of stuff in it. I'm always amazed at how much room I have in the car, especially when I put the back seats down. I would absolutely get another one of these. This has been a great car and I plan to stick with hatchbacks from now on. The basic model I have doesn't have all the techie frills that other, newer cars have but it's got all the basics you could need."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Owned.

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2003 Matrix continues to be a real trooper! Made side by side with Pontiac Vibe by New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc. (NUMMI) in Fremont, California, this venture proved to be an outstanding commitment to excellence. With the exception of an O2 sensor gone bad at 160K, this vehicle has never had a problem. The 4-speed manual has averaged 32 mpg since the day I drove it off the lot. Running on my third set of tires, I'm on the second set of brake pads and original struts. The air conditioner blows cold to this day. And if you're into hauling cargo, you'll not find a more spacious car in its class. If you can lay your hands on a used one, BUY IT!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Bought, but planned to sell. Best investment.

By on Friday, May 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent gas mileage"

Cons: "Doesn't accelerate very quickly (4cyl)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car knowing I would either a) keep it forever and ever, or b) sell it in a few years. I did my homework when buying this car and chose it because of it's: 1) Low VOC's after baking in the hot sun for days/hours. It never stank like plastic. 2) Reliability. It never broke down. WHen a tire started to leak, it alerted me. 3) Resale value. I kept it very clean. I owe $5000 on it. It's worth $8700 on KBB. Yessssssss 4) It's a good looking car. I don't feel frumpy- I feel cool, and know I'm safe at the same time. 5) I may never buy another car in all y life."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I highly recommend the Matrix.

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love the way it hugs the road."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I need to know the book value of my Matrix."

nice car,98000 mi. purchased new, no problems,

By on Sunday, May 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage price no big repairs"

Cons: "tire noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice car,98000 mi. purchased new, no problems,great run around car..good mileage,changed oil every 5000 miles,flop tires every 10000."

If your looking for more than a Corolla...

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: extra vehicle - no longer needed

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, options, reliability."

Cons: "Slow accel to freeway speeds sluggish transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good on gas, reliable. It is not the fastest car on the road, but it gets you from A to B on without trouble. Keep it maintained and it will last a long time!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my matrix."

Best car I've ever owned!

By on Monday, April 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, very versatile."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Better than listed mpg... 28/40, over the last 9 years. Extremely useful flat floor in cargo area, comfortable enough on long trips, great sound system, great visibility, reliable, and safe. Saved my bacon in an accordion accident where I was hit multiple times. Now in the process of looking for a new one."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best cara ever - highly recommend

By on Saturday, April 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive; handles easily; Looks good"

Cons: "No automatic door locks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would highly recommend this car to anyone and any age. I am 75 and love this car. This is the first small car I have owned - wouldn't trade it for anything else now. Holds 5 adults comfortably."

Best car ever owned! Most reliable!

By on Wednesday, April 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, hatchback, reliability"

Cons: "bumpy ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my car used 3.5 yrs ago, and put 80,000 miles on it since. Only normal maintenance stuff...brakes, serpentine belt etc. Always starts! I love all it's little amenities...like my regular wall outlet in addition to the cig lighter one, the daytime running lights, and power everything. I love the hatchback and folding seats. Who needs a truck when you can throw any furniture, lumber...whatever you need in your car? The only thing I would say is it really isn't a super comfortable ride, but then again I drive a ton, and it is an economy car. Would buy again! I can't wait for my next one...with 4wd!"

Love it! Would buy again.

By on Sunday, April 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, exterior, interior, value"

Cons: "no aux plug in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my car used 2 years ago from Oregon and it has been worth every penny, even the cost to ship. Upgraded from a honda civic coupe. I am a student that commutes and I am also a nanny so I need great gas mileage and great indoor room for car seats, backpacks, bags of soccer balls, etc. It has awesome power to get on the freeway and get up to speed quickly which I love. It is everything I need (and more) and super affordable (hasn't needed any extra maintenance besides the regular oil change and such) LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I also get so many compliments on how "cute" it is. Recommended to many people and some have began their search to buy one of their own."

Best car I have owned.

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, mileage, power is good,"

Cons: "Better view out rear window, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A couple of people I know recommended this car when I bought it. 198000 miles and not one repair other that regular mantainence every 5000 miles. I am 6 foot 8 and it is the car we use for long trips for comfort and mileage over our much larger SUV."

I just wont let it go!

By on Saturday, March 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG, smooth shifting, XR, exterior, interior"

Cons: "Rear drum brakes? Come on!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

The day i bought it

"So i remember the day i first took my 2007 silver streak mica Toyota Matrix XR off the lot for a quick test drive. I fell in love with the way it so comfortably moved and its agile steering. The 5-speed manual transmission shifted very smooth with minimal effort. The engine, although only 126HP, still carried the car with ease and was quick to respond. I recently upgraded the rear drum brakes to Disc (i'm not sure why Toyota is not making 4-wheel disc brakes with ABS a standard option in their cars like its competitors). The exterior and interior designs were delightful for my eyes, and the extras from the XR package really complemented the body style of the Matrix. It is now 2013, and 60,000 miles later, the Matrix is still a great econo-hatch for running errands, carpooling 5 days a week to work, and still have gas for the following week. I usually avertage 32mpg on mixed driving and i have frequently achieved 40mpg on long, highway trips to visit family, and go on road trips with church members. The only problem i had was a defective ECU, but Toyota quickly took action and replaced it for free because it was a factory recall. I've always wanted a Lexus after graduating college, but now that i have, i just can't let this jewel go!!!"

The day i bought it

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Matrix near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details